We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not required standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarn Hows Guest House
Ranked #92 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What attracted us to Tarn Hows were the prices, in that they were markedly higher than the standard Keswick B&B rates. We prefer to pay a little more, as we enjoy our regular breaks in the UK, and require an uplift in quality from the norm. On arrival, the room was neat and tidy, but decidedly snug, with little space to move around. The breakfasts were of a good standard, with decent portion size. The Wifi also worked without any problems. However, the standard of clientele was a long way below what we expected. From inside our room, we heard a bunch of noisy Geordies lads being shown around vacant rooms late in the afternoon, and the rate being discussed, so we assume they just knocked on the door in response to a Vacancies sign. However, this level of noise was trivial compared to that made when they returned from a night out in Keswick, AT 4AM IN THE MORNING. Shouting outside their rooms and running between them, plus verbally abusing anyone who complained. Every guest was woken and the owners were unable to quieten them, but thankfully they fell asleep in a drunken stupor after an hour. Ultimately, the owners decided to sell a couple of rooms and chase a little more income, to very obviously unsuitable guests, with no regard for the well-being of their other guests. To add insult to injury, on leaving we were not offered a discount, so we ended up paying full price for a decidedly sub-standard experience. If you decide to stay, make sure you take earplugs, or stay out late into the Keswick night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank UKTraveller414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV1963, Manager at Tarn Hows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

we are so sorry and fully understand how your stay was spoilt by two idiots who had no consideration for other guests.They had booked with others two double rooms with a booking agency as many people do and we assumed they were two couples.We actually had no vacancy signs up when they arrived as we were full and their rooms had been pre-booked and if they hadn`t booked we would definitely not have taken them.Not all guests were disturbed by them although a number were and despite repeated requested two did not be quiet.The only conversation about payment when they arrived was as to if they paid on arrival or departure.We did contemplate at 4.15am on making them leave the premises but due to the state they were in decided they would cause more disruption and wake all the guests if we did.As we were up from 4am onwards and very unhappy like yourself we did not have a great deal of time to think about compensating other guests which we have been in the process of since.The last few guests to leave in the morning were offered a free nights accomodation and we are currently in the process of contacting the rest with the same offer however the first few declined saying it was not our fault and they have stayed with us before and know it is a quiet well run guesthouse.We were very upset ourselves over the situation as we pride ourselves on running a happy and peaceful guesthouse and in the time we have been here have never had any disturbances and no bad reviews.We would welcome you contacting us with your opinion on to how we could have dealt with the situation better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Tarn Hows Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Whenever my Wife & I fancy a weekend away in Keswick, we always try & stay here if we can. This was our 3rd or 4th time at Tarn Hows & each time we've been, we've always been really pleased with the reception we get from Janet & Graham (& the previous hosts). We always book an en-suite double and we had room no. 3 this time which seemed a lot more spacious due to the bay window floor space. A flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities are always provided in the rooms that we've had - this was no exception. Everything was beautifully clean and there is car parking at the rear of the building (which belongs to them) and that's very welcome because the on street parking can be quite risky as cars are sometimes parked on both sides of the road in Erskin Street. An excellent breakfast menu is available and Janet & Graham do their utmost to help out if you ask for something off menu. Tarn Hows is ideally situated for a walk into town (about 5 mins) or it's only about 10 mins away from the Leisure Centre & old Keswick Train Station which is a good start for quite a few walks eg. 4 miles to Threlkeld (at the bottom of Blencathra) up the old route of the railway and about halfway up this route, you turn off to eventually get to the Stone circle. All in all, Tarn Hows is a very nice place to stay and we'll keep going back each year.

Room Tip: Room no. 3 is spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We normally book a cottage for a group walking weekend at this time of year, this year however my wife and myself thought we would treat ourselves to a B&B. The owners, Janet and Graham
were very welcoming. The rooms were warm,clean with flat screen tv and excellent free Wi-Fi, so important for Facebook and Candy Crush updates. The shower was perfect, warm and with adequate pressure just the ticket after a hard days walking and drinking. Breakfast was also spot on sausage,egg,beans,bacon,hash brown, black pudding and tomatoes or if your a veggie there are plenty of appetizing cereals to power you up the mountain yum yum.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone and hopefully will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nogginsvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Situated in a quiet street 5/10 minutes walk into Keswick town centre; this is a beautiful comfortable bed and breakfast. We booked room eight but upon arrival were offered room three which was a bigger room with a beautiful bay window. The room was very welcoming very clean comfortable bed, furniture was lovely; there was a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely en-suite bathroom with a nice powerful shower and toiletries provided too. We were greeted by the owners in the dining room and served a full english breakfast which has to be one of the best we have had The decor of this place is beautiful and an absolute credit to the hospitable owners Janet and Graham. Would highly recommend this place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Favourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband booked this B&B for my birthday along with two friends who agree with this review.
Our room (8 top floor) was very well decorated with modern furniture. The bed/pillows and bedding were very clean and comfortable which lead to a good peaceful nights sleep. The bathroom was compact but adequate for our needs and very clean as was all areas of the hotel (number 1 on my wish list). Good varied menu for breakfast full English was enjoyed and satisfying. Boot and drying areas for cloths available. Owners very friendly and always around to help with needs/information. The location is great just 5 min walk to centre of town with plenty of places to eat and drink. Keswick is also ideal to travel to other areas within the lakes and has a good bus network.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashire012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this B&B very last minute, seizing the chance for a two day get away mid January. Normally we like to stay 2 nights but work commitments prohibited this. I am aware that most guest houses prefer not to commit to one night too advance of a weekend stay and I respect this as they may lose out on guests who wish to stay for two nights. As it was last minute and off peak season they were happy to accommodate us. Graham and Janet introduced themselves and seemed very friendly and accommodating. As our room was already available we were allowed to check in at 12 noon and had a choice of rooms. We found the room very clean, fresh and pleasantly decorated. The en-suite toilet and shower were adequate for our needs. The bed was most comfortable and very welcoming after a long day up the mountain. We had a great night sleep and found the guest house very quiet and adequately heated when waking up. Breakfast is served in a window between 8 and 9:30, however they can make exception for early risers. It consisted of a full English with good quality Cumberland sausage, hash browns and bacon without any fat. Vegetarian full English looked just as good and there are also lighter choices on offer. The guest house is situated only 7 to 10 minutes walk from the clock tower in the town centre where there a a whole host of pubs and bars. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 overlooking the front street on the 1st floor. Very spacious and a nice big bay windo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

nothing was to much trouble, we had a 2 night stay to bring in the new year, our room was excellent, right at the front , breakfast was fab setting us up for the day. nothing was to much trouble, and a bonus having private parking, would def stay again excellent location.
FANTASTIC NEW YEAR WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE

Room Tip: room at the front has a fantastic big window so good view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#67 of 189 in Keswick
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#69 of 189 in Keswick
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#76 of 189 in Keswick
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#55 of 189 in Keswick
413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn Hows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Hows Guest House

Address: 3-5 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £79 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Hows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarn Hows is a traditional Victorian residence situated in a quiet location only a few minutes walk from the town centre, lake and all amenities. Keswick is the perfect base for your Lake District stay, and if you enjoy freshly- cooked local produce, comfortable, stylish and elegant accommodation with excellent service and hospitality, then Tarn Hows Guest House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tarn Hows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarn Hows Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing