We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit to Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarn Hows Guest House
Ranked #85 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Annual visit to Keswick”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely B and B with friendly hosts and great breakfasts, the rooms are comfortable. The B and B is very handy for walking and cycling and it is a short walk to the town centre, we love it and will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneski2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    33
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
75
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We truly can not say a bad word about Tan How's....they took us in at 9pm at night after we had to escape the inn we were staying at (avoid Swinside inn at all costs by the way) and were greeted by two friendly smiley faces who made us instantly feel at ease. Stepping into our room we realised that we had hit the jackpot by managing to stumble across Tan How's at such short notice. After a wonderful nights sleep we were treated to a yummy breakfast feast and that same warm welcome we saw at 9pm the previous night. We stayed for 2 nights in total and we certainly intend on staying at the Tan How's again when we return to Keswick. We will be recommending Tan How's to our family and friends as well. This is how guest house's should be ran.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairenphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A firm good weekend weather forecast for the Lake District is a rare enough experience to be the decider to make a last Minute decision to go, which in turn required a speedy decision on where to stay, Guided by other reviewers we settled for Tarn How's and we're well pleased by our choice. Spotlessly clean, warm welcome comfortable albeit smallish room- though most of the ethers were bigger, wi fi, parking and an excellent breakfast. An excellent example of what a B and B should be.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bay window for a more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravellerHillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 20th of March for three nights. We were asleep in our room when the disturbance happened at 4am. The disturbance was due to a couple of idiots who had consumed too much alcohol. We thought the owners dealt with the situation very well and it wouldn't stop us staying here again. We have stayed in the past and had no problems, in fact our stay was very pleasant. The hotel is extremely clean. The breakfasts are excellent and the owners made us feel very very welcome. I would recommend anyone to stay here. It is very unfortunate to allow drunken young men to ruin the very high reputation of this establishment. Take no notice of the bad review this B&B received during this weekend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What attracted us to Tarn Hows were the prices, in that they were markedly higher than the standard Keswick B&B rates. We prefer to pay a little more, as we enjoy our regular breaks in the UK, and require an uplift in quality from the norm. On arrival, the room was neat and tidy, but decidedly snug, with little space to move around. The breakfasts were of a good standard, with decent portion size. The Wifi also worked without any problems. However, the standard of clientele was a long way below what we expected. From inside our room, we heard a bunch of noisy Geordies lads being shown around vacant rooms late in the afternoon, and the rate being discussed, so we assume they just knocked on the door in response to a Vacancies sign. However, this level of noise was trivial compared to that made when they returned from a night out in Keswick, AT 4AM IN THE MORNING. Shouting outside their rooms and running between them, plus verbally abusing anyone who complained. Every guest was woken and the owners were unable to quieten them, but thankfully they fell asleep in a drunken stupor after an hour. Ultimately, the owners decided to sell a couple of rooms and chase a little more income, to very obviously unsuitable guests, with no regard for the well-being of their other guests. To add insult to injury, on leaving we were not offered a discount, so we ended up paying full price for a decidedly sub-standard experience. If you decide to stay, make sure you take earplugs, or stay out late into the Keswick night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV1963, Manager at Tarn Hows Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
we are so sorry and fully understand how your stay was spoilt by two idiots who had no consideration for other guests.They had booked with others two double rooms with a booking agency as many people do and we assumed they were two couples.We actually had no vacancy signs up when they arrived as we were full and their rooms had been pre-booked and if they hadn`t booked we would definitely not have taken them.Not all guests were disturbed by them although a number were and despite repeated requested two did not be quiet.The only conversation about payment when they arrived was as to if they paid on arrival or departure.We did contemplate at 4.15am on making them leave the premises but due to the state they were in decided they would cause more disruption and wake all the guests if we did.As we were up from 4am onwards and very unhappy like yourself we did not have a great deal of time to think about compensating other guests which we have been in the process of since.The last few guests to leave in the morning were offered a free nights accomodation and we are currently in the process of contacting the rest with the same offer however the first few declined saying it was not our fault and they have stayed with us before and know it is a quiet well run guesthouse.We were very upset ourselves over the situation as we pride ourselves on running a happy and peaceful guesthouse and in the time we have been here have never had any disturbances and no bad reviews.We would welcome you contacting us with your opinion on to how we could have dealt with the situation better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Whenever my Wife & I fancy a weekend away in Keswick, we always try & stay here if we can. This was our 3rd or 4th time at Tarn Hows & each time we've been, we've always been really pleased with the reception we get from Janet & Graham (& the previous hosts). We always book an en-suite double and we had room no. 3 this time which seemed a lot more spacious due to the bay window floor space. A flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities are always provided in the rooms that we've had - this was no exception. Everything was beautifully clean and there is car parking at the rear of the building (which belongs to them) and that's very welcome because the on street parking can be quite risky as cars are sometimes parked on both sides of the road in Erskin Street. An excellent breakfast menu is available and Janet & Graham do their utmost to help out if you ask for something off menu. Tarn Hows is ideally situated for a walk into town (about 5 mins) or it's only about 10 mins away from the Leisure Centre & old Keswick Train Station which is a good start for quite a few walks eg. 4 miles to Threlkeld (at the bottom of Blencathra) up the old route of the railway and about halfway up this route, you turn off to eventually get to the Stone circle. All in all, Tarn Hows is a very nice place to stay and we'll keep going back each year.

Room Tip: Room no. 3 is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We normally book a cottage for a group walking weekend at this time of year, this year however my wife and myself thought we would treat ourselves to a B&B. The owners, Janet and Graham
were very welcoming. The rooms were warm,clean with flat screen tv and excellent free Wi-Fi, so important for Facebook and Candy Crush updates. The shower was perfect, warm and with adequate pressure just the ticket after a hard days walking and drinking. Breakfast was also spot on sausage,egg,beans,bacon,hash brown, black pudding and tomatoes or if your a veggie there are plenty of appetizing cereals to power you up the mountain yum yum.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone and hopefully will return again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogginsvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#61 of 173 in Keswick
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#74 of 173 in Keswick
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#69 of 173 in Keswick
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#44 of 173 in Keswick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn Hows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Hows Guest House

Property: Tarn Hows Guest House
Address: 3-5 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Hows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarn Hows is a traditional Victorian residence situated in a quiet location only a few minutes walk from the town centre, lake and all amenities. Keswick is the perfect base for your Lake District stay, and if you enjoy freshly- cooked local produce, comfortable, stylish and elegant accommodation with excellent service and hospitality, then Tarn Hows Guest House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tarn Hows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarn Hows Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing