We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
78
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool old railway camping pods great site washing up liquid berth caravan railway line picnic benches kitchen roll cooking utensils spar shop small pool bedroom cottage kitchen equipment august bank holiday caravan site games room
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We have just had a week in a apartment with our dog at Low Briery. The location is excellent, we didn't use our car for the first 5 days. Our typical day, after a home cooked breakfast (dishwasher in the apartment, so no washing up) we walked along the railway track into Keswick, then did a 6-8 mile walk around Derwentwater and up the crags around the lake ( excellent leaflets in the tourist information detailing the walks). We would get back to Keswick for 5/6 o'clock, eat at one of the many pubs (nearly all dog friendly), then walk back along the railway track back to the apartment for a well deserved soak in the bath. Plenty of hot water! You need to have a torch if you walk back at night. Even with a full moon it was pitch black under the tree canopy. Also two reasonable evening walks along the railway line if you turn left to Threlkeld, we ate in both pubs there, again, both dog friendly, remember to time the return journey to get back before dark though!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
4  Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This will be our 3rd visit hubby, me n the pooch to the site. It's immaculately looked after, staff on hand if you need them and a cracking location. As we have the dog we get the same van a 2 bed one down by the river it's a lovely spot and they all have a picnic table outside with space for a BBQ, which incidentally you can hire if you've forgotten yours. It's a 30 min or so walk to a Threkeld which has 2 pubs both dog friendly and 15/20 mins to Keswick with....well I'll let you count the pubs. It's a straight walk down the old railway path and this also gives you good access to low level walks but if you fancy a challenge Blencathra isn't far away.
The caravans are well looked after with a good kitchen well stocked with crockery. Oh top tip the glasses are small so if you like your beer or wine I a bigger glass take one or just keep topping it up. Bedding is provided you just need towels. Which brings me to the bathroom. It's one of the best showers I've been in. The water pressure is excellent so after a hard day on the fells a good hot shower is unbeatable.
The living space in nice with a tv and a selection of freeview channels. The site also has free wifi which is good but it can be flaky. Noticed it's better outside the van so prey for good weather lol.
If you have kids there is plenty to do hiring bikes, badminton court and there is also a little indoor activity area with a shallow pool.

All in all it's a great site and being fell runners it's nice to come back somewhere warm and dry to snuggle up in after a long day. Well recommended and hopefully not too long til our next booking

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mrs_D01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one week in order to attend Week 3 of the Keswick Bible Convention from 26/07/14 to 02/08/14. Seven of us rented 2 apartments (1 and 2). Several of us walked into Keswick along the route of the old railway line and it took about 25 minutes if strolling and 15 at a faster pace. Walk was reported to be lovely as was the walk by the river.
POSITIVE: Accommodation was very good with decent sized bathroom (separate bath & over the bath shower), comfy sofas, balcony on to the garden and good general facilities. Clean carpets, curtains and kitchen. Dining table and sitting area are combined. The bedroom with 2 single beds was perfectly fine. The kitchen had a small dishwasher, good sized fridge and most of the crockery, glasses and utensils you'd expect to need if you are cooking any meals. Bedrooms had good curtains that kept the light out in the morning/day. The site was quiet and uncluttered and clean with good parking close by. There were dogs on site but they were always well controlled and there was no sign of "fouling".
NEGATIVE: Double bed was 4ft 6in, which (had my husband been with me) would have driven us mad as we have a Super King at home and as so many people now have larger beds at home, it is a great negative to not be able to sleep well. Some kitchen items claimed in the inventory were not there such as kitchen scissors and grater and if we had not been sharing with our friends in the other apartment, we would have found those missing items annoying. But I think the owners would have dealt with that information had we realised and reported it early on in the week. A spare "black bag" for rubbish would have been a great help. The dishwasher in one apartment was also "coming on" but not doing anything other than that. We reported this to the owners. Closer checks on inventory before new visitors arrive would be good! A cafetiere and a decent spatula would be helpful additions to the kitchen. And there is very little storage room for tea, coffee, tins and jars and food generally. I would suggest hanging the ironing board high up on the wall, putting the rubbish bin by the tank cupboard and fitting a set of 2 narrow cupboards (or even just one would help!) by the door. And there are places in the bathroom where a couple more short towel rails could with a bit of ingenuity, be fitted so that we could have all left our towels in the bathroom.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubyRundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to Low Briery many times over the year's. Excellent place to stay, friendly and helpful staff, clean and well maintained, quiet location but close to Keswick centre, perfect for our dogs, looking forward to returning again.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have been going to this site for 17 years now and always take our dogs. it is very peaceful not like if you stay in town which we have with the market setting up noise and the nightclub.

Low Briery lets you really relax and loads of walks for the 4 legged ones.

I have looked at other places in Windermere and Ambleside for a change, but cant find any caravan site which is as good value most want £80 a week per dog, but not at Low Briery just a small charge.

Well worth checking out this place if you want to come to Keswick with your dogs.

Room tip: all the caravans are great they come with everything you could need.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews