We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lakes Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages
Esher
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Lakes Weekend”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Recently had a fantastic weekend staying in The Sett with a group of friends. This is a lovely, well equipped and comfortable property which is very clean and well kept. The views from the property are stunning and it's a real bonus to be able to walk straight from the front door without having to use the car. The owners were friendly and helpful and more than happy to recommend local walks and restaurants/pubs in the local area. All in all a great experience and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    9
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I come and stay at Brackenrigg once a year for a short stay as a solo traveller. I am always welcomed with a friendly smile- even Tiggy ,the dog remembers me now as I am a regular visitor there. The cottages have recently been renovated and I get top quality accommodation at an affordable price. Plenty to do and see around the area- I never get bored.
Overall- very happy and I will come back again and again and again and again and again.......................

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I have now been to Brackenrigg many times and can't get enough of the place.

I have found the owners to be nothing but very caring and welcoming, always willing to help.

The accommodation has always been clean and well equipped. The accommodation has the most amazing views that couldn't be more perfect. There is a great sense of space around you as you are surrounded by views and the mountains. It is also very close to the town of Keswick for pubs, restaurants and shops. You can go for walks straight from your door or travel further afield by car. The owners are very knowledgeable on the area and weather conditions and are always happy to advise you on suitable walks or any oher activities you would like to enjoy whilst there.

The different options of accommodation make it perfect for a romantic weekend away as a couple, a family holiday or a get together for a larger group of friends, so there is great flexibility and possibiities available.

If you go once you'll you wont want to go anywhere else - I promise you..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiecragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a lovely relaxing weekend in one of the studio cottages with fantastic views and weather. We think it would be fair for the owners to state in the details that The Sett apartment is above the 2 studio cottages and that therefore noise can be a problem - we were woken every morning when the occupants above got up!
We had some lovely local walks and the cottage was very suitable for just the 2 of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JHandAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We booked Brackenrigg for a family Christmas and it fit the bill perfectly. Lovely open plan living area was ideal and the dining table sat 11 for Christmas lunch. We had also booked one of the studio cottages for an additional two guests and there was room for us all to get together in the main house.
Owners were unobtrusive, but always available if help was needed. They even set up a lovely Christmas tree prior to our arrival.
Only 10 mins to Keswick, and just off the main road to Ambleside and the south lakes. Nice walks right from the front door. Raven Crag was an easy 2 hours with 2 young kids and lovely views down Thirlmere.

Lovely house in a great location. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wcbkyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I stayed in Brocklebeck Cottage for 4 nights as I was working in Carlisle either side of a weekend and we thought it would be a better option than Carlisle. How right we were! The cottage is lovely and cosy and extremely well appointed. Our hosts Judy and Harry had thought of everything and it really was like being home from home. The setting is just beautiful and very central to the lakes and a stone's throw from Keswick, a lovely town. We would also highly recommend the old theatre in Keswick which also serves as a cinema....well worth a visit! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will make a beeline for Brackenrigg when we are next in the Lake District!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here with our baby and stayed in Bleaberry cottage which is a barn conversion. It was immaculate, warm and cosy with good amenities and a very friendly welcome from the owner and his dog.

The views were breathtaking and it's a good location, just a few miles out of Keswick with walks straight out the door. There is also lots of information in the cottage about other walks and pubs/restaurants etc.

The only negative was that they could not provide a travel cot as it was already booked out and for the cost (it's not cheap) I would have expected they had enough.

Worth the money though and going again out of season to make use of the discounted rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brackenrigg Inn
Brackenrigg Inn
#2 of 3 in Watermillock
566 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages

Property: Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages
Address: Bracken Rigg Bracken Rigg | Near Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages has four beautiful cottages to suit guests from singles, couples, families and groups up to 16. Stunning views of the Helvellyn range and lovely gardens visited by red squirrels frequently. Delightful walks from the door in the beautiful Naddle and St John's in the Vale valleys, or High Rigg, and Ravens Crag. Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages makes a wonderful base for your Lake District Holiday 3 cottages in our beautifully converted barn: The Sett has 2 bedrooms: 1 double, and 1 twin (with an additional z-bed for a child), open plan living, dining and kitchen, bathroom with shower over the bath. The well equipped kitchen has ceramic hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and freezer, SKY TV, ipod doc, dvd, free wi-fi BBQ and patio area, laundry room Bleaberry: sleep sup to 2 (double bed), open plan studio with well equipped kitchen, living dining and lounge area, lovely bathroom, pation and bbq. Sky Tv, dvd, ipod doc, free wi-fi laundry room Brocklebeck: similar to Bleaberry with twin beds 50m away on the same estate: Brackenrigg House: a substantial Victorian Country House: sleeps 10 in 5 generous sized all ensuite bedrooms: 3 double, 2 twin bedrooms. Large living room opening through stained glass window panels to dining room and hand made oak kitchen with range cooker, large fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc. Games room, laundry room with large washing machine and drier. Impressive verandah overlooking fells to Hellvelyn, summer house and BBQ area, CD player, ipod dock, tv, wifi central heating and 2x wood burning stoves. Located in 7 acres of private gardens, meadows, and woodland, in the very heart of the Lake District National Park just 2 miles South of Keswick, and a 10min drive from Grasmere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing