We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our 2nd visit to The Sett at Brackenrigg was superb. The accommodation is ideal and the walking is fabulous, you don't need to use the car unless you chose to. We followed the walks listed in the cottage, but please be mindful if walking the so called lower option and up to the tea room that the onward walk involves a steep narrow ridge, which I had to return from as was too nervous on the narrow ridge. Thoroughly recommend the tea room and Graham at lower end farm, truly an experience in itself and so worth it......cant find tea and cake at that price, really so enjoyable as was Grahams company. Will be back to Brackenrigg soon, recommend to all.

Room Tip: The Sett sleeps 4 in comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMTIG, Owner at Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your response, always appreciate feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Couldn't ask for a better location. Views from your window are stunning. A very comfortable place to stay with very good facilities. Judy very helpful and knowledgable about the local area. Great walks right from the front door. Will definitely return. A bonus was the weather - hotter than Spain all week!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay in The Sett, with my parents and my two young boys. The owners were very helpful with ideas as to where to go, with such an age range of guests, and were helpful at every turn. The open plan living area is wonderfully spacious and airy. Lots of outside space for the boys to play in... A perfect choice. Everything that we needed for cooking for a family was in place, and it was clean. We will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Recently had a fantastic weekend staying in The Sett with a group of friends. This is a lovely, well equipped and comfortable property which is very clean and well kept. The views from the property are stunning and it's a real bonus to be able to walk straight from the front door without having to use the car. The owners were friendly and helpful and more than happy to recommend local walks and restaurants/pubs in the local area. All in all a great experience and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I come and stay at Brackenrigg once a year for a short stay as a solo traveller. I am always welcomed with a friendly smile- even Tiggy ,the dog remembers me now as I am a regular visitor there. The cottages have recently been renovated and I get top quality accommodation at an affordable price. Plenty to do and see around the area- I never get bored.
Overall- very happy and I will come back again and again and again and again and again.......................

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I have now been to Brackenrigg many times and can't get enough of the place.

I have found the owners to be nothing but very caring and welcoming, always willing to help.

The accommodation has always been clean and well equipped. The accommodation has the most amazing views that couldn't be more perfect. There is a great sense of space around you as you are surrounded by views and the mountains. It is also very close to the town of Keswick for pubs, restaurants and shops. You can go for walks straight from your door or travel further afield by car. The owners are very knowledgeable on the area and weather conditions and are always happy to advise you on suitable walks or any oher activities you would like to enjoy whilst there.

The different options of accommodation make it perfect for a romantic weekend away as a couple, a family holiday or a get together for a larger group of friends, so there is great flexibility and possibiities available.

If you go once you'll you wont want to go anywhere else - I promise you..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbiecragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a lovely relaxing weekend in one of the studio cottages with fantastic views and weather. We think it would be fair for the owners to state in the details that The Sett apartment is above the 2 studio cottages and that therefore noise can be a problem - we were woken every morning when the occupants above got up!
We had some lovely local walks and the cottage was very suitable for just the 2 of us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JHandAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
750 reviews
8.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,212 reviews
9.1 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
457 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages

Address: Bracken Rigg, Naddle | Near Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages has four beautiful cottages to suit guests from singles, couples, families and groups up to 16. Stunning views of the Helvellyn range and lovely gardens visited by red squirrels frequently. Delightful walks from the door in the beautiful Naddle and St John's in the Vale valleys, or High Rigg, and Ravens Crag. Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages makes a wonderful base for your Lake District Holiday 3 cottages in our beautifully converted barn: The Sett has 2 bedrooms: 1 double, and 1 twin (with an additional z-bed for a child), open plan living, dining and kitchen, bathroom with shower over the bath. The well equipped kitchen has ceramic hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and freezer, SKY TV, ipod doc, dvd, free wi-fi BBQ and patio area, laundry room Bleaberry: sleep sup to 2 (double bed), open plan studio with well equipped kitchen, living dining and lounge area, lovely bathroom, pation and bbq. Sky Tv, dvd, ipod doc, free wi-fi laundry room Brocklebeck: similar to Bleaberry with twin beds 50m away on the same estate: Brackenrigg House: a substantial Victorian Country House: sleeps 10 in 5 generous sized all ensuite bedrooms: 3 double, 2 twin bedrooms. Large living room opening through stained glass window panels to dining room and hand made oak kitchen with range cooker, large fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc. Games room, laundry room with large washing machine and drier. Impressive verandah overlooking fells to Hellvelyn, summer house and BBQ area, CD player, ipod dock, tv, wifi central heating and 2x wood burning stoves. Located in 7 acres of private gardens, meadows, and woodland, in the very heart of the Lake District National Park just 2 miles South of Keswick, and a 10min drive from Grasmere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing