We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
268
236
118
38
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
236
118
38
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb hotpot the pub steak and ale pie booked a table an overnight stay ate here fresh milk minutes walk away an evening meal eggs benedict central location cumbrian breakfast sunday lunch centre of town great weekend long walk biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

we stayed for 2 nights.The initial welcome was friendly

The room was nicely decorated but on closer inspection there were a couple of negatives, there was very little storage- a tiny wardrobe and no chest of drawers and the plug socket next to the table unit could not be used due to the lip on the unit obscuring the socket, however there were plenty of other sockets available. The rooms were quite hot (but a fan was provided) and the matress was very hard. Despite being at the front of the property overlooking the pedestrian area there was little noise in the room.

The breakfast was nice and the food served in the bar was very good. The of lagers was limited but the real ale selection was good,

We actually got moved during our stay as the shower unit would not turn off and were moved to a room where the extractor fan in the bathroom was on constantly- which bacame noisey at night. When this was mention on checking out the manager discounted the room rate.

The reception desk is unmanned and at busy times in the bar service can be slow as staff are called via a bell service.

Parking is in the pay and display carparks, some of which are limited to 3 hours and charge between 8 am and 7pm, this can add to the cost of the holiday and when Keswick is busy can imagine that parking may be a problem.

The mobile phone signal in the area is hit and miss so be aware that you cannot rely on telephone communication.

Room Tip: take plenty of change for the carparks!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

A friendly welcome and a good pint after a long day on the fells made the Lodge a great place to stay in Keswick. The rooms were stylish, comfy and spotless. We ended up with a large family room although we'd only booked a double - but we will be back with our children later in the year. Full english with locally sourced ingredients was included.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

What more can I say. Good central location. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff or the friendly manager. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice. The evening meal was good solid pub food. We enjoyed our stay and will return. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Had a really enjoyable stay over the weekend and a big thank you to all the staff who made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we walked in to the minute we left. Will definately be coming back! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttons022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We had a very pleasant 4 night stay.We had a problem with our room ,which had been used by a smoker,however ,the manager,Ian,was very helpful in sorting it out for us.
The food was very good and both the restaurant and the bar were very cosy.
The lodge was in an excellent position for walking.
The staff were ver friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywalker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thwaitesinns, Ian Pilcher - General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review for us. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food we serve.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Keswick lodge again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ian Pilcher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews