We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
272
239
118
38
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
239
118
38
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb hotpot the pub steak and ale pie booked a table an overnight stay ate here fresh milk an evening meal eggs benedict central location cumbrian breakfast sunday lunch market square centre of town great weekend long walk feel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Fantastic hotel. Great location even better service. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guest2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Originally booked in for 4 nights here, but left after the first night with a lousy bed, minimal cleaning standards and a management team that didn't care. We booked here after some decent reviews and the location seemed great but the male manager was honestly terrible and didnt care when we checked in about anything and when we said we needed to check out after the first night he didnt even want to know why from my wife. Cleanliness is missing here, service is average to poor to be honest, my wife and I are innkeepers in Canada and this was just a very poor display from all involved. Breakfast was decent, but you had to watch how your table was as several tables were extremely wobbly, we moved to the Lakeside House which was truly amazing after this property, location is great, but whoever the owner is needs to realize that location in downtown Keswick is not enough to get past your very average managed and maintained property.

Room Tip: cant recommend, sorry!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcountrychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns-of-Character, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

May I firstly offer you my sincere apologies that we let you down on your visit to Keswick. I can assure you this is not representative of our usual high standards. All our team pride themselves on their high levels of hospitality and we are genuinely sorry that we did not live up to this on this occasion. I have already sat with the team to review your feedback and we will be working hard to ensure that we deliver great Cumbrian hospitality and the highest levels of service and cleanliness to all our future guests. I know you’re unlikely to be back to visit soon, but if you do come back to the UK please do get in touch as I would love the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards,
Iain Anderson
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel/pub is an ideal place to stay as a base for exploring the Lakes. The rooms seem recently refurbished and to a good hotel standard - better than expected. The staff were all also very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

i would just like to say i booked this trip back in january over the internet and recieved an email back that room 1 was booked for 2 adults and 2 children.when we arrived we were told we were only booked in as 2 adults the room would have been fine if we were just 2 adults the room had a king size bed and a sofa bed which for a 16 year old girl and a 10 year old boy to share was not suitable.i complained to the man on the desk (stuart) who told us that we could book another room at extra cost as we had come as a family we wanted to stay as a family or we wouldnt be charged if we didnt want to stay we had just travelled miles and this comment wasnt very helpful.we decided to stay as you would when you are on holiday,and had to put up with the situation.when we booked out we were given no apology and nothing was mentioned of our inconvenience. we have had better sleeping facilities with a travelodge than we did with you.oh the breakfast staff were very nice!!

Room Tip: ring up first if with kids to make sure .
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirepudding68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed 20th May with a group of friends, Clean room,good food & brilliant service! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinhead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews