We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant room, great service and fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #66 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stopped here for 3 nights with my partner and we both had a fantastic trip. Our room (number 2) was very large with a lovely bathroom (huge corner bath) and the overall decor and cleanliness was excellent. We both found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful and the food served here was great - hearty pub grub, which is exactly what you need after a day of walking on the fells! Also had an excellent selection at breakfast (I can recommend the full cumbrian grill!), which again was made even better by friendly staff. Great location right in the heart of Keswick - within stumbling distance of many pubs/bars/restaurants etc. I would recommend this place to family and friends and if I ever find myself in Keswick again, this would be my choice of place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for room 2 - large room, double and twin beds, great bathroom but we paid the same price as norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlb682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Fantastic hotel. Great location even better service. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guest2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Originally booked in for 4 nights here, but left after the first night with a lousy bed, minimal cleaning standards and a management team that didn't care. We booked here after some decent reviews and the location seemed great but the male manager was honestly terrible and didnt care when we checked in about anything and when we said we needed to check out after the first night he didnt even want to know why from my wife. Cleanliness is missing here, service is average to poor to be honest, my wife and I are innkeepers in Canada and this was just a very poor display from all involved. Breakfast was decent, but you had to watch how your table was as several tables were extremely wobbly, we moved to the Lakeside House which was truly amazing after this property, location is great, but whoever the owner is needs to realize that location in downtown Keswick is not enough to get past your very average managed and maintained property.

Room Tip: cant recommend, sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcountrychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns-of-Character, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

May I firstly offer you my sincere apologies that we let you down on your visit to Keswick. I can assure you this is not representative of our usual high standards. All our team pride themselves on their high levels of hospitality and we are genuinely sorry that we did not live up to this on this occasion. I have already sat with the team to review your feedback and we will be working hard to ensure that we deliver great Cumbrian hospitality and the highest levels of service and cleanliness to all our future guests. I know you’re unlikely to be back to visit soon, but if you do come back to the UK please do get in touch as I would love the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards,
Iain Anderson
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel/pub is an ideal place to stay as a base for exploring the Lakes. The rooms seem recently refurbished and to a good hotel standard - better than expected. The staff were all also very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

i would just like to say i booked this trip back in january over the internet and recieved an email back that room 1 was booked for 2 adults and 2 children.when we arrived we were told we were only booked in as 2 adults the room would have been fine if we were just 2 adults the room had a king size bed and a sofa bed which for a 16 year old girl and a 10 year old boy to share was not suitable.i complained to the man on the desk (stuart) who told us that we could book another room at extra cost as we had come as a family we wanted to stay as a family or we wouldnt be charged if we didnt want to stay we had just travelled miles and this comment wasnt very helpful.we decided to stay as you would when you are on holiday,and had to put up with the situation.when we booked out we were given no apology and nothing was mentioned of our inconvenience. we have had better sleeping facilities with a travelodge than we did with you.oh the breakfast staff were very nice!!

Room Tip: ring up first if with kids to make sure .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirepudding68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed 20th May with a group of friends, Clean room,good food & brilliant service! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinhead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed with a bunch of guys on a cycling trip. It was ideal. Great food and bar. Comfy bed. Would definitely go back. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#67 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing