We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #68 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were lucky to get a room in this as all b&bs were full. The man on check in was quite helpful and gave us last available room on this particular evening. The room was big and appeared nice and clean. We were late getting down for dinner at about 8.40p.m. Twenty minutes before last orders, the girl behind the bar was very friendly, however the two waiters were not, they were not interested in taking orders or helping you find a seat. After sitting for about ten minutes and the staff walking by numerous times we got up and left. The next morning we could hear every one move around in the hotel, in and out of rooms and up and down the stairs. Breakfast was in the bar area. We came in and gave our order very quickly, two more tables came after us and got their cooked breakfast before us, ours did not arrive for a long time.
We enquired if there was availability for the next night and the man behind the counter who appeared to be a manager had very little interest so we decided not to waste our money. On check out we did not even get a smile never mind asked if everything was ok!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellbell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We found the family room spacious and clean, ideal for a weekend break with the kids. The location of the Keswick Lodge is perfect, handy for the shops and resturants and just a short walk from Derwentwater. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and the breakfast was fabulous. We would certainly recommend this hotel. One tip would be to bring around £7 in loose change. As this hotel doesn't have a car park, you will be required to park in a public car park. There is a large one 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights from 2nd August. Clean room, decent size (Room 19) although bathroom a bit small - tight squeeze for my tall, broad partner! Room was warm but windows opened and fan was supplied - very helpful on a warm august day! Be warned the room can be quite noisy - delivery vans to local businesses at stupid o clock in morn - but somewhat to be expected so close to town! Only ate here one night, soup was fantastic, fresh and made on site, my partners lamb hotpot disappeared in two seconds and my locally produced sausages and mash were fantastic! All and all a wonderful trip, if your looking for town central, food on site and staff with a smile, definitely advise a stay here.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want a room with a bath! Noisy at times - perhaps not appropriate for small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelNorthEast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stopped here for 3 nights with my partner and we both had a fantastic trip. Our room (number 2) was very large with a lovely bathroom (huge corner bath) and the overall decor and cleanliness was excellent. We both found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful and the food served here was great - hearty pub grub, which is exactly what you need after a day of walking on the fells! Also had an excellent selection at breakfast (I can recommend the full cumbrian grill!), which again was made even better by friendly staff. Great location right in the heart of Keswick - within stumbling distance of many pubs/bars/restaurants etc. I would recommend this place to family and friends and if I ever find myself in Keswick again, this would be my choice of place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for room 2 - large room, double and twin beds, great bathroom but we paid the same price as norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlb682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Fantastic hotel. Great location even better service. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guest2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Originally booked in for 4 nights here, but left after the first night with a lousy bed, minimal cleaning standards and a management team that didn't care. We booked here after some decent reviews and the location seemed great but the male manager was honestly terrible and didnt care when we checked in about anything and when we said we needed to check out after the first night he didnt even want to know why from my wife. Cleanliness is missing here, service is average to poor to be honest, my wife and I are innkeepers in Canada and this was just a very poor display from all involved. Breakfast was decent, but you had to watch how your table was as several tables were extremely wobbly, we moved to the Lakeside House which was truly amazing after this property, location is great, but whoever the owner is needs to realize that location in downtown Keswick is not enough to get past your very average managed and maintained property.

Room Tip: cant recommend, sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcountrychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns-of-Character, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

May I firstly offer you my sincere apologies that we let you down on your visit to Keswick. I can assure you this is not representative of our usual high standards. All our team pride themselves on their high levels of hospitality and we are genuinely sorry that we did not live up to this on this occasion. I have already sat with the team to review your feedback and we will be working hard to ensure that we deliver great Cumbrian hospitality and the highest levels of service and cleanliness to all our future guests. I know you’re unlikely to be back to visit soon, but if you do come back to the UK please do get in touch as I would love the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards,
Iain Anderson
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel/pub is an ideal place to stay as a base for exploring the Lakes. The rooms seem recently refurbished and to a good hotel standard - better than expected. The staff were all also very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
5.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing