We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #61 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Convenient location, great food, courteous service. Rooms were comfortable with good supply of drinks and fresh milk. Hearty breakfast with range of choices. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justineLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    209
    109
    34
    28
See reviews for
87
331
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I recently spent 2 nights at the Inn with my girlfriend and her son . Very friendly people in a delightful setting and the breakfast was delicious with locally sourced Cumberland sausages . Would I stay their again ......most definately

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bioniceagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Good pub grub in a nice atmosphere. Plenty of space to accommodate a high chair and not too busy. Would definitely eat here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelorusP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived We were made to feel welcome. We arrived onTuesday 4th October with a rather large Rhodesian ridgeback dog, who was also made welcome and accomadated in a lovelly room on the first floor. We settled in and then explored the hotel. The Hotel bar was excellent and very dog friendly. The staff were very friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We had our evening meal in the bar lounge as the resturant is out of bounds to dogs although food is served in the bar lounge most of the time. The menu was of a very high standard and most people who were arriving were dinning, We commented to each other at the time that this place was frequented by regulars who come back time after time and enjoyed a friendly atmosphere reasonably priced drinks and fantastic food. After spending all evening in the bar lounge with our dog and many friendly faces we retired to our lovelly warm and comfortable room and enjoyed a good nights sleep.
Everything about this hotel suited us down to the ground. and the only thing we have to cmplain about is that we could'nt find anything to complain about. This is a very nice hotel in a fantastic location and it will be first on our list the next time we come to Keswick next year.

Thank you all very much Paul and Stephanie and Bella Ridgeback

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed Friday and Saturday night at the Keswick Lodge - gorgeous hotel in a great pedestrian location. There are a couple of long stay carparks only a few minutes walk away which cost £7 to cover the 8am to 7pm period. You can pay after 7pm for the next day if you don't want to get up early.
Not a cheap weekend away but everwhere in the lake district is expensive.
We didn't have a meal at the lodge as there was so much choice in the village but the breakfast was fantastic with a great choice.
After reading reviews warning about tiny rooms we paid a little extra for a junior suite and we were given room 2 which was huge and very tastefully decorated.
A nice touch was the thermos of fresh milk for your room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - they will even fill your thermos with coffee!
Would definately stay here again if we wanted to stay in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 on the first floor are probably all bigger than rooms 9-21 (I think it was) on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellywellyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns-of-Character, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thanks for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Please let me know personally about any room size requirements and I will be happy to accommodate.

Kind regards,
Ian and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here for one night. On arrival we found the welcome extremely friendly and all the staff were pleasant and friendly. We had our dog with us and she was also made welcome. The food was of a high standard, and the breakfast was very, very good.
Our room was spacious and clean and tidy.
Will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns-of-Character, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pen this positive feedback. I know the team will be very grateful. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Kind regards,
Ian and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norh Tyneside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed a Saturday and Sunday night at the Keswick Lodge. The first room we were allocated was very small and dark and smelled a little damp, and the wall paper around the window was coming away from the wall. We asked if there was another room available and we were immediately moved to alternative room without any problems. Our new room was also very small but adequate.

Unfortunately on this particular Saturday night there was a group of rather rowdy men staying over too. One man was apparently locked out of his room in the early hours and knocked and shouted and swore until his friends appeared some time later and let him in. Thankfully once they were all in and settled there was no more disturbance. However, breakfast the next morning was also a noisy affair as the group shouted across the room to one another about the antics of the night before.

Obviously I do appreciate that the hotel can't be held responsible for the (lack of) manners of their guests!

The staff were quite friendly and efficient. The breakfast was good. The room was clean and tastefully decorated.

Overall our stay was fairly good, but I think there are small things that could easily have been done to make it better. For example, we had to ask on more than one occasion for a flickering light in the bathroom to be fixed (in the end the manager came and changed the bulb for us himself- which was much appreciated, but surely this should have been spotted and rectified when the room was serviced?) Also, there was an unpleasant smell in the bar/restaurant area the whole time - as if the place had been mopped with a sour dirty mop - again easily rectified.

Not bad, but for the money I think it should (and could) be great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#70 of 173 in Keswick
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing