We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely pub food!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #63 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“lovely pub food!!!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

enjoyed a pub lunch with my husband friendly atmosphere quality food thoroughly enjoyed would visit again i enjoyed a ale pie with mushrooms was lovely my husband had a burger with cheese and pickles which he said he enjoyed would go again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel200820092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    206
    108
    34
    28
See reviews for
86
329
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was not staying at The Inn,but after a full day walking the peaks decided to call in for some tea.
The roar of the coal fire was as welcoming as the staff were.
It was around 4:30pm so getting a table was not a problem.
I had the Cumbrian Lamb Hotpot with red cabbage and it did not disappoint.
Like the majority of pubs/inns,the meat was locally sourced which is always a bonus if you are looking for quality.
Service was great and I was enjoying my meal within 10 minutes after ordering.The cask ales were great too.
Can't wait to go back for another visit and sample some more off the menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davmac358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

For about the 4th year on the trot the staff of the Inn have looked after my group of 16, fantastically. Its not easy to put 16 meals out and get a group that big to be able to eat
together, but they do it well. The choice of Thwaites ales are the full range and we tried them all. Nice clean pub and facilities and whether you want a posh coffee or a palian cke, there never seems to be a wait at the bar. In fact if something isn't just to hand its brought to you. We had 2 trays of ale served when they cahnged the barrel.

Room Tip: we were only eating and drinking so didn't wsee the rooms. But the band that came in later (rais...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked the Inn just after Xmas for a couple of nights mid January. The website looks lovely and looked like just what we were looking for, a warm and cosy pub in the lakes and we got a winter deal too.

On arrival we found out there was no parking on site, which we should have maybe realised but also I think this should have been clearer on the booking confirmation. It was no problem, we were directed up a side street, which at a quiet time of year was no problem and we could dump our stuff off before parking.

We checked in and headed up to our room, which was freezing! We would have expected that during deepest January they would have at least left the heating on low, so we turned it on and headed out for a walk whilst the room warmed up a little. The room was also very small for a double and quite claustrophobic, which as it was mentioned when we booked we were the first room to book for those dates, I would have maybe thought we could of got a slightly better room. We had asked on check in about staying for a third night, but if a room had been offered I don't think we could have stood that room for more than the two nights. The room was nice and quiet.

At about 10pm we realised the tv didn't work, but they fixed this by the following evening for us. The bed was really hard and we both had sore backs by the day we left. It just wasn't quite what it looked like on the website. They also made a point of asking when we booked online if we preferred a bath or shower as some rooms had both, this wasn't mentioned in check in and I had asked if possible for a room with both, but we ended up with just a shower.

We didn't eat here in the evenings as the menu didn't really seem too exciting and the bar area was very samey in decoration. Coming from somewhere where we don't have any proper pubs we wanted a character filled pub where we could sit by a fire all night, so went to a couple of others in the town.

After dinner we headed back to the inn for a few pints and a game of chess or two. It was disappointing to see the fire had been allowed to go out and my husband was itching to relight it! Good selection of ales and you could order three third of a pints to get more choice which my husband loved.

Breakfast....their signature dish is eggs Benedict so we both ordered this in the morning and it was ok. Rocket fuel coffee which set us up for the day, really nice and a good supply. Buffet table looked nice and the other cooked breakfasts looked tasty too.

I think we would stay here again now we know what to expect, it was centrally located and quiet. Staff friendly enough. Strong wifi in the bar area but not rooms.

Room Tip: Room 4 quite small, there is a top floor which might have nice views across the roof tops, worth ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

As a group of friends (8) age range late 50s early 60s from the Midlands,we have been coming to the Inn at Keswick for a week at New Year for the Last 20 Years. The name has been changed from The Keswick Lodge Hotel to The Keswick Lodge and this year to the Inn at Keswick. We had 7 days of hard fell walking in all weathers and enjoyed the food and ales in the evening. The Inn was part of an old coaching inn so the rooms are not a uniform size and shape with uneven floors, some rooms are oddly shaped. We as a group have stayed in all the rooms over the years and seen many changes, all for the better. It is an Inn (pub) with rooms not a Hotel. The 4 star AA rating plaque outside the entrance for those who care to read it is an AA Inn rating. The rooms our group had were of a high standard, with all showers working, clean, well stocked with tea coffee and biscuits and well serviced. The hearty breakfast set us up for our days out on the fells, 6 to 8 hours. In the evening again big hearty meals, with the Butchers and Fishmongers Deli boards our favourites, washed down with excellent Wainwright beer and wines for the ladies. This year in Keswick, for the first time in 3 to 4 years it was good to hear the return of accents from the North East.
Many thanks to Tracey Tim, Simon and the Team for the way they greeted us and looked after us and all the hard work they put in especially New Year’s Eve, where they worked like Trojans in clearing tables and pulling pints. Looking forward to the next 20 years at the Inn at Keswick.
Again many thanks to Tracey Tim and the Team

Ian p & JR

Room Tip: This is an Inn (pub) with rooms all subject to some noise at night. The rooms facing the streets on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank user923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay for New Year and had a fantastic time. Staff are friendly and keen to help and whether it was the lady we met on arrival, bar staff, breakfast staff or waiters in the restaurant all contributed to making our stay enjoyable. Good choice of beers (recommend the Wainwrights) and excellent food in the restaurant which was reasonably priced. The place just had a good vibe about it and as a regular visitor to Keswick would definitely stay again and cant understand why we hadn't stayed there before. Whilst no parking on site within a 2 or 3 minute walk is plenty of space to park amongst the Guest Houses with no cost involved. The room was fine albeit door frame was low and a chair in the room rather than a stool would have been good for watching the television and for extra comfort but basically we loved the place and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roughguideLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive comments. I’m so glad you enjoyed our vibe and our customer service, be sure I will share your comments with all the team. I hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
321 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

we were staying in keswick for xmas. the local cuisine is not very nouveau and my daughter was keen to have a salad. we chose the inn because it had a chicken caesar on the menu. so in we went..... the bar area was full so we sat in the dining area - its not really a dining room. its quite a nice area without having any particular charm. my son had the lamb hotpot which was lovely, i had fish and chips which was good without being special - the fish was pretty small, but fresh. but my daughters salad, ...oh dear. maybe 8pm on xmas eve wasnt the best time ....but it was basically a bowl of lettuce, with a char grilled chicken breast.....and an awful lot of caesar dressing and parmisan shavings. every inch of every leaf of lettuce was covered in a very thick, glutinous dressing, and there must have been 2 - 3 ozs of parmesan.....far far far too much. i think the chef had simply upended the parmesan into her bowl on the basis he probably wasnt serving any more salad over the xmas period, and the dressing simply drowned and completely spoilt the salad.
and not long after we were served, the staff came in to the dining area to strip all the tables and lay them up for breakfast.....making a lot of noise and talking very loudly......spoiling what ambience there might otherwise have been.
so, on balance, the food is ok, the salad appalling, and given the way the staff interupted, i would not return to this place and would advise others to give it a miss. simply unenjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory visit, I will share your comments with the chef and the team and strive to be better in the areas you pointed out. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#60 of 175 in Keswick
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing