We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inn at the top...........of the market.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #57 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“inn at the top...........of the market.”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Always stop off at the Inn at Keswick for a pint of Thwaites whenever i pass, love Keswick. Thought i would like to stay longer and perhaps not rush me pint so much and me and my partner stayed for 2 nights , 3 days......it did not dissapoint at all !! We arrived at lunchtime on a very cold day and enjoyed a pint of "lancaster bomber" by the lovely open fire , theres always a nice feel to the pub, your made very welcome. Booked in at 2pm and was offered a flask of fresh milk to make tea , coffee etc in the room which was a nice touch, the room was small but cosy with everything you needed, Went down for our evening meal around 5-45 and in 15 minutes the bar was full of people eating, the food here is always good and lots of passers by use the pub, we had soup and a roll each and shared the butchers deli board which was lovely and more than enough for two ! more "lancaster bomber" arrived and everything was a blurr , a nice blurr though , it,s a lovely atmosphere in the bar. The location is great stepping out into the top of Keswick market the whole town is on your doorstep, it,s also a great place to walk from with easy access to the northern and central fells and the 3,765 walking shops !! If you want a lovely inn with great beer , good food and freindly , helpful staff ......look no further, i will certainly book again...my girlfriend says i look well on Thwaites !!!

Room Tip: Rooms over 3 floors ......if your dodgy ont legs ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patto9941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    204
    105
    32
    27
See reviews for
82
323
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

couple staying in a double room, stayed here for 2 nights in march . nice hotel great central location decent food and drink. polite staff. the only downside was a very very small room(room 1). and a very small double bed. otherwise a decent place to stay, due to the size of the room i think it is overpriced.

Room Tip: i can only speak about room 1, its tiny,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrensafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Had a nice meal here, got a mixed starter to share between 2 which was a very large portion which was lovely and filling. Then had Pasta which was delicious. Service was very quick and friendly. I would here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Inn at Keswick. You must have had one of our deliboards which are delicious and very filling! Hopefully next time your in Keswick we can impress you again, I will share your positive comments with all the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel after turning away from our original booked hotel which looked poor. We were not disappointed. Room was clean and adequately decorated and kitted. We had the room situated on the front corner above the bar. We heard no noise from the street and a little from the bar which stopped sharp at closing. As we participated at the bar most nights this was not an issue. Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. Would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
It's always nice to hear when our guests have had a nice stay and I'm glad that you would stay here again. I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited here with family and doggy companion last week for food in the evening. Nice relaxed atmosphere and staff were friendly and helpful.
Nice and warm pub and plenty of room to sit.
Not much choice on the menu but food was good and reasonably priced and we had an enjoyable dining experience.
Would return again if in the area

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gemmaw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel/pub is situated in a fantastic location at the head of the main street in Keswick. The staff were very helpful at all times and the rooms were as you would expect from a 'proper pub', clean and tidy if a bit small. Tried the restaurant and the food was good no complaints. A big bonus for us was being able to take our dog with us to this hotel. one downside was the lack of a car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeBSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

just got back from weekend away me and the wife 15th,16th feb, great hotel-pub just what we wanted clean tidy room good food right in the centre, no carpark but there is plenty about, diddnt realise how dog friendly this pub was and the rest of them were, eating your dinner with dogs on leads under most tables, not used to that but will go back

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9 abit small but thats what we exspected, but will ask for same room again nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_johnson735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality here at The Inn at Keswick. It does take a while to get used to having dogs under tables, but they are more than welcome here. I will make sure that I share your positive comments with the team and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing