We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional dog friendly English pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #63 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice traditional dog friendly English pub”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

There was 7 in our party (8 if you include the dog!) that eat at The Inn at Keswick. It was difficult getting a table as we were a large group on a Friday evening. However, we managed to get a table and enjoyed our meals and drinks. The service was good and friendly and the food was fairly well priced and tasty. I would recommend The Inn at Keswick for a meal and would visit again, but just wish that tables could be reserved for large groups.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments. We have had problems in the past reserving tables for large parties, especially at weekends that don't show or are late. We have to maximise our covers at busy times, just a sensible business decision. I hope you didn't have to wait to long for a table and it sound slike it was worth the wait. Hope we can accommodate you on your next visit to Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    209
    109
    34
    28
See reviews for
87
331
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

to hot,great big air con units,why are they not switched on???staff look at you and turn away,not he service I am used to £9.40 for 3 drinks and 3 bags of crisps,roll on Wetherspoons.....Keswick pubs need to get their act sorted before Wetherspoons opens,but non of them seem to be doing anything about it.................................

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpdkeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I'm disappointed by your comments regarding our staff, we normally get very positive comments regarding our team. We will embrace the competition of a new operator in town, it will make us better as will your comments. Unfortunately, we could not have predicted the unusually hot period of weather we have recently been experiencing. Thanks for your honesty, I will share your comments with the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Decent..ish, nothing spectacular, nothing wrong BUT bedrooms small, noisy at night. Probably better to stay away from main square and walk in. Breakfast ok, didn't eat in the pub, felt too busy in the evenings, stag does and the like. Nowhere to park nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your honest comments. Keswick can be lively at the weekends and can be noisy in the square until late. I will share your comments with the team in effort to make us consistently better.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Quite surprised to read the other reviews as we had a lovely stay here whilst walking the Cumbria Way. Our room ,19, was fairly small but nicely fitted. Being on the second floor we were unbothered by street noise and our view of the centre was interesting. Our 6 ft wide bed was very comfortable and clean. The ensuite was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the room. The welcome was very friendly and helpful when we arrived, weary and footsore. Breakfast next morning included a great fresh fruit salad, a firm favourite with me, and full English if wanted. The location, on the Cumbria Way itself, and in the centre of Keswick was perfect for us. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, I will share them with the rest of the team and I hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel for three nighs in a small room on the second floor.There was a very small window with a view of walls and pipes. It was very warm and we had to use 2 fans to make it bearable. It was difficult to get the luggage upstairs and I had to ask for help. There was nowhere to sit when not in our room. The breakfasts were ok but we found the drinks were more expensive that nearby hotels. The staff were keen to please but we had to ask for extra coathangers and clean towels. The bathroom was not cleaned while we were there. The main advantage was the location - right in the centre of Keswick but parking was difficult. the wifi was poor in the room and only worked occasionally. The beds were so hard I could hardly sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Unfortunately at this time of year we can't guarentee a view from every bedroom window and I take on board your comments regarding the size of the room. Taking the positives i'm glad the staff were keen to please, thanks for your forthright comments I will share them with the team and use them to allow us to become better at what we do.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as a late booking and therefore didn’t expect the best room, there were 2 of us in a twin room. It was extremely small and very hot. There was a small window to open, this looked out onto an enclosed roof, which looked onto a large air vent, probably serving the kitchen. We had two electric fans to cool the room and circulate the air. This room would hardly be used in pictures to advertise the accommodation and I would rate the room as a 2* hostel.
The décor needed refreshing, as it was grubby and scuffed, not only in the room, but the building itself.
The shower room had black mildew in a corner of the ceiling, we felt the extractor fan, was not functioning and we reported it. Not sure if it was attended to as there was no sound coming from it, so presumed not. We were each given a bath towel only. The bathroom was not cleaned during our visit. I asked for towels on returning after our second day and mentioned the dirty bathroom, I had an apology but no explanation, nor was anyone sent to attend to it. Towels were brought with hand towels, so we should have been provided with hand towels initially.
There were good provisions for tea and coffee, but our used cups were not changed for our second day. Cups can be rinsed, but not what I expect to need to do in a hotel. The bathroom glasses were not changed either.
Good points were that the members of staff were very friendly and obliging. I cannot comment on the cleaning staff other than someone wasn’t doing their job.
The breakfast was excellent, food freshly cooked and plenty of choice. Hotel is in an excellent location but guests need to look for parking. Stairs could be a problem for less mobile people as there is no lift.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I'm sorry we didn't fulfil your expectations on this occasion. We do sell our rooms as comfy and cosy, I understand your concerns regarding the size of the rooms, but we like to think our prices reflect that. We don't advertise ourselves as a hotel, but more a Inn of Character. Thanks for your honest comments we can use them to make us consistently better.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

5 of us stayed in this hotel in July. 4 Star it definitely is not. We were looking for a good quality 4 Star hotel and the hotel website totally misled us. Dirty unkempt appearance in the cramped reception/ bar area; no lift; small rooms which were comfortable but designed for the 18th Century- no telephone; no air conditioning; parking very poor - we had to use a public park 10 minutes walk away.We had to leave the sash window open and I kept waking up to prevent a cat trying on 3 occasions during the night to access our room. Pleasant man behind the reception desk but I cannot believe the the English Tourist Board permits this hotel to have a 4 Star rating. 2 Star at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I'm sorry to read to read your comments regarding our website misleading you. We sell ourselves as an Inn of Character and infact it is a former 18th Century coaching house. Please accept my apologises if we did mislead you on our website. We use all our Trip Advisor comments positive and negative to make us consistently better.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#71 of 173 in Keswick
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing