We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #70 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here lastnight with my boyfriend after searching all around Keswick looking for somewhere that would accept us for a one night stay lastminute I called into the inn and the man on reception was really friendly and helpful.The inn was actually cheaper than any of the small B&Bs we enquired at and was in a great location with a great atmosphere. Room was quite small but very cosy
and had everything we needed. Was pleased to see that there was an option to have bacon butties ect instead of a full breakfast. Breakfast was good and will look forward to staying here again on our next visit to Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddybugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the price, we like to think we offer value for money and we hope to look after you on your next visit to Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed last week in a small double,nice room everything well thought out , nicely decorated, comfy bed, good drinks tray,good telly, lovely breakfast, and very clean , what more could you want, plus nice owners. Would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for the recommendation, so glad you enjoyed your stay and our Cumbrian welcome! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights during our holiday at the Lake District.
The Inn is located in the middle of Keswick Centre and therefore a very convenient base to explore the rest of the town and Derwent Water.

Both rooms that we stayed in were very clean and comfortable. After the first night, we requested a room change due to noise outside of our room during the early hours of the morning. The staff there were extremely friendly and more than willing to accommodate for our needs and thankfully the second room was much quieter.

The cooked breakfast was a very generous size and delicious and served in good time. It really made a good start to the day.

Overall, the location is great, the rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy, the breakfast is generous and delicious. Keswick itself is a beautiful town to roam around and shop with lots of small independent retailers. A worthwhile visit for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the shopping street are quieter than those at the back of the hotel where the service a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espresso2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We sell ourselves and comfy and cosy, so i'm glad you mentioned that and a good breakfast helps you start the day. I hope you visit us again soon and thank you!

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Okay so it's a pub in the middle of Keswick's pedestrianised and, occasionally lively, town centre.

So that means no parking - which means another £7 a day to find as you'll have to stop at a nearby carpark. If that's the case - don't do what I do and arrive at midday and have to drive round and round until a space before available.

It also means that it is not going to be quiet. Those in the pub downstairs from the rooms are unlikely to leave before 11. On a Saturday night we were repeatedly woken up till around 3am with drunks shouting on the streets. By 6.30 there was more noise - hard to tell if it was stalls setting up or street cleaners but needless to say with breakfast only on till 9.30 we got up feeling pretty tired.

As for the rest - all pretty good. The pub bit is nice and the food is decent. The rooms, though small are good. Staff were nice. Some odd like issues - not sure if WIFI is meant to reach the rooms but it doesn't. Toilet flushes are so "eco" as to mean you have to flush 10 times (requiring you to keep waiting for the cistern to fill). Not one pepper grinder in the place worked. Please stop the acid jazz music - awful at night, unbearable at lunch and breakfast.

But mostly a decent place. Met a mate who was catching up with some old University friends on a beery walking holiday. The perfect place for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNexpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Unfortunately, parking spaces are at a premium in Keswick, especially on a weekend and it can get lively later with revellers, but all those aside thanks for your positive comments. We hope to see you in Keswick in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in The Inn Keswick in August 2013 and had a lovely time apart from a day of rain which you sort of expect at the Lakes The Inn was in the Centre of Keswick. the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good with a great choice. we found a lovely restaurant called Georges just around the corner from the Inn where the food was great. I think the only problem is the parking we booked in on a long stay then moved the car to near the lake on the road where the parking is free if you can get a space but it wont put us off going again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for mentioning our helpful staff, too often the small details are overlooked. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast too, hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having stayed at a sister Thwaites inn in Lancaster (Penny Street Bridge) enroute to Scotland we decided to stay in Keswick for a change. We were not disappointed. The room was small but clean and modernly decorated and had views over the roof tops to the Catsbells. We were on the top floor in room 16?. We were given a friendly welcome. Fresh milk is provided for in room coffee or tea. We also ate at the Inn in the evening and had good traditional local pub food meal with much of the produce provided locally. Excellent Thwaites beers as well! The restaurant was very busy all evening. We noticed that they were asking for local gardeners to "sell' them their excess veg in return for a drinks voucher which we felt was an interesting touch and an excellent idea. We are not surprised that Thwaites has won a national publican award.
We had no problem parking in the nearby council carpark.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for your positive comments, we work very hard as an Inn to go the extra mile for our guests. I'm glad you mentioned our range of Thwaites cask ales which we treat with TLC for everyone to enjoy, hope to see you in Keswick again very soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I dined here on a recent walking weekend in the Lakes.

The menu and chalk boards within the Inn seemed to put a great emphasis on local produce and fresh cooking, however, I found this was not reflected in the food served to me.

The bar and dining area is really relaxing and the service was really good, shame that microwaved over salty food seems to be the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our fare, but glad you mentioned the relaxed atmosphere and the good service. We have recently changed kitchen personnel in regards to menu and taste, so hopefully you will give us another try in the near future. I will share your comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#64 of 189 in Keswick
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing