We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
251
221
111
36
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
221
111
36
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb hotpotthe pubsteak and ale pieflask of fresh milkbooked a tablean overnight stayate hereminutes walk awaycumberland sausagean evening mealeggs benedictcumbrian breakfastgood nights sleepcentre of townstayed for nightscouple of nightsgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed Friday 13 and Saturday 14 September, with a party in another Hotel, for walking weekend.
Room was okay, bed comfortable.
Entrance to the reception is terrible...opening door and door to rooms clash into each other and this is difficult carrying bags.
Reception very casual, didn't say we had to ask for milk (they provide it in flask).
Saturday's breakfast was provided in the bar, okay it's an Inn, but there is no attempt to make the experience cosy. Chairs where left piled on the tables, my breakfast order was wrong, had to send it back. Breakfast minimal and badly cooked. Toast presented cold and burnt or not all at toasted.
Not good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

I'm so sorry you though we didn't provide value for money, as this is one of the things we try hard to do. I agree with you regarding reception and plans are in place to refurbish and re-plan the area mentioned, hopefully when its done you can give us another try and leave satisfied? I share all comments positive and negative with the team in an effort to get better.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I don't know why I've missed this Inn before. It must have always been there. It's part of the Town's history. And I was surprised how lively Keswick is on a warm August night. The bars are very popular.
We were greeted like we owned the place! Nothing was any trouble. The staff were quite remarkable.
Room was excellent, in very good state. Good nights sleep was easy!
My only criticism is that thought the wine at the bar was somewhat overpriced. didn't stop me though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4llovidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for your positive comments, so glad you enjoyed our hospitality and hope to see you on your next visit to Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here lastnight with my boyfriend after searching all around Keswick looking for somewhere that would accept us for a one night stay lastminute I called into the inn and the man on reception was really friendly and helpful.The inn was actually cheaper than any of the small B&Bs we enquired at and was in a great location with a great atmosphere. Room was quite small but very cosy
and had everything we needed. Was pleased to see that there was an option to have bacon butties ect instead of a full breakfast. Breakfast was good and will look forward to staying here again on our next visit to Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddybugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the price, we like to think we offer value for money and we hope to look after you on your next visit to Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed last week in a small double,nice room everything well thought out , nicely decorated, comfy bed, good drinks tray,good telly, lovely breakfast, and very clean , what more could you want, plus nice owners. Would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for the recommendation, so glad you enjoyed your stay and our Cumbrian welcome! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Okay so it's a pub in the middle of Keswick's pedestrianised and, occasionally lively, town centre.

So that means no parking - which means another £7 a day to find as you'll have to stop at a nearby carpark. If that's the case - don't do what I do and arrive at midday and have to drive round and round until a space before available.

It also means that it is not going to be quiet. Those in the pub downstairs from the rooms are unlikely to leave before 11. On a Saturday night we were repeatedly woken up till around 3am with drunks shouting on the streets. By 6.30 there was more noise - hard to tell if it was stalls setting up or street cleaners but needless to say with breakfast only on till 9.30 we got up feeling pretty tired.

As for the rest - all pretty good. The pub bit is nice and the food is decent. The rooms, though small are good. Staff were nice. Some odd like issues - not sure if WIFI is meant to reach the rooms but it doesn't. Toilet flushes are so "eco" as to mean you have to flush 10 times (requiring you to keep waiting for the cistern to fill). Not one pepper grinder in the place worked. Please stop the acid jazz music - awful at night, unbearable at lunch and breakfast.

But mostly a decent place. Met a mate who was catching up with some old University friends on a beery walking holiday. The perfect place for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NothingButStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Unfortunately, parking spaces are at a premium in Keswick, especially on a weekend and it can get lively later with revellers, but all those aside thanks for your positive comments. We hope to see you in Keswick in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews