We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
249
221
112
36
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
221
112
36
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb hotpotthe pubsteak and ale pieflask of fresh milkbooked a tablean overnight stayate hereminutes walk awaycumberland sausagean evening mealeggs benedictcumbrian breakfastgood nights sleepcentre of townstayed for nightscouple of nightsgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for one night as went to see a show at Theatre by the Lake. Went to book in at 2.10pm, went through pub to hotel reception and we were just discussing what to do as there was no-one on reception. An older man shouted up to us from the bar that he only had one pair of hands - not sure whether this a good way to greet guests and it spoilt our view from the get go.

Our room was a small double but is was big enough for one night - if we were staying longer then it would have been inappropriate and I wouldn't have booked it. We had room 11 which was nice and quiet - we had a fab nights sleep and the bed was great.

The en suite was a small room with a massive bath in it which meant there wasn't enough room for the toilet or sink - I kept stubbing my toes on the bath which became annoying very quickly. There were hairs in the bath, one of the lamps had no bulb in it and there was no mention of the wifi which is meant to be included. Not everyone likes filter coffee in their room as the sachets were a faff and made a mess.

The breakfast staff were great and so friendly, there was a varied choice on the cold buffet or good variety of hot food. Once again the coffee was filtered and was so strong it would put hairs on your chest! Thankfully there is a Costa next door but one which was a godsend.

We would stay again, the location is great and we enjoyed being in Keswick again.

Room Tip: Be carefully of the type of room you book as ours was small but there are a few different options and they have some rooms which are dog friendly.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi
I know our rooms are small, we like to say cozy ,& by the sounds of it we made up for the size with our engaging & friendly staff, sorry for the strong coffee !! hope to see you in Keswick very soon
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff were lovely. Our room was comfortable, clean and not too noisy at all, which had been a concern after reading other reviews. We had a room at the top / front overlooking the street and rooftops. We went out for a meal in the evening as it was really busy but meals looked good. The atmosphere in the pub is lively and welcoming. The breakfast was very good indeed everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi ,thanks for your very positive comments , were hoping to get better after some extensive refurbishments ,we hope to see you again very soon
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We thought the inn at KESWICK was lovely and friendly. The location couldnt be any better it was central , The room allocated was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a winner !! local produce and very tasty. The staff were very helpful and friendly we couldnt fault anything my husband thought the real ales were fab !!.

Room Tip: we had a delux room no 8.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi , so glad you enjoyed your anniversary, our hospitality & our great ales ,hope you visit again soon next time your in Keswick .
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from two day break. A lovely warm welcome greeted us. Room small but clean and all we needed. Also very warm which was fab because I am always cold. Breakfast was delicious and staff friendly and pleasant. Location perfect. Will defo return

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi, thanks for your positive comments ,we look forward to your return very soon.
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Keswick, so great for access to all the local cafe bars, pubs and shops - also within easy walking distance of the Theatre on the Lake. We went to see Elkie Brooks in concert - she was AMAZING and the concert was sold out! (We would highly recommend her too!) In our opinion, this hotel is good value for money, food was great and the "Keswick Breakfast" was made with good quality local produce. Rooms were fine but some fittings and fixtures were looking a little tired, but still clean and our bathroom was as large as the bedroom, with an over-bath shower. As the hotel is in the middle of the town and overlooked streets and alleyways with wheelie bins, the views were not the best, but that can't be helped given the location, so we didn't mind. The staff were all very friendly and made us most welcome, they also gave us a few good hints and tips about getting the best from our stay. We don't have a dog ourselves, but we do like them and it was fantastic to see how this hotel welcomed well-behaved dogs in the public areas. I guess if you don't like dogs maybe this wouldn't be the best town to go to, as most pubs seem to welcome walkers and their dogs, this made it feel very homely and I can honestly say that none of the places we went were smelly as a result of this dog friendly policy - despite all the rain we had whilst we were there! The only slight drawback of being in the centre of town, was that parking wasn't easy - but hey! Who cares - just park up, leave the car and enjoy!!! We will certainly go back (and it seemed very popular with other couples too) Oh yes - I almost forgot to mention, they give you a small flask of fresh milk for your room too - this was brilliant - no mini-UHT cartons in sight!

Room Tip: All rooms will probably have limited views due to the central location of this old building. As far as we could see - Those with limited mobility may struggle due to having no on-site parking and also being an old building there are a few stairs to climb to the bedrooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

we like to think we are very friendly ,so nice of you to mention it, really pleased you enjoyed your weekend & glad you enjoyed the fresh milk, we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Keswick
Regards
Tim
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews