We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #63 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a small double room and were prepared for titchy but it was just what we needed, well laid out and the language on any paperwork in the room was laid-back and suited the tone of the place. The ensuite felt a bit cramped however.
The food was marvellous. We had dinner the first night and nibbles the next afternoon. Breakfast offered a good range including my favourite - eggs benedict! Also, the portions throughout our time at The Inn were HUGE! Not meant as a critisism :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QueenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Sounds like we really filled you up, we like to offer value for money ,we hope it makes people return for another great visit .Hope to see you in the north lakes very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    209
    109
    34
    28
See reviews for
87
331
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just back from a fantastic week end in Keswick.Been and stayed many times in Keswick,but this was the first time we have stayed in the Inn.Very friendly,and polite staff,room was very comfortable and clean,rather small.but had all the facilities.And they are having a refurb in the next couple of monthe so things should even be better.Breakfast was very good,as was the evening meals.They have a good selection of real ales,and dog friendly also.So all in all we would recommend the Inn.We booked for July before we left.Value for money without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Glad you had a great weekend , we wont rest on our laurels and hope your stay in july will be even better, look forward to seeing you then
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for one night as went to see a show at Theatre by the Lake. Went to book in at 2.10pm, went through pub to hotel reception and we were just discussing what to do as there was no-one on reception. An older man shouted up to us from the bar that he only had one pair of hands - not sure whether this a good way to greet guests and it spoilt our view from the get go.

Our room was a small double but is was big enough for one night - if we were staying longer then it would have been inappropriate and I wouldn't have booked it. We had room 11 which was nice and quiet - we had a fab nights sleep and the bed was great.

The en suite was a small room with a massive bath in it which meant there wasn't enough room for the toilet or sink - I kept stubbing my toes on the bath which became annoying very quickly. There were hairs in the bath, one of the lamps had no bulb in it and there was no mention of the wifi which is meant to be included. Not everyone likes filter coffee in their room as the sachets were a faff and made a mess.

The breakfast staff were great and so friendly, there was a varied choice on the cold buffet or good variety of hot food. Once again the coffee was filtered and was so strong it would put hairs on your chest! Thankfully there is a Costa next door but one which was a godsend.

We would stay again, the location is great and we enjoyed being in Keswick again.

Room Tip: Be carefully of the type of room you book as ours was small but there are a few different options an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi
I know our rooms are small, we like to say cozy ,& by the sounds of it we made up for the size with our engaging & friendly staff, sorry for the strong coffee !! hope to see you in Keswick very soon
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff were lovely. Our room was comfortable, clean and not too noisy at all, which had been a concern after reading other reviews. We had a room at the top / front overlooking the street and rooftops. We went out for a meal in the evening as it was really busy but meals looked good. The atmosphere in the pub is lively and welcoming. The breakfast was very good indeed everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi ,thanks for your very positive comments , were hoping to get better after some extensive refurbishments ,we hope to see you again very soon
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We thought the inn at KESWICK was lovely and friendly. The location couldnt be any better it was central , The room allocated was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a winner !! local produce and very tasty. The staff were very helpful and friendly we couldnt fault anything my husband thought the real ales were fab !!.

Room Tip: we had a delux room no 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hi , so glad you enjoyed your anniversary, our hospitality & our great ales ,hope you visit again soon next time your in Keswick .
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soith shields
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from two day break. A lovely warm welcome greeted us. Room small but clean and all we needed. Also very warm which was fab because I am always cold. Breakfast was delicious and staff friendly and pleasant. Location perfect. Will defo return

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hi, thanks for your positive comments ,we look forward to your return very soon.
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Keswick, so great for access to all the local cafe bars, pubs and shops - also within easy walking distance of the Theatre on the Lake. We went to see Elkie Brooks in concert - she was AMAZING and the concert was sold out! (We would highly recommend her too!) In our opinion, this hotel is good value for money, food was great and the "Keswick Breakfast" was made with good quality local produce. Rooms were fine but some fittings and fixtures were looking a little tired, but still clean and our bathroom was as large as the bedroom, with an over-bath shower. As the hotel is in the middle of the town and overlooked streets and alleyways with wheelie bins, the views were not the best, but that can't be helped given the location, so we didn't mind. The staff were all very friendly and made us most welcome, they also gave us a few good hints and tips about getting the best from our stay. We don't have a dog ourselves, but we do like them and it was fantastic to see how this hotel welcomed well-behaved dogs in the public areas. I guess if you don't like dogs maybe this wouldn't be the best town to go to, as most pubs seem to welcome walkers and their dogs, this made it feel very homely and I can honestly say that none of the places we went were smelly as a result of this dog friendly policy - despite all the rain we had whilst we were there! The only slight drawback of being in the centre of town, was that parking wasn't easy - but hey! Who cares - just park up, leave the car and enjoy!!! We will certainly go back (and it seemed very popular with other couples too) Oh yes - I almost forgot to mention, they give you a small flask of fresh milk for your room too - this was brilliant - no mini-UHT cartons in sight!

Room Tip: All rooms will probably have limited views due to the central location of this old building. As far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
we like to think we are very friendly ,so nice of you to mention it, really pleased you enjoyed your weekend & glad you enjoyed the fresh milk, we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Keswick
Regards
Tim
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#69 of 173 in Keswick
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing