We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #60 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This isn't the greatest hotel in the world. It's basically a pub doubling up as a hotel. They describe themselves not as a hotel but as an 'Inn of Character' The hotel desk isn't staffed all the time, so sometimes you have to walk over to the pub to grab someone. The best thing about it is the central location. It's a great base for exploring all the Lake District has to offer.

The room was fine - I have seen several disparaging reviews where people take photos of every mark on the wall, cracks in paint, mould around the window. It does have all of these things, but they are closing for refurbishments very soon, and I'm sure all these things will be put right. We had no issues with cleanliness. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom a good size. We had the window open while we slept, and there was a slight hum from a nearby commercial fan. But this is to be expected when you stay so centrally.

One nice little touch is the flask of milk they give you every day so you can make hot drinks in your room.

The hotel does not come with parking facilities, and it is tricky to find a space, especially if it's a bank holiday as it was when we visited. There are no restrictions on nearby Stanger Street, or on street near the church which is around the corner from the hotel. If you need some directions, just pop in and ask a member of staff.

The breakfast was great - I had the "Full Keswick" which is a full English on one day, and Eggs Benedict the next day - both were excellent, and you could customise your order if you didn't like some of the ingredients.

After leaving, we realised we had left a top hung up in the wardrobe. We emailed the hotel and got a response straight away from Tim advising it would be posted to us, free of charge. This was a really nice touch, so I wanted to say a big thankyou to Tim and the team.

All in all, we had a lovely stay in this hotel and would definitely visit again. We are looking forward to seeing it after the refurbishment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi
If you enjoyed your visit before ,I believe we have got even better , we have a new look ,a new menu & some new team members , & we are still very competitive in the Keswick market place & we hope to be your first point of call next time you are in Keswick, be sure I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited The Inn restaurant twice last week whilst visiting Keswick, once for lunch and once for tea.

Both times we where greeted by very friendly staff. When we went in for lunch our dogs where welcomed which is a massive plus for us (the dogs where too tired to come the second time after a 10 mile walk lol). For lunch we had a "snack" which consisted of a sandwich, salad, coleslaw and crisps and I had extra chips. It was delicious and a massive portion.

For tea I had the steak. WOW. Honestly it was the best I've ever had. The whole meal was fantastic, topped off by a cheese board for dessert.

The man who served us (possibly the manager) was so friendly as where all the other staff. He even gave us a complimentary jar of mustard as my husband commented on how nice it was.

If we ever visit Keswick again this will defiantly be our first stop!

Keep up the good work :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bitzieg2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Wow , thanks for your amazing comments , we have worked hard on our service , and I have to agree regarding the steaks, hope to see you again soon next time you are in Keswick.
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at The Inn this last weekend and had the most lovely time. It was our anniversary and was surprised with a bottle of wine compliments of the House! Lovely and meaningful. The manager Tim, and his staff are a credit to Inns of Character and to be praised for their excellent service, attitude and 'going the extra mile'. Having four children, 2 nights away in a lovely hotel in the loveliest part of England was such a treat, made all the more special by the Management and staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieDyson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Sorry sir, it was a business decision to let dogs into the pub ,Keswick is the pooch capital of Britain so we don't really have any choice , I understand dogs are not everyones cup of tea ,especially when they are barking & whining ,i hope on your next visit to Keswick you give us another chance
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Dropped in for an evening meal and although the place was busy found a table and ordered simple pub food, wine and real ale. The drinks were good and the food was ok even if the 8 oz burgers were on the dry side. However I'm not so sure about the open door policy for dogs - especially 'Alfie' (a customers dog) who barked and whined at other dogs while we were eating. You do get fed up of hearing the owners calling its name and telling the dog to 'be quiet'. Take it out! Sorry but not a good experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulBYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit , but unfortunately Keswick is the pooch capital of Britain, so we don't really have a choice i hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Keswick
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel in 2012. We needed somewhere to stay, it was 8pm and The Inn gave us a discounted room as it was so late in the day. The room was fantastic as well as the food in the bar. We returned to Keswick in 2014 and popped in for a drink. The bar is still a fanatic place to have a drink and spend the evening. The staff are friendly and although it was very quiet on a Wednesday evening it was still a lovely evening spent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHoward83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Glad you enjoyed your visit , hopefully we can persuade you to stay next time your in the north lakes /Keswick & thanks for your lovely comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A pub with rooms in the town centre…..no parking. Stayed for b&b. The pub is undergoing improvements but expensive for what it is. Beware - some rooms have v low entrance doors…if you are over 5'6" tall, then duck, or remove half your head - as I did ! The most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in….the mattress must be the cheapest possible…and nothing special to write about re breakfast. Hopefully on the way up but still some way to go.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with low entrance doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Please accept my apologies for your mixed experience, I myself am five foot four on tiptoes so I never bang my head ,as for the mattresses they are to be replaced very soon, i would be happy if you gave us another chance to show you what we can do, I hope to see you again soon
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

stayed for 2 night and had no complaints would defo recommend. Right in the centre of Keswick and the breakfast was more than adequete proberly one of the best ive had in Keswick. Coinsidering we go regular it just shows how highly we rate this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordiedave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Very pleased we hit the mark ,and you enjoyed your visit, and thanks for taking the time to post your very positive comments , see you next time .
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#18 of 22 in Keswick
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#13 of 22 in Keswick
421 reviews
5.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £85 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing