We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new look! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #70 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I popped in for a drink after the Karimorr Great Trail Challenge and were pleased to see that muddy boots were welcome - we had two muddy and tired runners with us!
We only stopped for drinks but the menu looks great and we'll definitely be back to give it a try!
The staff were all working hard serving many Sunday lunches and the new look is fantastic! Very bright and modern yet cosy and welcoming!
A fab town centre inn!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank cat0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tom at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thankyou for your lovely comments.

Although we are back to our roots, we can't deny muddy boots!
We are glad to hear your muddy and tired runners were comfortable whilst having a well deserved pint of Thwaites!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Now re-vamped and re-named and what a great job! The colour scheme is lovely and furniture much in keeping. 5 local business ladies decided to try The Royal Oak and I have to say on behalf of us all it was great. We were met and taken to our table immediately and Jade our waitress was very friendly. We ordered the rotisserie chicken which was amazing (and I am a Nandos fan) but this was something else! It is quality and quantity and had a very gastropub feel about it. I will be recommending this venue, without hesitation to all the many customers who ask where is good to eat... Well done The Royal Oak !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank helga1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you ladies for your lovely review , glad you enjoyed our chicken (we do a full one too to share) hope to see you soon, and watch out for our "ladies who lunch" offer coming soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived on the first day of the reopening of the newly refurbished rooms. We were warmly greeted by the manager who couldn't do enough for us. Our dog was also made very welcome. Our room had a few teething problems but these were quickly sorted out, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were professional and attentive. The food was sublime. I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. We will certainly be back. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermintrudebulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks, yes we did have a few teething problems in our opening week, glad we sorted them out ,without too much fuss, by the sounds of it ,it didnt spoil your stay , we all hope to see you on your next visit to keswick .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Newly refurbished, we were a bit worried about dragging our massive bags and muddy feet up to the top floor double we were expecting to share after another day doing the Cumbria Way. We got a fabulous twin instead, right over the back of the hotel with almost no noise. Useful metal pans outside the room for dirty boots, massive bathroom, more massive bath towels. A few hiccups but nothing you wouldn't expect from a hotel still being renovated (shower a bit dodgy but fixed by the time we left.)

Brill location in centre of town, short walk from Booths' supermarket and loads of cafes and outdoor shops. Food also excellent (separately reviewed.) Helpful staff. Great value - suspect we got cheap price as it was still being renovated but I'd certainly look to stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 12 (I think) top floor over the back of the hotel. Quiet - not massive but perfect for tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heather_May_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay & don't worry we aim to stay competitive on price, from food to rooms to drinks, its very important to us to offer value for money.
Thank you for taking the time to comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just Popped in for somethig quick as a snack. Ended up ordering a rare ribeye and a pulled chicken sarnie for girlfriend. Both were verry good, as was the service, really clean place and impececcable toilets. Thankyou.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jonny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Mmm ribeye they are rather nice , thanks for posting your positive comments and glad you enjoyed your visit ,see you next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Came here to meet a friend who is staying here for a week. The rooms are fabulous and the owners are lovely and despite the fact that they are getting ready for reopen ing nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are all new and have been finished to the highest of standards. At night we dined in the pub which has a buzzing atmosphere and the food is Excellent quality and all homemade. Breakfast is also of the same high quality and set out beautifully. The only downfall for us was my mum can't do stairs anymore and all the rooms are upstairs but next time the first floor will be open so we can have a room there. Our friend like it so. Uh she has booked another week in June and August. If you go you will see.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments , they mean a lot us ,positive & negative we use them as a tool to get better, which makes the guest experience better and hopefully gives value for money which is most important to us ,hope to see you again very soon & thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just an overnight stay but would have been happy to spent much longer. The staff and management provide a warm welcome and attentive service which will only get better with time. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed afforded a good nights sleep although that could also have been influenced by the good food and wine available in the bar/restaurant which was wholesome tasty and good value for money. It is not a gastronomic experience but all the better for that, you get full flavoured food and good portions, what's not to like? If you are a beer drinker there are a good number of Thwaites beers to try helped by their 'thirds' sampler rack you get a third of a pint each of your selection of three beers. Wine list not extensive but good value and range and adequately complements the food. Breakfast provided a good selection of hot and cold food to set you up for a days walking or touring. The building has plenty of history and so some of the rooms are a little on the compact side so you may want to check. That said the room was clean well appointed and the bed comfortable. From my perspective I was very pleased to find real coffee rather then instant available in the room and fresh milk. The hotel is still being refurbished as this is written but should be finished soon. The location is very central on the market square, despite this the room was quiet with the windows closed. Free parking on public roads a short walk away. It is not the Ritz but it is a great place to stay in the centre of Keswick I'd go back anytime.

Room Tip: Room 18 on the cosy side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoarFeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, general manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi
I am glad you enjoyed our warm and friendly welcome, ha ha we dont claim to be the ritz but we hope our hospitality was 5 star and we look forward to seeing you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
783 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#65 of 189 in Keswick
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing