We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high hopes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #71 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As a Keswick resident I was really pleased to see the hotel had been refurbished and had reverted to its original name. My friend and I visited shortly after it had reopen and were really impressed with the décor and service. Several weeks later we decided to have lunch there which however we found fairly disappointing. Having be advised to sit and as a waiter/waitress would come and take our order we waited 15 minutes ( it restaurant had no more than a dozen customers) for tis then a further 20 minutes before our drinks arrived and a further 20 minutes(making a total of 40 minutes) for our 2 sandwiches. the roast beef sanwich was medium rare as promised but lacked horseradish. my chicken caesar sandwich on the other hand was dire. Some dry chunks of chicken with some lettuce and fillets of anchovies with a smear of bottled caesar salad dressing just did not cut it. I struggled to find some positives to say as the accompanying garnish was also a bit limp and uninteresting .However the rye bread was very nice and the chips tasty and a happy smiley waitress. I shall give it another try so hopefully it will get better

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank allanKeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi
So sorry for your less than satisfactory visit , rest assured we are striving very hard to be the best & most consistent place to visit after our refurbishment & sometimes we dont get it quite right ,thanks for mentioning some positives & its pleasing you are willing to give us another try, hope to see you again very soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were 2 couples and had different rooms. Theirs seemed bigger. Our was really new and cute
but tiny. There is no suitcase rack and no place to put it. There are drawers and a closet but who wants to unpack your things for one night? The room is beautifully decorated and the shower is really nice but no shelf or room to put makeup or stuff. Nice friendly, helpful owner ( mgr?)

Room Tip: Ask for the largest available and ask for a fan because there is no a/c and no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to write your positive comments, also we dont ignore the negative ones, we take them on board, & hopefully give yourselves & future guests an even better experience, hope to see you next time your in keswick & thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Hotel was very clean recently refurbished .We got a free upgrade as the window in our original room would not work properly the room was very small but had all you would need . The new room was a lot bigger . The two TV's would not tune in and the shower was to hot but the staff were happy to try and sort out these teething troubles . The Free WI-FI was very good and we got the news on catch up tv on our phones . I am sure it will be fine when these problems are sorted

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice . Fruit . cereal . full Cumbrian and more . All the food looked great .

Keswick itself was quaint , Seemed to be a mecca for walkers and bikers and very dog friendly . Car parking was easy but costly . I would expect good cheap parking in a village that relies on visitors who arrive by car .

The eating out was very good . Every pub and hotel was basically a restaurant with a bar . The drinks were surprisingly expensive . I would not recommend Keswick for a boozy weekend . More of a quiet couples walk eat and sleep break .

All in all a enjoyable break in a nice hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tom at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thankyou for your kind comments and for being so understanding of the few teething problems we incured after the refurbishment, it is nice of you to see past these.

These small problems are now solved thankfully.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Keswick in general, hopefully you and your dogs will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We called in here for lunch on our day trip to keswick from middlesbrough. Two of us had the burger and the other had the half chicken, the food and service was very good. We are back in Keswick in September for a week and we will definitely be calling back in.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Acklam121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tom at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thankyou for the comments on two of our best selling dishes! We are delighted you enjoyed them!

We look forward to meeting you and looking after you again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stopped here on a Sunday as we were in the lake district for the weekend. Looks nice outside and in so we knew it would be good quality. There was a group of 6 of us and we walked straight in. There were no table available, so the waiter very kindly agreed to hold one for us in half an hour. When we came back, the service was very good and we all had roast dinners. They were the best we have ever had, just the right amount of food, good presentation and i can not fault the taste, very delicious. When we are back in the area we will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tom at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thankyou for the compliments on the Sunday dinner and we are glad you enjoyed it!

We believe we have the best Sunday Dinner in town and its great to hear you enjoyed it so much!

I will pass on your comments to the kitchen and the front of house team.

We look forward to looking after you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I popped in for a drink after the Karimorr Great Trail Challenge and were pleased to see that muddy boots were welcome - we had two muddy and tired runners with us!
We only stopped for drinks but the menu looks great and we'll definitely be back to give it a try!
The staff were all working hard serving many Sunday lunches and the new look is fantastic! Very bright and modern yet cosy and welcoming!
A fab town centre inn!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank cat0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tom at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thankyou for your lovely comments.

Although we are back to our roots, we can't deny muddy boots!
We are glad to hear your muddy and tired runners were comfortable whilst having a well deserved pint of Thwaites!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Now re-vamped and re-named and what a great job! The colour scheme is lovely and furniture much in keeping. 5 local business ladies decided to try The Royal Oak and I have to say on behalf of us all it was great. We were met and taken to our table immediately and Jade our waitress was very friendly. We ordered the rotisserie chicken which was amazing (and I am a Nandos fan) but this was something else! It is quality and quantity and had a very gastropub feel about it. I will be recommending this venue, without hesitation to all the many customers who ask where is good to eat... Well done The Royal Oak !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank helga1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you ladies for your lovely review , glad you enjoyed our chicken (we do a full one too to share) hope to see you soon, and watch out for our "ladies who lunch" offer coming soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#90 of 189 in Keswick
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing