We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #57 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay here during our trip around the UK. The service was excellent - really friendly, helpful warm and welcoming. The room was a little on the small side, but was very clean and cosy nonetheless. The decor and interior was really lovely and in keeping with the location. The room was serviced whilst we were out and about and we came back to clean bedding and towels - lovely. We had dinner in the pub downstairs and found both the service and food excellent - I'd really recommend the rotisserie chicken, it's delicious! Breakfast was fine - cold buffet and then you can order full English breakfast if you want it. Perfect location for a lovely walk around the lakes, particularly if you get the boat. We also went to the Theatre by the Lake and it was just a 5 minute walk away.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsW2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time out to review your recent visit. I'll pass on you kind words to the whole team and we'll hopefully see you again on your next tour of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    204
    105
    32
    27
See reviews for
82
323
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, the Royal Oak had just been re-vamped, the room was fantastic, clean and cosy, we booked a table for our first night, they managed to squeeze us in despite the restaurant being booked which was a great touch, food was good, no complaints here, no complaints with breakfast either, unfortunately the faults crept up, no clean bedding had been changed the following 2 days, the only thing that had been down was the bins emptied, no toilet roll stocked in the room in which we had to go down stairs and get it, no plug hole, no replacement bottles of water that had been given the first day, these are little things that can be easily rectified but as I say, it's the small things that are the big things!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fugitive1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and I'm sorry to hear you we're let down by poor housekeeping standards. I'll be passing your comments on to the entire team, both good and bad so we can improve our service and standards.

I do hope this hasn't put you off a return visit, and we all look forwad to welcoming you back to Keswick and the Royal Oak in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The food was good when it finally arrived. Pleasant interior and atmosphere. Let down by amateurish service. The young staff were charming but didn't seem to be experienced enough to handle a busy, high season dinner.

==========
We did not stay at the hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamilyP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's nice to know when we get it a little wrong as well as when we're getting it right. Staff training is an ongoing process and occasionally we do get caught out, which I'm sorry to hear led to your disapointment this time.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal despite this and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Oak soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our 1st visit to keswick and decided to have lunch at the royal oak. As title would suggest the atmosphere was lovely and the decoration brilliant. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Food took a bit longer than would have liked but was a busy period so not too negative. I had the burger with chips. The chips were slightly under cooked but the burger was acceptable and cooked well. All in all not.too bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review on our inn.

I am glad the atmosphere was to your liking and that the staff were helpful and friendly whilst serving you.

It is kind of you to understand there may be a little bit of a longer wait during busy periods and i am sorry to hear that your chips were slightly undercooked, i will pass this onto the kitchen team i am sure they will ensure this doesnt happen again.

We hope to see you again if you visit Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we were in the Lakes for a friend's wedding. From the outset, the staff were eager to assist, ensuring we had somewhere to change before our check in time; this was greatly appreciated after our long journey from Yorkshire. All staff were friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The pub has clearly been recently decorated to a very high standard, modern yet cosy; very much in keeping with current interior trends.
Our breakfast in the morning was delicious! There were lots of tasty things on the cold buffet table and a variety of options available on the cooked menu. My scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection and my partner's black pudding top notch.

The only area we felt could've been improved was the fact that our room was linked to the next door room only by a closed (locked) door which meant that when our neighbours arrived back to their room late at night, we heard every detail of their conversation and activities as if they were in the same room as us! Ear plugs would have been appreciated, we could not find any in our room as stated in the welcome pack.

This is a really lovely hotel. We would recommend to friends and revisit again should we be in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FranTaylor1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time out to write some lovely comments about our Inn, it is very much appreciated and we are glad you felt welcomed upon arrival.
We will pass this on to the team I'm sure they will be happy to hear there hard work isnt going unoticed.

I can only apologise for having no earplugs in the room as this is one of the features we offer and obviously this had been missed but I hope this didnt affect your experience with us too much.

Thankyou again and hopefully we will see you here again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The staff were lovely and breakfast was good and plentiful. Some maintenance work was carried out in our rom during our stay - the gap between the tiles and the wall was filled in and the toilet roll holder was secured to the wall - which was good to see.

However, when we arrived in our room there were sticky rings on one of the bedside tables which I quickly wiped away but had obviously not been cleaned since the last guest. Also there were dry water marks on the shower door suggesting it too hadn't been cleaned properly. There was a rip in the duvet cover. Our towels were not changed regularly even when they were not hung up and were only changed when we left them in the shower. These are basic things that you should always get right.

We had one evening meal in the hotel and expected it to be good after our lovely breakfast. I had fish and chips - the fish was dry and the chips were rubbery. It tasted like it had been made earlier and reheated not freshly cooked. My husband had the hotpot which was also very disappointing. We didn't eat there again.

This hotel is really trying hard to get it right and I'm sure they will but not quite yet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunandwarmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for posting, i agree with everything you have said, we are trying to get it right & unfortunately it doesn't happen overnight , we feel value for money & consistency is the key to success & we are working very hard in these areas to improve, i hope you will give us another chance next time you are in keswick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and a mate stayed at the Royal Oak (Keswick) after doing the Saunders Lakeland Mountain Marathon (SLMM) on 13th July. It was a great choice. My mate's room had a brilliant view over the Borrowdale Fells. I had to change rooms because the weather had been extremely hot and the recently painted window wouldn't open, so the original room was sweltering! The deputy manager sorted out the room change and a pint of cider on the house for the trouble!!

We had intended on going for our traditional post SLMM curry in the evening but after looking at the hotel's menu we decided to stay put. We were glad we did - starters and main courses were really good. I mean really good. It was "gastro-pub" quality and Cumbrian pub sized portions! The Lamb Hot Pot is five star ***** !!

There's a good range of hand-pulled beers, and one of the best ciders I've had for a while.

Breakfast was excellent as well. There was a full range of the continental/cereal/fruit/yoghurts, which we helped ourselves to. But following doing a mountain marathon we also had the full Cumbrian breakfast as well; and we were supplied with extras like fried bread and black pudding at no extra charge. They know how to please hungry runners!!

To sum up; it was a great stay, the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, great food, there were a couple of niggles with the rooms that were sorted out with minimum fuss. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillythedogsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for your reccomendation ,glad you enjoyed our facilities & the team went out of the way to make your stay enjoyable, we think its very important for our guests to relax & leave it all to us , thanks again,hope to see up north very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing