We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #64 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
northumberland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We were impressed with the quality of the food at the Keswick Lodge - good flavours and local produce. The hotel staff were helpful polite and friendly. Try the fellside lamb hot pot or the steak and ale pie - good accomodation and good value. And a good range of wines and ales.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldennis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Ian Pilcher, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it does mean a lot to us all to read such lovely comments. We try very hard to make sure our menu is seasonal and we use local produce where possible. I have passed your comments on to the chef’s and they were delighted, I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Ian Pilcher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    206
    108
    33
    28
See reviews for
85
329
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Remarkable service to accommodate us at short notice. Most staff wouldn't have bothered but the manager went out of his way to help. This is the best hotel thats located right in the centre of town. To be fair its more like a good guest house next door to a pub. Spotlessly clean room and comfortable bed. Don't be put off by the lack of parking. Anywhere in Keswick town will have a problem with parking. The websites a bit misleading. It says 3 mins walk from car park to hotel. There's a big car park just round the back less than a minute away. Ok, you have to pay from 08:30 onward but you can do that the night before so you don't have to rush the hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Ian Pilcher, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a pleasing and constructive review - it does mean a lot to the team and me to read such lovely comments. I was delighted to be able to render assistance to you and your family and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ian Pilcher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Booked Keswick Lodge on bookings.com and arrived in the afternoon to a very warm welcome. Although there is now parking nearby we were directed to some free parking by the staff which was a big help. Because of a cancellation we were up-graded to a much bigger room and after our stay in a previous hotel thought that we had died and gone to heaven.
Sampled the food at the lodge on our first night, the trout was delicious. So good in fact that we ate the same meal at the lodge during the second night of our stay. A great breakfast, nice to stay somewhere were it's recognised that not every body wants to eat the greasy full English breakfast - felt very healthy with my kippers after my dinner of trout.
As others have said a great location, very near the lake and the town, would gladly have cancelled our next hotel stay to spend another night in heaven. Thanks for a great stay.
Gillian Bell

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbelle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Ian Pilcher, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it does mean a lot to us all to read such lovely comments. I was delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Ian Pilcher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We booked this hotel for a few days of relaxation in the centre of Kewsick and this hotel could not be more convienently placed being right on the main street. The first room we were given (no1) was compact to say the least but well furnished with modern decor and lcd tv and a newly fitted bathroom. However, the window would only open a few inches and looked out onto an open space that many of the rooms backed onto but this was filthy and covered in cigarette buds and was were the generator was therefore very noisey and went on for the majority of the night and morning. In addition the problem was compounded by the fact that despite not having the heating on the room seemed to have its own nuclear reactor as the temperature in the room was unbearable and made for a terrible nights sleep. Finally, for this room, the carpet was very dirty and had not hoovered for a while. Despite this the breakfast the next morning was very good and the service excellent with very helpful and friendly staff. Following breakfast we mentioned the room to reception to be informed us 'that room would be hot and we know all about it as a used to be a store room!' However, the helpful staff did say they would change us into a better room (no11) and move your bags while we went for a walk. However, on our return the bags had not been moved and i had to get a cleaner to give me assess back into the old room and move the bags myself. Also, the room was even smaller then the old store room and the bathroom so small that it was difficult of sit on the toilet due to the cramped area. Again the carpet was dirty and the room noisey due to it backing onto the generator again!. (i did pass another room getting cleaned and this appeared much larger so try to get one of these!). Despite all this i was still not that concerned until after relaxing in our room there was a noise at the door and it flew open as a equally surprised guest looked very angry. She had been given a room key and told she was in our room! Ok mistakes happen so i'll let that one slide as well, however, ten minutes later and still luckily not getting ready for the evening! the door AGAIN flew open and a surprised member of staff walked in and suddenly apologised saying he didn't thing anyone was in the room! this is despite him being the one who changed our room over!!!!! needless to say one was slightly annoyed at this..... I asked to staff member to get me the manager, turns out it was him, and i invited him in for a chat with him about it!! fair dues again as he refunded one night's stay and offered us a free drink but surely any member of staff should be more careful and at least knock before entering a room.......Rest of the stay was okay despite again not getting much sleep due to the noisey generator and the bed which was uncomfortable and only one pillow each.... On checkout the pleasant staff again apoligised but tried to offer an excuse which was not wise! hope this helps any vistor if you do book make sure you get one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick-Lodge, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Many thanks for your feedback, and may I once again apologise most sincerely for the issues encountered during your recent stay. I can assure you that they were most out of the ordinary, and trust that the gesture made in recognition of this upon departure, met with your approval. We have since reviewed our key issues processes to ensure that this type of thing cannot happen again. I very much hope that this will not deter you from visiting Keswick Lodge in the future, and if you were to consider us, then please contact me directly and I will ensure that you are looked after superbly.

Ian Pilcher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Just got back from a lovely time at keswick lodge. When I booked it i was pleased to here it was dog friendly and only £10 for a dog. We took along our german shepherd who was made to feel very welcome. The rooms were lovely and well stocked for tea coffee etc. The food and beers were very good and the breakfasts were excellent. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and we shall definitely stop here again. The location of the hotel is excellent you are straight in the town centre for a ll the shops and only a five to ten minute walk to derwent water. Excellent place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick-Lodge, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Keswick, and thank you for leaving us a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ian Pilcher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bootle
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Stayed here on valentines weekend and really enjoyed our stay, the food and service we recieved were great. We ate in the bar on saturday evening and once we had managed to get a table (as it was very busy) we enjoyed the sharing platter that was off the specials board. Both myself and my partner thought the friendly banter between the two managers that were on duty behind the bar and the locals was great and helped to make a really good atmosphere.

The kewick lodge is in a great location just at the end of Keswick high street the only downside to the place is the room we were in was a little on the small size and they do not have a car park.
This can make parking quite expensive if you are staying for a few days in the pay and display car park, however the landlord turned this into a postivtive by directing us to some free parking which was about five minutes walk away.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away for the weekend and it is in a great location and the rooms and service are of a very good standard. My partner thought the rose on the pillow when we arrived was a really nice touch.

We will certainly be returning to the Keswick Lodge in the furture and telling friends and family about it too.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouselassBootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick-Lodge, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it does mean a lot to us all to read such lovely comments. I was delighted to learn that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Ian Pilcher,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N E England
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I booked this hotel as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations so we could visit the theatre in Keswick. I booked the room online a month in advance. We arrived at 5pm after a winter ascent of Helvellyn to be given a room with no bath. If that wasn't bad enough we were then told that every other room in the hotel was occupied by a private party which meant (a) we couldn't change rooms (b) the bar would be open until the private party all went to bed (3am) and (c) we couldn't avail ourselves of the late bar as we were not part of the private party!!! The bar was directly under our bedroom - what kind of host puts the only 'outsiders' directly above a party they can't attend?On checking out the owner never met our eyes or asked if we enjoyed our stay - I wonder why? He just printed our bill and slid it over the counter saying 'Your bill' when we handed over the cash he said thanks and turned back to what he was doing on the computer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesloverNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick-Lodge, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
I am so sorry that you did enjoy your stay with us, and especially so as it was a celebration for you. Thank you for your comment about the en suite facilities being shower only. Most of our rooms do have great power showers, but just 4 have baths as well. I will make sure that this is made clear on the website and confirmations so that future guests are aware of the en suite facilities before they arrive. We should also have communicated to you about the large party in the hotel for the evening, and the implications of this - again, I will ensure that should this type of situation occur again in the future it is handled with more consideration by the team.

Although we cannot turn the clock back for you, I see you are a regular visitor to the Lakes and would ask that next time you plan to visit Keswick you get in touch with me personally and I will ensure that we redeem ourselves.

Ian Pilcher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
688 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#55 of 175 in Keswick
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing