We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Least enjoyable of our 2 week holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #68 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2010

After an informative welcome from Lee, we went to have a relaxing drink in the bar after many hours of travelling. We had been looking forward to visiting Keswick as part of our visit (along with the other 8 locations we took in) and felt very flat and uncomfortable when met by the hostile and uncomfortable attitude of the person behind the bar. Smiling and enquiring as to the type of drinks they had on offer that we were looking forward to enjoying we were met with a stoney response and a vacant stare. As we walked away I said to my partner I found it to be unfriendly to which the reply coming from behind me was confrontational. We stood in the bar area but felt very uncomfortable and decided to leave and drive around the surrounding area for the rest of the day, the last thing we were expecting to do. We then had dinner in a nearby Italian restaurant and let ourselves in by a side door so as not to see anybody. There was also the question of a previous occupants underwear found to have been left in one of the "drawers". We dealt with this in a humerous way and deposited them back to the reception area. The room was relatively small and window did not open due to it being a lowfitting sash so was barred across, I wouldn't want to be there in the height of summer. We had problems with the TV but didn't mention it until we left, and I'm sure it would have been sorted earlier had we wanted to spend anytime there! On leaving I brought all of the things written here to the attention of a gentleman who was very genuinely concerned. We stayed in many other locations of different standards and prices and this was by far the worse. More expensive with less attention to detail, a pub with rooms overhyped and overpriced

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thwaitesinns, Ian Pilcher - General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

I’d like to offer my sincere apologies for what was obviously a below par stay. Your experience was certainly not up to our usual standards & it goes without saying that I will be reviewing your feedback with the team. It is difficult for me to turn back the clock, but should you consider using us in the future, then please contact me personally, and I will be happy to make a more tangible gesture as well as ensuring that you are looked after superbly.

Kind regards,
Ian Pilcher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

I am a fairly regular visitor to Cumbria and have visited the Keswick Lodge a few times in the past though only for dining and not staying.

As i was again visiting Cumbria, I decided to check out the accommodation at the Keswick lodge and booked a room using the on line facility.

Having arrived we were booked into one of the top floor rooms overlooking the square. First impressions of the room were good. Although not overly large,it was reasonably sized and it was clear that a great deal of thought had been put into designing the room layout so that all space could be maximised. The decor was modern with ceiling spots,pleasant colours and bedding (extra pillows would be nice !), a small wardrobe,a full length mirror and window seat. The bathroom was nicely fitted with a shower cubicle, a heated towel rail,good lighting and tiling. The washbasin had an unfortunate crack in it but no doubt this will be replaced at some stage. The bathroom also had an intelligent extractor fan which only operated when needed i.e variable speed to extract moisture/steam and was quiet in operation.None of the rattling and clanking which is so often a feature of bathroom fans ! There was a plentiful supply of hot water. There was an LCD tv ,pleasant lighting ,hair dryer and tea/coffee/biscuits tray. All in all,a nice ,cosy and comfortable room.

The other good plus points for me at this establishment are the very good selection of good quality food,the real ale selection (non of your fizzy pop here!),and last but not least,the very efficient,pleasant and attentive staff in the dining room.

Breakfast-excellent again. Good quality,plentiful,well cooked and efficient service once again.

Apparently free wifi is available in public areas..

All in all, a very good stay with no niggles of any great consequence.

Readers should note that this establishment,like many others in busy Keswick,doesn't have parking facilities. There are a few large car parks only a short walk away. The car parks are chargeable except that no charge is levied for the period from 1830-0830. Therefore any parking time which brings you past 1830 is automatically added to the next day from 0830. Check your ticket when you buy !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Ian Pilcher - General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Keswick Lodge, it means a lot to the team to see your very positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the service and hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards,
Ian Pilcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed in the Keswick Lodge for a weekend and it was superb. The location was central with easy access to town and parking, the accommodation was great, clean and modern. We ate in the hotel both nights and would recommend it to anyone after a day on the hills. The staff were warm and friendly and could not do enough for us. We will definately be going back in the near future when there is a sprinkling of the white stuff on the hills. Great hotel, great staff, great stay... thanks

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris031263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thwaitesinns, Ian Pilcher - General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is very rewarding to know that we have given our guests a great stay. I have passed on your comments to all the staff and they were delighted.

I am pleased that you had such a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge in the not too distant future. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind regards,

Ian Pilcher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We were looking for a hotel to use as a base for an anniversary visit to the Theatre By The Lake (and the odd walk or two), and the Keswick Lodge fitted us perfectly. Right in the middle of town, an easy walk from everywhere flat, and a stiffer walk from anything up a hill. There's a long stay car park a few minutes away where we let the Astra have a rest (you can get quite close for loading and unloading, if you try) while we got some exercise.

Service was fine, the room was clean and comfortable (and stocked with a couple of Wainwrights for browsing) and breakfast was hearty. Certainly kept us going as far as Skiddaw Lesser Man and lunchtime pasties. While Keswick is great for dinner choices, make sure you dine in the pub at least once - having built up an appetite first!

We'll be back next year - a recommended place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thwaitesinns, Ian Pilcher, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it does mean a lot to us all to read such lovely comments. I was delighted to learn that you both enjoyed your recent stay, especially as it was such an important occasion. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ian Pilcher, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Having stayed at the amazing 'Howe Keld' B&B we decided to stay an extra night in Keswick, and as they were fully booked, decided to book into the Keswick Lodge. The hotel is centrally located in this beautiful town and has a nice atmosphere in the bar and lounge area. But it really does not deserve 4 AA stars. The management seems disinterested, the rooms are pretty basic (although clean) and the breakfast (served on a greasy bar table) average. And it was the same price as the fantastic B&B. No contest!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thwaitesinns, Ian Pilcher - General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Many thanks for your feedback, and I am genuinely sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. As a 4 star Inn, we like to pride ourselves on our levels of hospitality and service, and would always strive to deliver value for money. Perhaps next time you are considering visiting Keswick, you might call me personally, and I will endeavor to restore a little faith.

Ian Pilcher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We were impressed with the quality of the food at the Keswick Lodge - good flavours and local produce. The hotel staff were helpful polite and friendly. Try the fellside lamb hot pot or the steak and ale pie - good accomodation and good value. And a good range of wines and ales.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldennis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Ian Pilcher, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it does mean a lot to us all to read such lovely comments. We try very hard to make sure our menu is seasonal and we use local produce where possible. I have passed your comments on to the chef’s and they were delighted, I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Ian Pilcher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Remarkable service to accommodate us at short notice. Most staff wouldn't have bothered but the manager went out of his way to help. This is the best hotel thats located right in the centre of town. To be fair its more like a good guest house next door to a pub. Spotlessly clean room and comfortable bed. Don't be put off by the lack of parking. Anywhere in Keswick town will have a problem with parking. The websites a bit misleading. It says 3 mins walk from car park to hotel. There's a big car park just round the back less than a minute away. Ok, you have to pay from 08:30 onward but you can do that the night before so you don't have to rush the hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Ian Pilcher, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a pleasing and constructive review - it does mean a lot to the team and me to read such lovely comments. I was delighted to be able to render assistance to you and your family and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ian Pilcher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
5.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing