We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acorn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quick getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Last minuite booking, the room was very clean at all times. All be it a bit small due to the large furniture that is a bit dated.
The mattress was very comfy and of a high quality, the bathroom was just big enough clean but then again dated. The breakfast was good quality food and enough of it !!
Location is good only 5 minuites from the market square, just needs a bit bit modernisation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just spent two night s at Acorn House. Chris was very welcoming when we arrived early morning and we could register and use our room early. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. We would definitely recommend Acorn to our family and friends and will use it again on future visits.

Room Tip: Steep stairs up to room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just spent another two days at the Acorn and everyting still as it should be. The place is run to a high standard and Chris and his team should be congratulated on maintaining its high service even when Graham and Janet were on holiday. Not an easy feat. Stayed in Room 2 this time. Shower and decor excellent. Roll on New Years Eve.

Room Tip: Parking not a problem with its own off street car park and a residents lounge with coal fire when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digitraisedwhenasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2227
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here,only one night but was exactly what we needed after a fairly hectic family weekend.Very clean and comfortable,a good sleep and excellent breakfast. The host was very efficient and welcoming. The house is in the precincts of the parish church so some interesting buildings nearby.We found a traditional movie theatre only a 5/10 minute walk away so spent a rainy evening at the movies afterexcellent dinner at the George. Easy walking district to the town centre.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms,the one we had was very comfortable,felt very private in this big sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

When does a B&B become a hotel? Having stayed in good small family B&Bs this was a shock - basically a small hotel so not sure where the line is drawn. The room was OK if a little small, the breakfast OK (but not as good as other B&Bs we have stayed in). All in all pretty average - maybe we were spoiled by the last 2 places we stayed in.
Quite close to town which was good as the weather was poor

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAusDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIPON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Beautifully clean, furnished in a cosy old fashioned style. Comfortable bed, nice powefull shower, spotless bathroom. Breakfast service worked like a well oiled machine. Perfectly cooked to order, nice variety of cereals and the loveliest fruit salad I've ever had. Off street car parking. What more could you want?! Also check out The George for great ale and excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naestved, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This small b and b hotel with 10 rooms is nice, cozy, quiet, has good breakfast. But no aircon in the rooms. Free parking behind the building. Al in all: Good value for the money. Wonderful area for walks. Will come again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank preben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#8 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#46 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#64 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#68 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#60 of 176 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House Hotel

Property: Acorn House Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Keswick
Acorn House Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing