We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Herdwick Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$323
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$248
US$240
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
86
17
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
17
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreeaster cakepubs eateriesfor more than one nightb bsingle roomlovely biscuitsnice weekendcooked breakfastwater pressurestreet parkinglocal areathe location is perfectenjoyed our staycomfortable bedporridgeon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Received a warm ŵelcome from the friendly owners.
Lovely decorated room, quiet, good thick curtains kept out any light when asleep. Key provided for your stay, so come in and out anytime during the day. Breakfast was top class and a great range of provisions from full English breakfast and cereals, juice, fruit, toast etc, etc.
We fully recommend Lakemere guest house and if we come back to Keswick, Lakemere would be included in our agenda.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adruralo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Few mionutes walk from town centre, room was lovely and clean, did need to be redecorated but that was a very small minor.
Our bed was very comfortable and breakfast was lovely.
Dawn was a perfect host and we could of not asked for anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missfussy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Spent just one night, but was made to feel very welcome. Definately a home from home. Room was lovely - modern, clean and comfy with en suit, and was certainly as good as more expensive guest houses Ive stayed in before. Situated close to the town but in a quiet side street, not overlooked and ideally situated for for everything in keswick. Breakfast was fantastic and I really would stay here again. Thanks Guys. Richard from Kent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handsomerich1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I stayed here for a winter break in Keswick with my husband and two young children. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious and comfortable. The owners were very welcoming and suggested some great places to visit, eg Puzzling Place and keswick climbing wall. Would definitely recommend to others and have booked another week stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My partner and I visited Keswick for a weekend break in November and looked at several bed & breakfast establishments on the internet before selecting the Lakemere. There were lots to choose from and we selected the Lake Mere as we liked the look of the rooms, however on arrival, we were disappointed that the photos on the website were quite deceptive. The photos gave the impression of modern, nicely decorated accommodation however in actual fact the place could do with being modernised and the decor being updated.

The propriotor however was very pleasant and gave us a map and some pointers about the town. The guest house is situated in a quiet part of town and the centre is easily accessible by foot. Keswick itself has plenty of restaurants and pubs and makes a great base for walking.

Whilst we felt a little disappointed with the standard of the rooms, the breakfasts were acceptable and on the whole we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanLouStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

The guest house is now under new management as from January 2013 and we are in the process of refurbishment. We have updated the photographs to the present standard and will keep them updated as things progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews