We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herdwick Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Herdwick Guest House
Ranked #83 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked the Herdwick at short notice as most other places in Keswick, with single rooms, were already booked up. What a great surprise. The single room is compact but clean and comfortable. It contained everything I needed for a three night stay while walking on the fells. The location is great as I was able to commence walking directly from the front door each day, so no need to move the car.

At the end of the day the Herdwick is only a short walk to the main street of Keswick, which has a plentiful supply of places to eat and/or drink. Although a regular visitor to the lakes, over the years, this is the first time I have stayed in Keswick for more than one night but will definitely be going back to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_amego5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
52
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a very friendly and relaxed place and we loved it. I took my teenager walking for 5 days and we had a great time. Herdwick Guest House is within easy short walking distance of Keswick main square and the lake. They also have some parking either outside or in their garage (and otherwise Keswick parking is expensive). We walked up the local crag from the guest house directly one day so it is a great base both locally and for the northern lakes. The breakfast was great. We slept well every night. Ben and Alex took over in January and are improving the rooms, facilities and decor. They would freely admit that all the rooms are not 'just so' as yet. They had clear plans to improve the room we slept in. But I say yet because I have no doubt that they will have that fixed in due course. We were happy nonetheless. In the meantime, I would not choose Herdwick (yet i.e. July 2013) if you want everything absolutely just so perfect in the room for an important romantic retreat. I do heartily recommend this as a very friendly, sensible and good value place. They don't do small children but were great with my teenager - even first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our first trip to the Lake District, and on this experience we'll definitely be back!

Whilst the scenery and activities are fantastic, what's also extremely important is to have a great base.

The Herdwick guest house ticked all the boxes; room was fantastic-spacious, clean and very comfortable bed. The shower was also very welcome after a day out exploring in the sun. Breakfast was delicious; choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and toast for a lighter option, and full English was yummy and tailored to your wants on a daily basis.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. It was good to be able to have a chat in the mornings; they helped us with any local info we asked for, and gave us good recommendations for our stay.

All in all, a really nice weekend and exactly what we needed! Would whole heartily recommend to anyone visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyClapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Its so much appreciated when you take the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Situated only a few minutes from town centre, Nice cosy room with en suite,mod cons,quiet part of town, excellent choice of breakfast food's with a swift service. owners always willing to give advice on the local area.well worth a second stay.

Room Tip: Any room really as always clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyman504049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We arrived for a four day stay and were welcomed by Shaun, who gave us a great low down on the local area. The guest house is a short walk to the main street, so excellent base for shopping, the lake or fells.

We stayed in room 5, it was a double room with ensuite shower. In the room there was tea and coffee with biscuits. Also, provided was an ironing board, straighteners, hairdryer, alarm clock, tv, Walking books, cotton buds and shower essentials. The rooms were cleaned daily and fResh towels provided.

Breakfast: The breakfast in a morning is served and prepared by Dawn. Huge selection of cereals on offer, fruit, juices, butters and conserve and tea/coffee. You can also have cooked breakfast and dawn is willing to accommodate any changes to regular fry up, served with toast.

I would highly recommend the Lake Mere Guest House for somewhere to stay in Keswick, friendly, helpful owners, super breakfasts and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Good value b&b in the heart of Keswick. Served as a good base for a solo hiking trip and the small single ensuite room was ideal for a former camper turned soft. Neat little room with all mod cons. Not masses of space for luggage if you don't travel light. Wifi available throughout but a bit sketchy in the single room. Dawn a lovely friendly host. An extra pint or earplugs may have blocked out the noisy neighbours returning at 1am....thanks guys...

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The room was extremely clean and smart, we were impressed. Bed was comfy and both got a great few nights sleep. We liked the added touches like cotton wool/ear buds and straighteners. Shower was spacious and reasonably powerful but took a little while to get hot. We missed the bath after a long walk but that was the only negative and i was aware there wasn't one when booking.
Breakfast was good, lots of coffee and juice.
I picked this place because the decor looked smart, modern and simple and the B&B lived up to that expectation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#55 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#98 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#96 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#41 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandon Guest House
Sandon Guest House
#100 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdwick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdwick Guest House

Property: Herdwick Guest House
Address: 13 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England (Formerly Lake Mere Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdwick Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a very friendly welcome at the Herdwick Guest House. Breakfast is served in our dining room. We are a quality Cumbria accredited accommodation situated in a quiet residential street with free unrestricted parking in the streets around. It is just a short walk to the town centre, Lake, Theatre and Parks.All rooms have ensuite facilities with towels and toiletries, hospitality trays flat screen tv wifi and alarm clocks. The guest house has been totally refurbished in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Herdwick Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdwick Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing