We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I even had my mobile phone charger fixed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herdwick Guest House
Ranked #80 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I even had my mobile phone charger fixed!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Like the previous guests, I am full of praise. I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded on my arrival and felt I had got a real bargain! Both Alex and Ben are extremely helpful and friendly and Ben even spent time mending my phone charger which had broken - not good news when on holiday! The hospitality tray was generously stocked and breakfast was a real treat. Having been spoilt for 4 days I am not looking forward to cooking my own breakfast.
The area is very quite and a couple of minutes to shops restaurants etc. Keswick is a delightful place and having come from London, I appreciated the many individual shops which characterised the town.
I would certainly recommend Herdwick Guest House

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheshaNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review of us. We are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Its always a pleasure to try and do what we can to make your stay as memorable as possible. It would be lovely to welcome you back if you have another walking holiday in the lakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was the third time we have stayed here and not the last. we have been made very welcome each time and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay each time. Exceptional Guest House, lovely rooms, A treat to wake up to a good hearty breakfast, We found Alex and Ben a lovely friendly couple with a very good local knowledge of the area, and nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Its always lovely to welcome guests back to our home. We both look forward to your next stay wih us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What I great place to stay. Just 2 min from the Keswick town centre but in a lovely quiet road.
The house has just been redecorated so is immaculate. We had the room at the front of the house with on suite bathroom. Looking out of the bay window to the right you can see Skiddaw towering over the town. It looked spectacular as the sun set over it while we were there. The breakfast was very good and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay again and will bring the rest of the family next time.

Paul

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and we came up to your expectations. We aim to give a memorable stay with us in the lakes and lovely to hear that guests would like to come back and tell their friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A warm welcome on arrival,very clean, comfortable room with thoughtful little extras. Excellent breakfast with friendly suggestions and advice on things to do. Really pleased to have found this on a last minute search.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you decided to stay with us and we came up to your expectations. We do hope you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

What a Lovely B&B in the centre of Keswick; a pleasant find.
Found the B&B to be clean and homely.
The owners where proud of their establishment and friendly.
We enjoyed a very relaxing and comfortable 2 night stay here in April and would certainly like to return.
An enjoyable full English Breakfast was included.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Criccieth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed at The Herdwick for two nights with my husband. The owners were very welcoming, offering to help with suggestions for days out.

The room was very clean and comfortable, with a well stocked hospitality tray.

Breakfast was very enjoyable, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

stayed at the herdwick for two nights 18th 19th of march
alex and ben are a lovely and friendly couple always ready for friendly chat at breakfast time or anytime you meet them full of info about the lake district things to do places to go
we stayed in room 3 {the herdwick} room was spotless beds nice and comfortable en suite spotless nice hot shower room was always nice and warm when you came in
breakfast ordered the night before was excellent always fresh and eggs done the way you want them help yourself to fresh juice cereal grapefruit etc etc fills you up for best part of the day
keswick town centre is a short 5mins walk away for pubs and places to eat
would have no problems recommending a stay at the herdwick to any one
would we go back YES first place we would try to book
thanks again alex and ben for lovely stay
richie and anne

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. So glad everything came up to your expectations. We both look forward to you coming back to stay with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#50 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#99 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandon Guest House
Sandon Guest House
#95 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#47 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#92 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#85 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdwick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdwick Guest House

Property: Herdwick Guest House
Address: 13 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England (Formerly Lake Mere Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdwick Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a very friendly welcome at the Herdwick Guest House. Breakfast is served in our dining room. We are a quality Cumbria accredited accommodation situated in a quiet residential street with free unrestricted parking in the streets around. It is just a short walk to the town centre, Lake, Theatre and Parks.All rooms have ensuite facilities with towels and toiletries, hospitality trays flat screen tv wifi and alarm clocks. The guest house has been totally refurbished in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Herdwick Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdwick Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing