We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Stay June 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herdwick Guest House
Ranked #76 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short Stay June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have used this guest house a number of times over the years. Recent decoration has given the rooms a fresh look and feel. Alex has a very friendly and welcoming manner with all her guests.Ideally situated being 5 minutes form the town center and 15 minutes walk to the lake. Breakfasts always very nice and filling. Highly recommend this guest house

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights mid June as a couple, Hosts very friendly and informative. Rooms very clean with regular top ups of tea & coffee etc. Breakfast had good choice of cereals etc plus cooked meal of choice each day. Location was perfect, only 5 min walk to Lake, 5 min to Town centre and close to walks etc, didn't use car at all for first 3 days.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in mid-June. It's a lovely place, and we highly recommend it. The location is excellent, the rooms are clean and welcoming, the hosts were kind and friendly. Their breakfast was the best we had during our whole two week stay in the UK. After a day of hiking on the fells, we really enjoyed the hot shower and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokoloshgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

First visit time to the Lake District and was so lucky to have stayed at the Herdwick.
Perfect location, spotlessly clean, great freshly cooked breakfast and helpful/knowledgeable hosts.
We will definitely return to the Herdwick when visiting the lakes if just to experience the sumptuous feather duvet which was like sleeping in a bed of marshmallows (So comfortable after long days walking):-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wulf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Having been refurbished we made sure that the beds were a priority when it comes to comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

guest house easy walk/ accessible to dining and entertainment. lovely breakfasts catering for all diets. lovely hosts who are helpful and knowledgeable of local interests and walks. comfortable rooms, very clean and offering all usual inclusions.
the only parking is on the street which can be difficult to secure.

Room Tip: we had a room at the top overlooking the street. very quiet street so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help you with local details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really enjoyed our time here, this is an ideal base camp if your going to to Keswick on a walking or activity holiday. Our room was a little bright first thing, probably need thicker curtains/blinds that side of the property. The breakfast was first class as was service and attention to detail by Alex. We'll stay again the next time we're in Keswick. many thanks. PS don't take this a a green light to leave things behind, but Alex is sending back a charger we [the wife] left behind too. thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. We always try to improve on what we have so positive comments like yours are appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Herdwick is very well located to wander and access all the town has to offer. The hosts were very pleasant,the room was spacious and it was relatively easy to find on street parking close to the house

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chesneyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#55 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#98 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandon Guest House
Sandon Guest House
#100 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#45 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#91 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#85 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdwick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdwick Guest House

Property: Herdwick Guest House
Address: 13 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England (Formerly Lake Mere Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdwick Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a very friendly welcome at the Herdwick Guest House. Breakfast is served in our dining room. We are a quality Cumbria accredited accommodation situated in a quiet residential street with free unrestricted parking in the streets around. It is just a short walk to the town centre, Lake, Theatre and Parks.All rooms have ensuite facilities with towels and toiletries, hospitality trays flat screen tv wifi and alarm clocks. The guest house has been totally refurbished in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Herdwick Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdwick Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing