We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deb and Ian”
Review of Brookfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookfield B&B
Ranked #17 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deb and Ian”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

just back from 3nights at Brookfield with friends and 2 dogs. Ronnie is an excellent host and provides a fab breakfast. The b&b is spotlessly clean and Ronnie is very welcoming and makes you feel very much at home. A 15min walk into town with dog friendly pubs and good walks near by. Would definatley recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    66
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
167
330
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Brookfield was just what we needed, we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Excellent choice and hearty breakfasts to get us going for the day (excellent boiled eggs & soilders!!) and tasty packed lunches for those long walks in the clouds.

Cosy room - was fairly small - but warm, clean and the perfect size for us to snuggle down in after long walks, with beautiful views to wake up too.

Ronnie was the perfect host - very knowledgeable and helpful with local facts and things to do.

We will probably come back to stay next time we visit - cant recommend better than that!
Even though the walk into town seemed like a trek it only took 10-15 mins and was actually welcomed after a trip to the George Hotel for Cow Pie! Especially along the disused railway track.

Room Tip: Room 3 - was indeed cosy, but had brilliant views and perfect for a couple sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freyajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We recently stayed at Brookfield and found Ronnie very welcoming and helpful in advising us where to eat and visit. Our rooms were comfortable and clean and obviously a lot of thought and detail had been given to the contents of each room. We had a good choice of menu for breakfast and everything was cooked and presented to a high standard.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Brookfield for several days while visiting the Lake District and could not have been happier with our stay. Ronnie was friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the area, including all about the best shops and restaurants, most beautiful walks, the best route to different villages, Keswick market times - the sort of local knowledge that that goes beyond the guidebook, so to speak. Our room was charming, spotless and comfortable with free WiFi, free biscuits and tea, and a decent sized bathroom... and a beautiful view of the fells! Like a painting of autumn colours out our window. We even saw a rainbow arcing across the sky one morning.

The breakfasts are delicious and well proportioned with plenty of choice - my husband especially enjoyed the kippers! It's a short walk to town, but not so close that there is any noise at night. The Castlerigg Stone Circle is just up the hill. But the best thing about Brookfield though is definitely Ronnie himself, who will definitely make you feel like a welcome guest to the Lake District. And the prices aren't bad either! Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this b&b, Ronnie had been very friendly and helpful throughout our stays.
Ronnie is a great host who makes you feel very welcome, he also makes lovely breakfast.
The b&b is close to kiswick town centre, and Ronnie would give loads of local information on attractions and restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babybabygirlAKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yearby
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Two night stay at the beginning of October. Nice Room (Room 2) which was very clean. Excellent breakfast and nice to be able to choose what you have (always a bonus with fussy young children). Ronnie very helpful but not too pushy with information - nice walk along the railway lines into town via the park (which the kids loved). I am sure we will be returning in future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just had a 3 night stay at Brookfield B&B. We are a family of 4 and stayed in room 4 - a family room - which was spacious enough for us all. The room was very clean and tidy and instantly felt cosy and homely. Upon arrival, my 9yr old daughter who has special needs and a very recent, inexplicable fear of dogs, became very agitated upon hearing the barking of dogs belonging to other guests. This was an unexpected start to our stay but I would like to commend both Ronnie for being professional and welcoming nonetheless and wearing a smile on his face at all times (despite being a bit bemused!) and also to Danni and Chris (?) (fellow guests with their lovely baby Blake) for being so thoughtless and removing their dogs from the dining room. Such kindness and thoughtfulness was very much appreciated. Not easy to reason with a young child with disabilities .........
Obviously upon reflection we should not have booked a dog-friendly guest house; but this is a recent fear so couldn't plan for this!
The breakfasts were delicious - freshly cooked to order and looked 'perfect' on the plate. My Son is wondering why my breakfasts don't look as good as that! My Brother, Sister-in-law and 2 gorgeous Nieces joined us for 2 days at Ronnie's guest house and also loved their room (number 2) and the breakfasts. All in all, a big hit with children and adults alike and we would all thoroughly recommend.
Carry on Ronnie with what you are doing. By reading all the great reviews, it's clear you certainly have the magic touch :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
538 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield B&B

Property: Brookfield B&B
Address: Brookfield Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival you will be served with tea or coffee and biscuits in the dining room, All rooms are ensuite, individually decorated and are serviced daily. They all have showers, tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV's. and FREE WI-FI. Children welcome, Full English Breakfast is inclusive, with available vegetarian alternatives. We are inspected annually by Enjoy England, Cumbria Tourism and Keswick Tourism. receiving 4 stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Brookfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing