We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“people and dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookfield B&B
Ranked #17 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“people and dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just spent an excellent long weekend at the Brookfield B&B in Keswick. Ronnie was a great host and met us with tea and biscuits when we arrived. He also had a dog bicuit for Pedro our Jack Russell cross.
The room was very clean and had a wonderful view from the window. Tha shower was spotless and fresh towels provided everyday. A good thing was the soft closing toilet seats!
Tea and coffee facilities were provided as well.
Ronnie had plenty of info for walkers and told us of a nice walk into Keswick along the disused railway, which is part of the coast to coast route.
The hotel is dog friendly, the only rule being that you couldn't leave the dog alone in the room,
which is fair enough. (Well behaved dogs were OK to leave while having breakfast though).
The breakfast was excellent too, with a good choice. Full English, kippers and poached egg, scrambled egg on toast, soft boiled eggs and soldiers and more.
The hotel is about a mile into town which is a nice pleasant walk and kept Pedro happy. Most pubs in the centre are dog friendly and I can recommend the Dog and Gun for its goulash and the Royal Oak for a special occasion.
We had a great time in Keswick and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adoMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    65
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
167
328
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Ronnie, our host, was extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable and good value for money. He provided an excellent breakfast. The location was perfect with being able to walk everywhere. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks Ronnie

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayvallich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ronnie gives everyone a friendly warm welcome and could not do more to ensure your stay is everything you want it to be. The whole house is immaculate and if there is anything that is not provided in the room, Ronnie will make sure you know where to get it. His local knowledge of walks, drives, places to visit and to eat is fantastic and nothing ever seems to be a problem for him. Breakfast was amazing and they also provide a packed lunch if needed. Brookfield is close enough to the town centre to be able to walk there and there are nice dog friendly walks close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We Stayed at Brookfield Guest house for 3 nights with our two dogs. Ronnie was so welcoming on our arrival and made us feel relaxed straight away. The rooms are very spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and certainly set you up for the days walking. Ronnie made us both a packed lunch at a minimal charge, they contained sandwiches, fruit, snacks, yogurts and a drink (definitely value for money). Ronnie is so knowledgeable about the area and is always on hand to offer help and directions even making up little maps for the walks. The B & B is located well and only takes 10 minutes to walk into the town centre, very handy to try out the dog friendly pubs. We will definitely be going back with the dogs and recommend anybody to stay in Brookfield Guest House Keswick. Thanks Ronnie for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as a birthday get away and wanted somewhere to take our 5 1/2 month old border terrier 'Pepper'. This B&B was just lovely. You can't tell it's a dog-friendly B&B on first impressions, no whiff of wet dog whatsoever. Ronnie greeted us with a cup of coffee, biscuits for us and the dog! He also gave us a guide on some of the walks around Keswick, dog friendly pubs and best places to eat. Breakfast was delicious, the dog has to stay in your room whilst you eat or you can do a 'relay breakfast'. We absolutely loved it and were so sad to leave. We will definitely be back. Rooms were clean, beautiful & comfortable with the added extra of some nice biscuits for your cuppa :-) Pepper certainly enjoyed her stay too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my large dog were made to feel very welcome in this cosy B&B. Ronnie was really friendly and gave me good info on local walks and dog friendly pubs (which we subsequently visited). Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Extra dog-friendly touches included dog food mat, towels and doggie poop bags at the door! Thanks Ronnie, it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first time to the Lakes in Keswick & taking our Dog with us. Ronnie was so welcoming on our arrival & made us feel at home straight away & even made us feel comfortable with our dog & biscuits for her on arrival!, its lovely to be in such a Dog friendly place such as Keswick! We were so surprised by it! Ronnie was so helpful with giving us advice & map directions around all the lakes, we couldn't of asked for anything or anyone better! The bed was the comfiest bed we've slept in ages, better then our own & we've even changed our pillows at home! It was so good to get a great night sleep after all the beautiful walks & exhilarating days we had. The Breakfast wouldn't leave you disappointed & it we looked forward to it every morning & it was great to have a choice of what to choose from. We would defiantly recommended Brookfield to everyone & anyone & we will definitely be back ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#15 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield B&B

Property: Brookfield B&B
Address: Brookfield Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival you will be served with tea or coffee and biscuits in the dining room, All rooms are ensuite, individually decorated and are serviced daily. They all have showers, tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV's. and FREE WI-FI. Children welcome, Full English Breakfast is inclusive, with available vegetarian alternatives. We are inspected annually by Enjoy England, Cumbria Tourism and Keswick Tourism. receiving 4 stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brookfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing