We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Amble House”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #80 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our first visit to Amble House will not be our last as we could not fault anything about this B&B,the location of the property, the room was well equipped and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was fantastic and our hosts were so friendly and helpfull we felt as if we had known them for years, we are looking forward to our next visit to Keswick as we already know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thankyou so much Allison for your really kind words and for taking the time to let others know about your stay here at Amble House. It was certainly a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have recently returned from our third visit to Amble House and our comments will only echo previous glowing reviews. Just a few minutes stroll from Keswick town centre, this impeccable B&B provides very comfortable accommodation in extremely well equipped rooms where the highest standards of cleanliness are maintained. Breakfasts are excellent, beautifully cooked, and offering ample choice for all tastes and appetites. Judy and Richard are welcoming and friendly hosts, eager to share their extensive knowledge of the area to assist their guests in making the most of their stay.It is not surprising that many return-and certainly Amble House has not seen the last of us!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank edandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

How kind of you to take time to post a review! It was lovely to see you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us again. Its gratifying to hear that we are getting things right with regard to our guests' comfort and enjoyment. Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts each morning and the weather was kind enough to allow you to walk some of it off!!
The reviews are so helpful to us in keeping standards high and meeting our guests' expectations. Richard and I look forward to seeing you both again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at Amble House for a long weekend in early May 2011, having stayed there twice before. The welcome, standards and friendly service is a true delight and many 5* hotels, that we have experience of, could learn from Judy and Richard a little about customer service and going that extra mile to make a guest feel so welcome. Have recommended them to several friends; just hope they don,t get too booked up as we will want to stay again, when we next visit the lakes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thankyou! Its really great when people are kind enough to take time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying here with us again - its always a pleasure to have guests return to us time and again and we look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed three nights at Amble House and didn't want to leave. Richard and Judy made us feel at home the whole time. We felt a special connection because they had been to Arizona several times and loved it. Each morning we enjoyed Richards great service and Judy's awesome cooking. I loved Judy's granola and full English breakfasts. Richard and Judy came out and chatted with us after breakfast each morning. They gave us great advice on drives, hikes and restaurants for dinner which all turned out very well. The restaurants and shops are a short walk, as is the lake. The room was cozy, but extremely efficient. We were not lacking for anything. We would stay there again next time we visit.

Room Tip: Our room was a king suite with a window overlooking the street. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BART E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thankyou for your really kind comments. It was certainly a pleasure to meet you both and to receive your invitation to visit with you on our next trip to Arizona! What great weather you had whilst you were here and your early morning runs around the lake [9 miles!] overawed us both! So very pleased you felt at home here and we would love to see you both again any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

John and Alison Farrington

We booked this accomodation just 1 day before we arrived, the comments found on Trip advisor and the friendly voice over the phone when we enquired made for a promising start.

Richard and Judy are loverly people to meet they make you feel that you have known then for a long time as friends, nothing is to much trouble. The room we stayed in was lovely and homely and well equiped with everything you needed. The breakfast was the BEST we've had so far from Salmon and scrambled egg to full english monty - bacon and Cumberland sausage to die for!! ... and of course lovely fresh fruit mix.

The accomodation is only about 10 mins walk from the town centre of Keswick which is a lovely town with ample shops (certainly for buying the full walking gear if needed) and restaurants and pubs (good choice of Jennings beers if you like good ales). the choice of eating out is very good with anything from basic pub food from only £4 a meal to superb restuarant food including the famous COW PIE! Italian, Indian and Chinese.

Richard and Judy have a great knowledge of the area and are very helpful in offering suggestions of where to go and some of the best walks.

Both me and Alison cannot recommend this highly enough and would suggest that the AA should consider increasing their star rating from 4 to 5. We will definetly be going back there hopefully very soon.

John and Alison Farrington

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datadezign1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Well it was great to meet you two aswell! Richard and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thankyou so much for the 5* accolade! We are always so happy to help our guests in any way we can and recommending good walks and great eating places [and there are one or two!] is always a pleasure. You both did really well in kitting yourselves out for some serious walking so we hope we are going to see a lot of you as there are a great many mountains for you to conquer! Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We spent the August Bank holiday weekend at Amble House and our stay was fantastic, we cannot recommend this accomodation more highly. Amble House is very conveniently located and just a very short walk from Keswick High Road that offers a very good selection of interesting pubs/restaurants/shops and is close enough to easily walk to but a nice distance away to escape from .

Apart from our walk up Scafell Pike we found that we parked and left our car during our stay as there is a lot on offer on your doorstep including many nice and varied walks. Our hosts Richard and Judy could not have been more attentive during our stay and offered some very good advice/maps/guides for the walks that we did, we are novices so this was very helpful. The establishment is spotlessly clean and Judy's breakfasts are to die for, nothing is too much trouble and the selection on offer very extensive, full English/smoked salmon and scrambled egg/cereals etc.........

Amble House is maintained to an exceptional standard and it is quite apparent that Richard is very handy and works very hard on keeping everything in tip top condition.

All in all we had a really nice time and thank you Richard and Judy for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Oh! Thankyou so much for your glowing review - it is so very much appreciated. Richard and I are so pleased you came on a recommendation and really enjoyed yourselves. We were amazed at the amount of walking you managed to cram in and some of the high stuff too!! Well done to both of you! We hope you will continue to visit the Lake District and enjoy its all encompassing beauty and splendour - even in the rain! Thankyou for your really kind remarks about the house and breakfasts - we are so happy that you found everything to your satisafaction. Hopefully we will see you both again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I have just got back from a lovely 2 night stay at Amble House in Keswick. We had a really relaxing time. Amble House is lovely, it is amazingly clean both the main house and the room. The breakfast was wonderful and Richard and Judy the owners could not have been nicer. We will be coming back again

Mr and Mrs Leathem (Manchester)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leathej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thankyou for taking the time to let other travellers know that you enjoyed your short break here with us at Amble House. We really appreciate the time taken to write a review and thats why we try to respond. Thankyou for commenting on the cleanliness of the house and room. Its really important to us that we offer accommodation of an Excellent standard not only with regard to the cleanliness but also the quality of foods offered, which are locally sourced where possible, but also the friendliness and all round hospitality! Richard and I really enjoy meeting people and want them to feel welcome and comfortable! Thankyou once again - we look forward to seeing you both agsin in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
778 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing