We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #82 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We love Keswick & we love staying at Amble House been lots of times over last six years wouldn't stay anywhere else. Judy & Richard are perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble the rooms are very well equipped & spotless with lots of nice little touches like chocs on the pillows & biscuits on the tea tray also toiletries in the bathroom not to mention the big white fluffy towels. whatever you like for breakfast you'll find it here all delicious i love judy's home made granola, jam & marmalade. if full english is your thing i dare you to have the lot it's huge all well cooked & fresh local produce where possible. The location we think is just right a short walk into town so not noisy when you sleep. There isn't anything i don't like about Amble House it's perfect for a stay in the lake district we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 &3 are larger so bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_tonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Hello Selby!! Thankyou so much for writing this review and saying such lovely things!! It is always such a pleasure to see you both knowing that you feel at home and enjoy everything we have to offer. Is it really six years you've been coming to Keswick and staying here? We know you love the town and area and always enjoy your days of walking - reasonable weather this time too! Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

It was our first visit to Amble House, but it certainly won't be our last.
Excellent hosts, excellent room and excellent food.Great touch with the fresh milk brought to the room.
We had a great couple of nights, slept great, very quiet.
Plenty of parking on the street outside.
Telling all of our friends about you.!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Wow! What a great review! Thankyou so much for your feedback! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for telling your friends about us - it would be lovely to welcome them here to Amble House if they should decide to visit Keswick. Rich and I look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Amble House. Everything went brilliantly smoothly; good communication prior to visit, warm welcome, spotless and tastefully decorated room with complementary tea, coffee, biscuits and sweets, delicious breakfasts with an incredible range of food on offer, and flexibility to come and go whenever convenient. The hosts were happy to go out of their way to help and effort had clearly been made to ensure food and drink were locally produced or fair trade where possible. The room and ensuite were cosy, but this was in part due to the set up of twin beds in what is usually a double room, and there was plenty of storage space. Apart from this, difficult to criticise and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Richard and I are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay here at Amble House. Thankyou for your review and for the time taken to write it. We are grateful for the kind comments you made regarding all the breakfast selection we offer and our use of local produce and Fairtrade products. We know you enjoyed the Christian Convention and all that Keswick had to offer during your time here and look forward to seeing you both again when you next visit Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Sorry for delay in writing review but as we talked about I've been away on business. Just wanted to thank you both for your wonderful hospitality dureing our recent stay. I'm still missing the breakfasts. Rooms although on the smaller side of what i'm used to are extremely well equiped, and would have no hesitation in recommending amble house ot anyone and not surprised you get so many repeat visitors. Hope to return sometime soon, thanks again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this review for us! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us too! It would be lovely to have you stay here again should you decide to visit Keswick again sometime. Thankyou once again for posting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Amble House. The accommodation is spotless, the rooms are gorgeous, everything you want is provided (a great selection of teas and coffees in the room and the widest selection of Fairtrade products I have seen, a brochure with all you need to know about Keswick and its attractions) and the breakfast selection was divine. We needed to stay longer to make sure we tried everything. Richard and Judy were the perfect hosts, so friendly and attentive we felt like we were staying with friends. We will definitely return.

Sally

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thankyou so much for your glowing review! Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including the breakfasts!! We want to wish you both every success in your studies and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Keswick. Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Richard and Judy offer a fantastic welcome. Great accomodation and breakfast is fab. There is so many choices you have to find many things to wet your appetite for eating.Rooms are spotless and are serviced everyday. Nothing is any trouble for Richard & Judy. Stay anywhere else in Keswick you will have missed out.

Aud Glasgow

Room Tip: You will not be dissappointed with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

What a surprise to see such a lovely review posted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the breakfasts and all that we do! We are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and everyone taking the time to do it. It was great to see you all again and look forward to the next time. Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I stayed again at Amble House this weekend. We've been visiting Richard and Judy for over 10 years. Each time we stay it confirms that Amble House must be the best B&B in the country. Our stay this week-end confirmed it again - they are simply the best.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've stayed in at Amble House are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50,041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

It was really lovely to see you two again and looking so well too!! Thankyou for your really kind comments and taking time out of what we know are really hectic long days for you both to post your review. We are so please you enjoyed your short stay and look forward very much to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#84 of 189 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#41 of 189 in Keswick
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#85 of 189 in Keswick
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#90 of 189 in Keswick
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#129 of 189 in Keswick
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing