We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As everyone else says!”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #79 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed over the weekend just gone and had a lovely time. Breakfast was great as everyone else has put and the owners are genuinely great people who just want to make your stay as good as possible. Will definitely be staying in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thankyou for posting your very kind comments. Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and your excitement at your first visit to the Lake District and to Keswick was very contagious! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Amble House and we look forward to seeing you both again soon. We'll keep you posted about snow on the mountains so you can get back here with your camera at the ready!! Thanks once again for your feedback - its greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just had short 2 night stay at Amble house. Very pleased we chose to stay at this
excellent B & B. Hosts Judy and Richard were very helpful and friendly.
All areas were very clean and home from home.
Breakfast was excellent with locally supplied produce, and with a wide range of choice.
Would certainly stay again if and when going back to Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeApp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thankyou so much for posting your kind comments regarding your recent stay here with us at Amble House. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased you enjoyed everything we offer and had a good time here in Keswick. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time you choose to visit Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

First time in the Lake District. Keswick was an ideal location. Easy to travel around. Amble House was a good choice of B&B. Very clean ample room with some little extra touches - chocolates on pillows, fresh milk in the room for tea/coffee and a very good selection of tea/coffee not to mention the additional toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast was great. A wide range of choice. Cereals, fruit and full cooked breakfast. Judy and Richard made you feel very welcome and Richard gave good help in guiding you where you wanted to go, giving you some of his local knowledge. The only thing we found a little negative was the parking, however having said that we always managed to get parked quite close on the street and would definitley not put us off going back again. Definite venue next time in Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Richard and I enjoyed meeting you both. Thankyou very much for taking time to post your 'first review'! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Amble House and your fist visit to the Lake District and Keswick.. It really is so good to get feedback and to know that our guests are happy with everything that we do and that they would stay again if their travels bring them back to Keswick. Hope your long journey home was uneventful. Thankyou once again for your very kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

First time staying in Keswick and certainly picked an excellent b & b in Amble House. Very clean and comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast. Stayed four nights and were made to feel very welcome by hosts Judy and Richard would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinecringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thankyou so much for your very kind remarks. It was really good to meet you all and we were so very happy at your success in the race!! Congratulations again! We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay here with us and would love to see you again when you next decide to visit Keswick. Thankyou once again for your very much appreciated feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Excellent B&B with spotless room, very good breakfast and welcoming hosts. We stayed for two nights recently in the small double room which is big enough for a couple of days, don't let it put you off if only the small double is available. There was enough wardrobe space and a well thought out en-suite making the most of the space available. The breakfast was well cooked and a good choice, the fresh fruit salad was my favourite with plenty of fresh strawberries, blueberries etc. Fresh milk for the tea/coffee in the room was a nice touch, as was the range of tea/coffee available in the room. We enjoyed chatting to Richard and Judy who obviously enjoy running the B&B as much as people enjoy staying there. Will definitely return when we are next in Keswick

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wintlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thankyou very much for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Amble House. We're pleased you found everything to your liking, including our small double. Regular guests enjoy staying in the small room and as you said it has everything you could need for a couple of nights stay. We do have much larger rooms of course but when you booked that was the only one available so we are glad you enjoyed yourselves! It will be great to see you both again when you next decide to visit Keswick. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We love Keswick & we love staying at Amble House been lots of times over last six years wouldn't stay anywhere else. Judy & Richard are perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble the rooms are very well equipped & spotless with lots of nice little touches like chocs on the pillows & biscuits on the tea tray also toiletries in the bathroom not to mention the big white fluffy towels. whatever you like for breakfast you'll find it here all delicious i love judy's home made granola, jam & marmalade. if full english is your thing i dare you to have the lot it's huge all well cooked & fresh local produce where possible. The location we think is just right a short walk into town so not noisy when you sleep. There isn't anything i don't like about Amble House it's perfect for a stay in the lake district we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 &3 are larger so bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_tonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Hello Selby!! Thankyou so much for writing this review and saying such lovely things!! It is always such a pleasure to see you both knowing that you feel at home and enjoy everything we have to offer. Is it really six years you've been coming to Keswick and staying here? We know you love the town and area and always enjoy your days of walking - reasonable weather this time too! Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

It was our first visit to Amble House, but it certainly won't be our last.
Excellent hosts, excellent room and excellent food.Great touch with the fresh milk brought to the room.
We had a great couple of nights, slept great, very quiet.
Plenty of parking on the street outside.
Telling all of our friends about you.!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Wow! What a great review! Thankyou so much for your feedback! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for telling your friends about us - it would be lovely to welcome them here to Amble House if they should decide to visit Keswick. Rich and I look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#81 of 189 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#41 of 189 in Keswick
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#58 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#84 of 189 in Keswick
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#90 of 189 in Keswick
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#129 of 189 in Keswick
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing