We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Stay Ever”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #69 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
“Best B&B Stay Ever”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Amble House in early June, 2013 for five nights and found it to be an excellent B&B. It is in the small town of Keswick which is loaded with character and perfect for touring the Lake District. Judy prepared wonderful breakfasts each morning and Richard was a most charming, entertaining and informative host, as well as tour guide. We have not had better service anywhere in our travels. We met so many friendly and interesting people that it was hard to leave. Also, the best pubs ever! We rate our stay here as top notch.

Donna & Bob Wilson
Saint Augustine, Florida

Room Tip: Keswick is a great base location to explore the Lake District and a wonderful town to enjoy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello Florida! It was really good of you to post your comments. Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and your company over the five days. If everything we did helped make your trip and your visit to Keswick just that bit better then we did it right! Thank you for your invitation to visit with you - you never know!! Thanks once again for the pleasure of your company and for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
162
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just had our 4th holiday at Amble House with Richard and Judy we had the top front room lots of space and a really comfy king size bed. Since our last visit we noticed wine glasses had been added to the tea and coffee making facilities - a good idea. Everything is always excellent each time we stay with great attention to detail and to top it all you cannot get a better breakfast. Looking forward to another visit in the near future.

Jenny and Malcolm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
How kind of you to write this review for us! We were so pleased to see you both again and wasn't it great you had such splendid hot weather instead of the dreary rain you had on your last visit? Thank you for your comment re the breakfasts; you were here of course when we had our Visit England Inspection and were given their Breakfast Award - you were so pleased for us too - thankyou. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Good Luck with your plans for the end of the year Jenny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOLTON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have just had the great pleasure of 2 nights in this lovely guest house.
Our room ( a twin on the front ) was very neat quite spacious with a nice bay window.
A great shower too. lovely touches like chocs on the pillow and a bowl of sweets. I always like it when the owner puts tissues and cotton balls etc for you to use too.The breakfast was second to none, I tried an Omelete ( highly recomended ) 2nd day Scambled egg and Salmon OMG. I liked it so much that I am going back for 3 nights in August. Richard and Judy ( I know!! ) are lovely people, cannot fault anything, unusual for me.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the only one with a Bay window is on the front up 1 flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socket52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Oh thank you so much for your lovely review! Richard and I are so pleased to know you had such a great time here and are certainly looking forward to seeing you again in August.. Visit England have just given us their coveted, prestigious National Breakfast Award! Now we have one Award from the AA and one from Visit England - both for our breakfasts! Amazing! We are thrilled to bits! Thanks again for taking the time to do this review for us - we are always grateful to people who take time out of their day to do this for us. See you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just returned from a short break at amble house and cant praise it enough, it is one of the best b&bs that we have stayed at, great attention to detail, very friendly people and the breakfast was spot on. Richard and Judy are very helpful and their local knowledge is very informative with plenty of suggestions of places to visit , would definately recommend and we look forward to returning.

John and Lilian

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Richard and I are very grateful you have taken the time to post your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfasts too. I know you will be thrilled to hear that we have just today been awarded the prestigious and coveted Visit England Breakfast Award!! We shall be adding the sign outside to join that of the AA Breakfast Award we won last year. Rich and I look forward to your return to Amble House in the near future and once again thank you very much for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just had a lovely 3night break here, chose large double room this time as last time we had to have a smaller room at the back. It was worth extra £3 a night as there was so much more room. The breakfast here is amazing. Just so good and such a large choice. Thank you Richard and Judy for a perfect midweek break !! Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: The larger front double room was lovely. More space and has 2windows which means a good air flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover201059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
It was lovely to see you both again and thank you very much for posting your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfasts too! Our extensive menu is proving very popular and Richard and I are really happy that the varied selection we offer has something for everyone to enjoy. Hopefully we will see you both again soon next time you get to 'escape' the daily grind! Good Luck with your house sale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was my first time at Amble House but it won’t be my last. The breakfast is first class and cooked fresh to your liking. The room we had was on the front overlooking the street No3 a beautiful room very clean and decorated to a very high standard. My only criticise is, that we could not stay any longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireToasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for posting your generous comments! Richard and I are so pleased you enjoyed your first stay here with us at Amble House. I really appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfasts and always like to know when guests have enjoyed the food and choices we offer. It would be lovely to see you both again when you next decide to come walking the fells around Keswick again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N E M/C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I would recommend Richard & Judy's B&B highly. Although we were caught out by the weather, they have a drying room. The breakfasts were lovely, especially pancakes with summer berrries. They have thought of everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are so pleased you found everything to your satisfaction! Our drying room is a godsend for the odd day of 'liquid sunshine' which we can experience here in Keswick! Our extensive breakfast menu is proving very popular and, like you, many are enjoying the pancakes for a sweet start to their day! I do hope we get to see you both again next time you decide to visit Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#49 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#22 of 175 in Keswick
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#101 of 175 in Keswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#87 of 175 in Keswick
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#48 of 175 in Keswick
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#84 of 175 in Keswick
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing