We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst experience of our lives.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #70 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst experience of our lives.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was supposed to be a lovely birthday treat from my girlfriend and turned out to be by far one of the worst experiences of our lives and we didn't even stay the night. My girlfriend and I were denied access by what could only be termed as a very rude and cold host. On our arrival we were greeted with incivility and generally a disgusting attitude. We apologised for the lateness of our arrival several times (30 minutes-20:30, roadworks being the factor). This woman asked us indirectly many times to leave at a late hour and 3 hours from home, even when showing us the room. She told us that we had ruined her plans to go out and that she has a life. We had not specified exactly the time of our arrival (we sent her 2 e-mails with approximate arrival times, to which she replied that she does not sit at the computer all day), nor were we told that she had plans. We did not want to be treated this way any longer and so left to find a place to stay in Keswick with no notice. This situation was very distressing and made only worse by having the police called on us (who were very nice and empathetic towards us) for being wrongly accused of an apparent assault. This was beyond terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We have never visited Eastern European countries but have been told many times that some parts are absolutely beautiful. Its also been mentioned that there are vast differences with the behaviour and culture and we experienced it certainly with these visitors. I won't answer the review directly as there are legal issues pending. I do want to say, however, thanks so much to the police for their prompt arrival and huge support and advice; thanks to neighbours for their assistance and support and just to say the injuries [yes there were some] were thankfully minimal and the bruises have now gone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    4
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
157
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Chose to stay at Amble House because of all the good reviews, We were not disappointed, everything was perfect, Great breakfast , Good sized bedroom , Good power shower,(just whats needed after a day of walking) Judy and Richard are the perfect hosts, and everything is geared to making your break special. Would highly recommend , Thank you Judy and Richard had a great stay !!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aileenliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your really kind comments. It was really good to meet you both and Richard and I are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay. its great to know we helped make your trip to Keswick and your short break a memorable one. Hope the feet are back to normal Aileen and we will get to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at Amble House in August this year for 4 nights and loved it. Location is a few minutes walk to Keswick Town and on a lovely quiet street. The rooms are exactly what a walker needs : very clean, comfortable and the tray of high quality teas and biscuits are a nice touch. In fact, Judy and Richard have thought of all the nice little touches that make you know they are thinking of their guests and offering a great place to stay. Sounds silly, but the little scissors to open the sachets at breakfast and the offers of a wide choice of breakfast specials every day really make the difference between a nice place to stay and a fantastic place to stay. The pancakes are to die for by the way! Richard and Judy are great hosts: very friendly and with lots of local knowledge of the best places to visit. We will be returning to Keswick for a holiday next year we hope and we have no reason to look elsewhere for a place to stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello you two! How lovely to get this review from you with all your super comments. It was really nice to meet you both and we are so pleased you chose to stay here with us at Amble House. I know you enjoyed your breakfasts and had each days repast planned Mirelle! The pancakes were obviously your favourites and I know you enjoyed them immensely! it would be lovely to see you both again if you decide to take another trip up this way - be sure to give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We highly recommend this b&b. The breakfasts were exceptionally good, with a very wide choice. The food was locally sourced and of a high quality. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and of a high standard. Judy & Richard were very welcoming and friendly, and were helpful in the loan of walking books and recommending eating places. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we next visit Keswick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Wow! 10 out of 10! Thank you! Richard and I really appreciate your comments and the time you have taken to post them for us. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I know you enjoyed the theatre too and the recommendations for dining. The maps and books and maps we have certainly get used a lot and its great to know that they are useful! We look forward to seeing you both again when next you visit our beautiful town of Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our second stay at Amble House, and once again Judy's breakfasts surpassed anything we've had in hotels. Personally I would prefer to decide what I want to eat in the morning rather than the night before, but I appreciate that all choices can't be catered for without advance warning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zagWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Richard and I were pleased to see you both again - thank you for posting another review! We're glad you felt you'd had 'another excellent stay' See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Excellent B&B in a great, quiet location just a few minutes walk from town centre. Comfortable, warm and welcoming with lots of attention to detail. First class breakfast with loads of choice. Really friendly hosts in Richard and Judy. Would highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting the Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for your generous comments. Richard and I are so pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed the breakfasts and your stay here with us. We look forward to seeing you both again next time you are in Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had high hopes for Amble House. The vast majority of which were achieved. Although our room was tiny, it was super clean and comfy.

Richard was very friendly and attentive when we arrived. We were delighted by the information folder provided in the room, which details in some length the renovations undertaken by Richard and Judy in the last ten years. No minor upgrade is left out, and it makes a great read with a cup of tea when you first arrive. Tea made with the individually room-numbered fresh milk that is provided in a small fridge along the corridor. High quality biscuits round the experience off. Free wifi access is also available in all rooms.

The bathroom was spotless, the toilet even having a 'disinfected for your comfort' ribbon around it. High-end toiletries were also present. A good power-shower, filtered drinking water on tap, and really nice fluffy towels set it apart from other guest houses we stayed in during the same week.

One of the reasons we booked and were particularly looking forward to was the AA Award winning breakfast. On their website, they boasted that they offered no fewer than FOUR different breakfast juices. Before you get too excited, you must specify only one on your breakfast order form, to be completed the night before. A vast array of breakfast options are available, but again, choose wisely as you cannot change your mind after filling in that form. That said, if you're still happy with your choice in the morning, you will be treated to an amazing breakfast, cooked by the never-seen Judy. Indeed, Richard and Judy have never been seen in the same room. Perhaps Richard just uses the mythical 'Judy' to hide behind when explaining certain house rules. Locally sourced produce and homemade jam are the order of the day. Good portion sizes, and extra fruit, cereal and yoghurts are available too. A variety of tea choices was another welcome addition.

On a couple of occasions we were made to feel like naughty school children for deviating from Richard and Judy's very strict rules. Notably, wanting to take a glass of juice up to the room to a sick partner, and wanting to use the drying room for swimming kit rather than walking gear - a faux pas we will never make again!

Parking can be an issue but this is the same for all guest houses in Keswick. Proximity to the town centre, though, means that you can easily walk in.

For the price, this was an excellent place to stay, and we would definitely stay there again as long as we were planning a weekend of walking and not wild swimming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ultrasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
We like the title of your review - it sounds like a tv programme! Thank you for your feedback and generous comments regarding the cleanliness of the room - its important to us to ensure each guest feels they are in a clean environment and, as one gentleman put it, 'feel like they are the first people in the room'. You obviously enjoyed the beverage offerings and the biscuits too. Yes the room you booked was/is small but you understood that when you booked it and were offered alternatives but chose to stay with your booking in the small double en-suite room. You did not meet me as you did not come down for breakfast the first morning and by the time I had finished catering for other guests and gone into the dining room your partner had left with your OJ. so your comments are rather rude and unfair. Your partner was given a tumbler of orange juice to take up to the room for you - we prefer our stemmed crystal glasses to stay in the dining room to avoid breakages so gave her a tumbler instead. We were concerned to be told you weren't well and did offer to contact a doctor but this was declined so you can understand why we were absolutely amazed to be presented with sodden swimming attire, towels and shoes as we had believed you were poorly and that's why you were absent from the dining room but you obviously recovered enough to go swimming in a freezing lake!! The fortitude of youth! Oh to be young again! We have never been asked to dry shoes used in swimming nor bathing suits and towels either but were happy to turn the heat on to get it all dry for you The breakfast system we have in place and widely used by others doesn't suit everyone but its a practise endorsed by the AA, and we have their award, as mentioned by you, and Visit England too, and we now are in receipt of their National Breakfast Award too! [wow!] as enabling the accommodation provider to offer a large variety of dishes. There are establishments that use other systems and some that offer a very limited menu. We're sorry if you would have liked things done differently but there are only two of us and we do the best we can to offer the best we can. Should you plan to return to Keswick please don't hesitate to give us a call and we will be more than happy to help you find accommodation more suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#45 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#81 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#43 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#98 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing