We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in Keswick”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #84 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just enjoyed a weekends stay at Amble House. We had read all the positive reviews, and decided to give it a try. All I can say is, it wasn't as good as we expected, it was far, far better. To say Richard and Judy make you feel completely at home, is an understatement. From the cheery wave off Judy as she opened the front door when we rang from outside in the car to see if it was convenient to drop our bags, right through to the hugs and handshakes as we said our goodbyes on Sunday morning, it was a fantastic two day stay. The bedroom was immaculate, freshly decorated, and my wife adored the heavy draw curtains. Another nice touch, was the small fridge on the landing with a pint of milk for each room every day. The bed and pillows were so very comfortable, and that's not something you can say for every B&B. It was obvious from the moment we saw our room how much Judy and Richard pay attention to all the little details that go together to make Amble House a home from home. I have deliberately left the breakfast to the last. It was magnificent. It was truly the best breakfasts we have ever had. I opted for the huge full english each day, while my wife tried the eggs benedict on the Sunday. Plus she is still raving over Judy's home made granola. But to be honest, there would be something on the breakfast menu to suit anybody, such was the large choice. Needless to say we are now converts, and will hopefully be returning again and again. Thanks once more Richard and Judy, you have a beautiful guest house, and you make your guests feel so welcome.
Take care and we will see you soon

Steve & Bev, Liverpool

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comeonteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had just celebrated our Golden Wedding so we decided to have a few days away. Been before to Keswick at Convention times and really enjoyed the area. Went on the internet and came up with Amble House and can safely say it was the best B & B we have ever stayed at. Having done B & B ourselves we knew the kind of establishment we were looking for and were not disappointed. Everything was immaculate and the attention to detail was impressive. Pleased to see Fairtrade products being used and also Gideon Bibles in the bedrooms. Judy's homemade Granola was delicious. Hope to visit you again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 6 had king size bed and also table and comfy seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hello you two! How kind of you to post your very welcome comments. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and to swap B&B stories! Richard and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and on such an auspicious anniversary too! I know you enjoyed the breakfast dishes and that the granola was a particular favourite. It would certainly be lovely to see you both again and have you stay here with us if ever you decide to visit this lovely town of ours again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thanks again for another lovely week. Glad to see you are maintaining your excellent standards! Hope to see you again in 2014.

The breakfasts are a real highlight - if I ate everything that was on offer I would need to go on a diet straight after the holiday! The rooms are comfortable, contain everything you could need (including wine glasses and corkscrew) and there is even fresh milk available for the in-room tea making facility.

This was my 5th stay at Amble House. It wont be the last...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyRooFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

It was so good to see you again and I had hoped the weather could have been a bit less cloudy so you could really put your camera through its paces but even so you still managed to take 200 shots!! You certainly love to walk the fells and this trip was no exception I was exhausted just listening about all the miles you travelled! Its always a pleasure to have you stay with us Andy and we look forward to your visit again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was supposed to be a lovely birthday treat from my girlfriend and turned out to be by far one of the worst experiences of our lives and we didn't even stay the night. My girlfriend and I were denied access by what could only be termed as a very rude and cold host. On our arrival we were greeted with incivility and generally a disgusting attitude. We apologised for the lateness of our arrival several times (30 minutes-20:30, roadworks being the factor). This woman asked us indirectly many times to leave at a late hour and 3 hours from home, even when showing us the room. She told us that we had ruined her plans to go out and that she has a life. We had not specified exactly the time of our arrival (we sent her 2 e-mails with approximate arrival times, to which she replied that she does not sit at the computer all day), nor were we told that she had plans. We did not want to be treated this way any longer and so left to find a place to stay in Keswick with no notice. This situation was very distressing and made only worse by having the police called on us (who were very nice and empathetic towards us) for being wrongly accused of an apparent assault. This was beyond terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We have never visited Eastern European countries but have been told many times that some parts are absolutely beautiful. Its also been mentioned that there are vast differences with the behaviour and culture and we experienced it certainly with these visitors. I won't answer the review directly as there are legal issues pending. I do want to say, however, thanks so much to the police for their prompt arrival and huge support and advice; thanks to neighbours for their assistance and support and just to say the injuries [yes there were some] were thankfully minimal and the bruises have now gone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Chose to stay at Amble House because of all the good reviews, We were not disappointed, everything was perfect, Great breakfast , Good sized bedroom , Good power shower,(just whats needed after a day of walking) Judy and Richard are the perfect hosts, and everything is geared to making your break special. Would highly recommend , Thank you Judy and Richard had a great stay !!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aileenliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your really kind comments. It was really good to meet you both and Richard and I are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay. its great to know we helped make your trip to Keswick and your short break a memorable one. Hope the feet are back to normal Aileen and we will get to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at Amble House in August this year for 4 nights and loved it. Location is a few minutes walk to Keswick Town and on a lovely quiet street. The rooms are exactly what a walker needs : very clean, comfortable and the tray of high quality teas and biscuits are a nice touch. In fact, Judy and Richard have thought of all the nice little touches that make you know they are thinking of their guests and offering a great place to stay. Sounds silly, but the little scissors to open the sachets at breakfast and the offers of a wide choice of breakfast specials every day really make the difference between a nice place to stay and a fantastic place to stay. The pancakes are to die for by the way! Richard and Judy are great hosts: very friendly and with lots of local knowledge of the best places to visit. We will be returning to Keswick for a holiday next year we hope and we have no reason to look elsewhere for a place to stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hello you two! How lovely to get this review from you with all your super comments. It was really nice to meet you both and we are so pleased you chose to stay here with us at Amble House. I know you enjoyed your breakfasts and had each days repast planned Mirelle! The pancakes were obviously your favourites and I know you enjoyed them immensely! it would be lovely to see you both again if you decide to take another trip up this way - be sure to give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We highly recommend this b&b. The breakfasts were exceptionally good, with a very wide choice. The food was locally sourced and of a high quality. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and of a high standard. Judy & Richard were very welcoming and friendly, and were helpful in the loan of walking books and recommending eating places. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we next visit Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Wow! 10 out of 10! Thank you! Richard and I really appreciate your comments and the time you have taken to post them for us. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I know you enjoyed the theatre too and the recommendations for dining. The maps and books and maps we have certainly get used a lot and its great to know that they are useful! We look forward to seeing you both again when next you visit our beautiful town of Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#85 of 189 in Keswick
181 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing