We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming stay in a brilliant location”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #68 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Welcoming stay in a brilliant location”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fantastic hosts that are really friendly and cannot help enough.
Excellent breakfast earning the breakfast award with plenty of choice.
Location within minutes walk of the town centre making the restaurants really accessible and also well located for "the lakes"
Recommend highly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
162
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A long weekend in Keswick from S Wales to walk and shop in the myriad of "outdoor shops" in the town and weren't we lucky to choose Amble House as our base!! The comfort, hospitality, situation (within 2 minutes walk from the town centre) and attention to detail in EVERYTHING was second to none. Our hosts, Richard and Judy, (not not those!!) could not do enough, and the breakfasts were worth the 600 mile round trip alone. Many thanks to them. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the best B&B we've stayed at.The host Richard was very efficient and friendly. It's spotlessly clean and all the facilities are top class. Huge fluffly towels, filtered water on tap, large choice of teas/coffees/drinks in the room as well as Borders biscuits. The small fridge in the hallway with a bottle of real milk was a lovely touch.
Breakfast was outstanding. We had the full fry on the first morning and an omelette and pancakes the second. There was so much to choose from we need to return to try them. We also loved the fruit, granola and greek yoghurt.
We will definitely try Amble House first the next time we are looking for a bed and breakfast in Keswick.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, a king-sized room on the first floor. We had a bay window with a sitting area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1riggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We'd seen the brilliant reviews of this place and wondered if it could really be that good .. but it's all true! I won't repeat all the details already listed, but the facilities were of the standard of a good hotel (comfy bed, big fluffy towels, great shower, etc), combined with the friendly welcome and charm of a traditional B&B. It's all been said already but I must mention, as others have, the superb breakfasts, with a huge choice (selected the night before) of cooked items, as well with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juices, etc. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict as a special treat.
Keswick's streets are bristling with Guest House notices, and the attractive slate-fronted houses all look quite similar from outside, but don't waste time looking around - this is the one to head for! Book in advance, though, as it's deservedly popular.

Room Tip: We had Room 6, one of the larger ones, which had two armchairs and a little table. Although at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpiestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Not a lot to say really!
Clean, friendly, comfortable, everything you could want for an enjoyable stay in the lakes.
A warm welcome, an excellent room, excellent breakfast, (as much ,or as little as you want) friendly and very amicable hosts.
I would highly recommend Amble House.
I will be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a 3 night stay in this immaculate guest house in September. Everything was of a very high standard. We stayed in Room 6 at the front which was spacious with a seating area. The bed was very comfortable and the shower powerful and hot! There was a great selection of beverages and biscuits provided. Fresh milk for each room was available from the mini fridge which is better than the little cartons. The breakfasts were something else. You make your choice the evening before and there is plenty to choose. Pick from a full English, kippers, pancakes and much more. It was hard to choose! To start there was Judy's delicious home-made granola as well as fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. All this is served in a light and airy dining room. A nice touch is the chocolates left on your pillow each night.
Richard and Judy are friendly hosts, happy to make suggestions of where to visit or eat. We had been concerned about the lack of parking but this was not a .problem as we were always able to park very close to the house. The street was very quiet and within easy walking distance of Keswick. We were very lucky with the weather as well as picking Amble House. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have recently returned from our annual visit to Amble House and can only repeat all our positive comments made in previous reviews about the excellent standards guests will find there. Since our last visit a communal fridge has been installed with separate milk provision for each room, a great touch. Judy's breakfasts continue to be magnificent in quality and quantity and an Enjoy England Award has now been added to the accolades already held.
Richard and Judy are always friendly and helpful, eager to facilitate their guests' comfort and to share their own knowledge of Keswick and the surrounding area. Needless to say we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#48 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#23 of 175 in Keswick
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#100 of 175 in Keswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#83 of 175 in Keswick
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#47 of 175 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#80 of 175 in Keswick
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing