We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #70 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Thank you Judy and Richard for another enjoyable visit and wonderful breakfasts! We would recommend Amble House to anyone visiting Keswick, apart from the spotless rooms and the excellent breakfast it's also the little extra touches that make a difference. Looking forward to our next visit in September. Lindsey & Gary

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zagWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
162
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our second visit to amble house and yet again it was brilliant, lovely clean comfortable rooms with everything that you need and now there is an extra facility of a communal fridge on the landing to store the milk provided for teas/coffees. The breakfasts were perfect with more than enough to set you up for the day and RIchard and Judy were perfect hosts, as usual who provide you with all the local information you could possibly need on a stay in keswick. Would definately recommend staying here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd time staying with Richard & Judy and we were disappointed! Excellent hosts, accommodation & not forgetting the breakfasts! It's like returning to see old friends (no insult intended on the age!) and we have already booked our next break. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linzb2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just got back from a tremendous weekend in Keswick, staying again at Amble House. Every time we go we think it's impossible for Richard and Judy to maintain their incredibly high standards. But every time they do! This time we stayed in one of their superior rooms (no 6) which was superb, spotlessly clean, really comfortable king size bed. The breakfasts were as excellent as usual, best granola ever, fruit, perfectly cooked full English one day, omelettes and pancakes another day. Richard and Judy as friendly and helpful as usual, took up Richard's recommendation for a walk at Langstrath one day which was great. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fantastic hosts that are really friendly and cannot help enough.
Excellent breakfast earning the breakfast award with plenty of choice.
Location within minutes walk of the town centre making the restaurants really accessible and also well located for "the lakes"
Recommend highly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A long weekend in Keswick from S Wales to walk and shop in the myriad of "outdoor shops" in the town and weren't we lucky to choose Amble House as our base!! The comfort, hospitality, situation (within 2 minutes walk from the town centre) and attention to detail in EVERYTHING was second to none. Our hosts, Richard and Judy, (not not those!!) could not do enough, and the breakfasts were worth the 600 mile round trip alone. Many thanks to them. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the best B&B we've stayed at.The host Richard was very efficient and friendly. It's spotlessly clean and all the facilities are top class. Huge fluffly towels, filtered water on tap, large choice of teas/coffees/drinks in the room as well as Borders biscuits. The small fridge in the hallway with a bottle of real milk was a lovely touch.
Breakfast was outstanding. We had the full fry on the first morning and an omelette and pancakes the second. There was so much to choose from we need to return to try them. We also loved the fruit, granola and greek yoghurt.
We will definitely try Amble House first the next time we are looking for a bed and breakfast in Keswick.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, a king-sized room on the first floor. We had a bay window with a sitting area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1riggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#47 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#23 of 175 in Keswick
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#100 of 175 in Keswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#82 of 175 in Keswick
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#48 of 175 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#77 of 175 in Keswick
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing