We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #65 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wonderful hospitality at this centrally located B & B in Keswick. The rooms are immaculate, beautiful white, fluffy towels and white linen on the beds. Everything has been thought out to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast is exceptional, with a wonderful choice and all locally sourced produce. Just a couple of minutes to walk into the centre of Keswick with all the bars, restaurants and shops a person could want. Do ask Richard and Judy for advice on where to go and where to eat. They have extensive knowledge of the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
160
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Amble House was a late discovery and our week long stay was rewarded with superb comfort and wonderful breakfasts. Richard and Judy were lovely hosts and we will definitely put it at the top of our list when coming to the Keswick convention another year. All in all we had the best combination of great Bible teaching and comfortable accommodation. Loved the paintings!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a great place to spend a weekend. A traditional Lake land house with a high standard of furnishings with nice touches, i.e. fresh milk & filter coffee.
Excellent breakfast and very hospitable hosts.
We shall return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Thank you Richard & Judy for your wonderful hospitality you are the perfect hosts,couldn't have wished to stay anywhere better.First class all round,spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished all to a high standard and those special little touches all add to the experience,What can we say about breakfast how Judy manages to provide the choices she offer is unbelievable the food is top quality and her home made granola and marmalade is to die for,all just what you need to set you for the day to enjoy the wonderful countryside which if your new to the area Richard is more than willing to share his knowledge of this beautiful part of England.No hesitation in returning and passing this GEM of a B & B to anyone ,oh!! but if we do that we may struggle to ever stay there again there will never be any vacancies Top marks Richard & Judy a Superb place to stay keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delightedfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an excellent B&B - lovely house, excellent hosts, wonderful breakfasts! Service and welcome top rate, a real pleasure to stay there. Nice little touches add to the experience, and everything so spotlessly clean. Will have no hesitation in returning, and recommending to friends. Well done to Richard and Judy.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francophile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The place is clean and tidy, and ticks all the boxes - as we would expect given the high price to stay in what is effectively a converted terraced house, which has award certificates shining outside making it look like a beacon! However we had a rather unfortunate experience in when I requested a breakfast choice that was not on the menu, but a combination of things already on it. I received a telling off the next day at breakfast in front of my partner for having the guts to order what I did and not asking the landlord for permission to request this, the night before. Comments like "I was disappointed that you did not ask me before" and "don't let this happen again" were sent in my direction. This I find totally inappropriate in the day and age of customer service; especially given the premium we were paying to stay in that part of Keswick.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
The first thing we would say is that we don't know you and have no recollection of the issue you mention! We have checked and re-checked our records and have not had any guests from Hertfordshire since regulars took their usual week in October 2013. Now you mention a 'partner' so its perfectly possible that he or she made a booking using a different name and address to yours and decided not to register you upon arrival and you chose not to divulge your name either! Whatever the case we cannot for the life of us remember anything like the issue you raise apparently happening three months ago. It seems really odd that if you felt the way you describe that you would wait three months before writing a review and also to use your lead phrase of 'Not sure I'd stay there again' Surely if you felt uncomfortable anywhere you would most certainly not stay there again?? Its not necessary for us to discuss our accolades and awards - they are what they are and well deserved. The tariff is in line with other Guest Houses of similar quality in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Amble House for 2 nights at the end of June. It was superb! Richard and Jusy were the perfect hosts from the moment we arrived. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the whole quest house is spotlessly clean and lovingly looked after. Comfy bed, fluffy white towels and little touches such as a chocolate left each night on your pillow. It was in a peaceful part of Keswick, but is only a 10 min walk into the town. The breakfast each morning was fabulous and Judy makes a wonderful granola! Would recommend this guest house to anybody wanting a quiet, relaxing few days away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#42 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#85 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#83 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#89 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#53 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing