We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #82 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stayed at Amble House with my walking partner for three nights in mid October 2010 and from the time we set foot in the door to the time we left, our hosts couldn't have been kinder and more helpful. Their local knowledge was very good and whilst we didn't need their advice on things to see or do others staying did welcome this help. The bedroom was more than adequate and had a small sitting area with armchairs. Everywhere was very clean and in very good condition, most items appeared fairly new and showed no signs of wear and tear normally associated with this type of accommodation.
Breakfast was all that previous reviewers have said.
The only thing against it is the lack of private parking, so that is a bit hit and miss but generally we were able to park within 100m on all occasions. The centre of Keswick is near enough to walk to comfortably so once parked you don't have to drive again.
Our hosts recommended The George as the best place to eat and having sampled the delights there twice we agreed. One tip though, don't go for the full portion of their famous pies!!!
I would recommend anyone to this B & B

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamworthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2011

Thank you so much for your kind and generous comments. Richard and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to enhance your visit to Keswick. We are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and so glad that the George lived up to its excellent reputation!! We look forward to greeting you again at any time and really appreciate the feedback you have given

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have just returned from yet another wonderful stay at Amble house. We would not dream of stopping anywhere else when we stay in Keswick every year.
The welcome is always warm and and the bedrooms spotless comfortable and welcoming. We cannot praise the breakfat highly enough and there is something for everyone - nothing is too much trouble for Richard and Judy.

We look forward to returning again next year

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonjourmatelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

What can be said that has not been in previous reviews? Booked a three night stay on the very strong recomendation of a friend. Pleased to say Amble House did not dissapoint, and that we are still friends!! From the most friendliest of welcomes to the fabulous cooked breakfasts, carefully and thoughtfully decorated room(spotlessly clean), intelligent and informative conversation offered by both Richard and Judy, and the fact that the hosts are genuinely interested in their guests, Amble House has it all. in addition, it is ideally situated in a quiet street within minutes of the town centre. Could extoll the virtues for quite some time, however the best advice I can give is, just go and find out for yourself. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

stayed here lots of times over last 4 years couldn't say anything bad about it.Hosts Richard &Judy are the best. Rooms are lovely & beds are very comfortable the food & service are unbeatable with anything you could want for breakfast can recommend the homemade granola jam &marmalade & the full english is huge if that's what you want. you are made very welcome &nothing is too much trouble. Richard will even give you the weather forecast. The location is great quiet area only short walk into keswick town centre perfect home from home can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_tonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I have been coming to Keswick for years now and after a few stays in other B&Bs (including one over the road from Amble House), I first stayed in Amble House some years ago. Since then I wouldn't stay anywhere else - simply because there is NO better place to stay. The rooms here are clean and comfortable and as other people have stated, the breakfasts are amazing. I am sure there are other comfortable B&Bs in Keswick but what none of them have is a Richard & Judy. Staying at Amble House and catching up with these wonderful hosts is actually like catching up with your favourite relatives or friends and that is what makes a stay unique at Amble House. They are hospitable, friendly and their knowledge has meant that I have been to places that I probably wouldn't have stumbled upon without Richard's guidance. This is what makes a stay here so special - I cannot wait to come back for another visit and see these wonderful people again (but for now I need a period of time to stop eating such huge breakfasts!!).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Having visited Keswick on numerous occasions over the last 25 years I can quite confidently say that the breakfasts served at Amble House are the best we have ever had, the variety is fantastic with fresh local ingredients used and all prepared, cooked and presented perfectly. On top of this rooms are comfortable and clean with lots of added extras - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This the second time I have stayed in Amble House with my wife (to be) and we've come to think of the third floor room as our home from home when we visit the lakes. Richard and Judy are wonderful hosts who run a spotless B&B and have an intimate knowledge of the best fell walks (along with the best pubs and restaurants in and around Keswick). I don’t know where Richard gets his daily weather information but the man’s a meteorological giant who is rarely wrong, and Judy’s legendary breakfasts will set you up well for a day on the fells (especially if followed up by one of her packed lunches). Both Richard and Judy display a genuine warmth and consideration for their guests’ comfort and if you haven’t been to the Lake District before I’d advise you to ask their advice with regards to sightseeing or walking routes for all levels of fitness.
We’ve stayed in B&Bs all over the world, much preferring their individual character to that of hotels, and Amble House is up there with the best of them.

So a big thank you Richard & Judy – you’ll always be our number one choice for future visits to Keswick.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coliea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#84 of 189 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#41 of 189 in Keswick
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#85 of 189 in Keswick
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#90 of 189 in Keswick
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#129 of 189 in Keswick
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amble House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing