We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We've just had a three day stay at Portland House and what can we say, Rod and Denise's extra little touches make this B&B a little gem....To be honest we had been told that we would be impressed with the accommodation, hospitality and excellent food on offer but words really cannot do this B&B justice; it really is more than a home from home! We really will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
411
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a two night stay as part of walking the Cumbria Way. Everything about the stay was as you would have wanted including friendly helpful hosts (with a good sense of humour), a large comfortable room and great breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChchPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Its all been said before but Rod and Denise are perfect hosts and its a fantastic place to stay. We had the king size bed/room with dual aspect views. Its the little touches that make the difference, even down to wine glasses and corkscrew provided. Nothing is too much trouble. We returned to Keswick for our Silver Wedding anniversary (had our honeymoon in a different B&B) and my birthday, and I wouldn't have wanted to have stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: The kingsize room is huge with a lovely brass bed and an additional single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for the "Keswick Beer Festival 2012" on the Jubilee weekend for 2 nights with my wife. This was our 3rd stay at Portland House and pleased to report that the very high standard we have come to expect was flawlessly delivered again.
We were greeted on the Friday afternoon with a nice cup of tea and some of Denise's scrumptious freshly baked Shortbread. Again we enjoyed delicious, locally sourced hearty breakfasts on both mornings with the only complaint being that Rod would not reveal where they sourced the black pudding from!!
Booked up for next years Beer festival while we were there and the countdown has begun already.
Cannot recommend this establishment highly enough, thank you again Rod & Denise

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-n-Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a gem of a find...Denise and Rod are the loveliest people ever...very accomodating and thought of everything! Helped us make our friend's 40 a weekend to remember! Rooms were lovely...clean, spacious and well equipped! Breakfasts were gorgeous...just what was needed after the beer festival! We have already booked in for next year! Loved it!! (and homemade shortbread on arrival was a treat!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITTLEVOICE-45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

As I wrote on trip adviosr back in October last year, we came back here for the Beer Festival (which by the way was great!). If you like beer and music think about coming here when it is on, the first weekend in June I think.

Not sure what to write as it has all been said by us and all the other trip advisor reviewers already. Suffice to say, a perfect stay with perfect hosts.

P.S. Going back next year for the Beer Festival again and we have already booked our room! May even be going back this winter to sample the fantastic snow scenes.

Room Tip: ANY, but I feel the ground floor room would be susceptible to more noise from the other guests comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in the ground floor twin room with my mother, the room was spotless and spacious with a large en-suite. The breakfasts were fantastic, beautifully cooked & presented with a large slection of cereals, yoghurts & the best fruit salad i've ever had! Denise & Rod are very welcoming and friendly, knowledgeable on the area and were always happy to give advice on walks or places of interest to visit. The guest house is well situated for a stroll into the town centre but very quiet at night. Zzzzzz

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland House Bed And Breakfast Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing