We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, good quality B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Rod & Denise are a very friendly couple who will do anything for you. Day starts with a great breakfast (Sorry Rod that I didn't always have a cooked breakfast - it was VERY good!) and ends with a great sleep. In between - Keswick is a good little town. DO ask Rod where to eat - there are some amazing places for lunch, dinner & ice cream. Rod & Denise will also advise & book taxis for you and supply packed lunches if you want them. Excellent shortbread is in the rooms. Free WiFi. Really everything a B&B could be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you James for posting this review. It was great to meet you both and we enjoyed the banter in the breakfast room! Sorry to read you didn't get much sleep during your extra night at the other establishment and that we couldn't accommodate you - we hope you will come back again and book for the full week next time!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Myself and two friend stayed here in early June when doing a walking challenge. The B&B is perfectly located in central keswick and the price was very reasonable. The rooms were clean and had all the necessary amenities.

Rod was a wonderful host and even offered to taxi us to the start of our walk early in the morning rather than us having to organise a taxi. We didn't meet Denise until we said goodbye but I can certainly vouch that she made a wonderful breakfast.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again when I next to to keswick.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Fazza_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

We are pleased that you had everything you needed during your overnight stay and were happy to offer a lift. Next time we will make sure that you get to chat with Denise as well as Rod - thank you for the compliments about her cooking!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was a great place to stay, we were made extremely welcome by hosts Rod and Denise. There was homemade shortbread on arrival and breakfasts were cooked to order, which was a nice change to the tell tale pre cooked we've had before at other guest houses. It was always a pleasure to chat to the hosts over breakfast and nothing was a hassle for them to accommodate our requests. We will be staying there again in the future. Our room was always spotless on our return from our walks, and a piece of the freshly topped up shortbread was most welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, we were very pleased to see your headline ' best place we have stayed'. We look forward to seeing you again for your return visit!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just had another visit to Keswick and Portland House in particular - cannot speak highly enough of this gem of a B&B! Very clean and comfortable with extra little touches everywhere....especially Denise's home-made shortbread which is delicious! The variety at breakfast means you need never eat the same meal twice, and the owners hospitality is still second to none; Rod is particularly good at advising people on routes and places to visit be it on foot or on a motorbike! Many thanks again to Rod &Denise for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

It was great to see you again and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments. Rod enjoyed leading you out for motorbike rides and showing you some new places in and around the Lake District - there are plenty more to see, so we look forward to the next come you come over!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Rod & Denise could not have been more helpful. Our room was full of little finishing touches and the breakfast was excellent. We couldn't have been more welcome loved every minute. This is a really good base whether you just want to stay around Derwent water or want to travel further afield.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richsmith97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We really appreciate our guests taking the time to write a review and post it on TripAdvisor - thank you! Your 2 day stay was a taster of this beautiful area and we look forward to seeing you again - maybe for a little longer next time.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived on a busy weekend and the parking was a bit intimidating--but Rod promptly bounced out of the house and with a bit of hand waving and cheerful chatter, I was parked, and we were soon settled in a comfortable, well appointed room with home-made short bread to greet us. Denise is quiet but warms to guests quickly; Rod looked suspiciously like Rod Stewart and has a seriously funny streak of Robin Williams in his blood--if he ever tires of hosting at a B&B he could easily dominate the stand-up comedy circuit. His sense of humor kept us chuckling, Denise kept us well fed, and Rod provided excellent information on the surrounding lake district and things that interested us in town--everything from the best ice cream to used bookstores. The house is well located within a couple minutes walk from downtown, but is quiet as a pin in the evening. It's also close to St. John's Church which we visited for Sunday worship services, and found the congregation welcoming. We had the second floor corner room which was light, spacious, and well-maintained/clean. This was our last B&B in a three week stay and was a good way to end our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for our great review, it was a pleasure to meet you all. It is good to know that your stay with us was a nice way to end your holiday before returning to the US. There is plenty more to see if you get to come back to the Lake District - Rod will be happy to provide directions!
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in June. Portland house is well located for walking into the centre of Keswick but far enough away to be quite at night. Rod & Denise are very helpfull warm hosts (there is locking private parking for motercycles at the rear of the property & Rod is exellent at leading rides out if previously aranged). My on suite room was very clean & comfortable with an exellent breakfast in the morning (massive choice).
Thanks for a great stay
Mick

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting this review.
We hope to see you again one day soon.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland House Bed And Breakfast Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing