We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Every detail thought of - and free entertainment from Rod thrown in! We have no hesitation in recommending this b&b in terms of hospitality, comfort and quality of breakfast. Denise and Rod could not have been more welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rands9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your 2 night break with us as part of your Cumbria Way walk. The 'rest' day (although you did manage to fit in Cat Bells!) set you up for the next leg to Caldbeck, and we often get walkers who do this. Thank you for your great comments, we hope that you may come back and do some more walking in this area, although we know you also live in a beautiful part of the Country.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

this is the second time that we have stayed at this B&B, the first time was about three years ago, and the standard of this lovely B&B has not decreased in the interim. Rod and Denise are a delightful couple who go out of their way to welcome you.
I would definitely recommend a stay.

Pity that Rod was busy raising money for 'Blood Bikes' (look it up) so wasnt able to go on a rideout with us... but maybe next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

It was good to see you both again, we were sorry not to have had time to ride out with you this time.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting another review - we really appreciate it. Next time you come we will hopefully be able to take you out and show you some different roads to ride!
Best wishes
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in June. Denise and Rod were the perfect hosts, they made us feel very welcome from the moment we stepped into their lovely home. Well to be fair before we got through the door. Rod was carrying out some maintenance to the outside of the building and had a genie boom parked to the front of the house which limited parking. I managed to park around the corner but was told I could park on their private drive which I thought was a great gesture. This set the tone of our stay nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so at home. We were in Keswick to taking part in the Scafell Marathon and Half Marathon and needed an early start Sunday morning. Now I must point out that they usually offer a packed lunch in lieu of breakfast when guests need an early start but as we were both running this would obviously not have been practical. Not a problem as long as we were quiet mindful of their other guests our request was granted. Now that’s what I call Brilliant service. The location could not be better - it is in a quiet street only five minutes from the centre of Keswick and ten minutes from the beautiful shores of Derwentwater. Our room was very comfortable very well equipped spacious and spotless. The breakfast was fabulous but if the full English isn't to your taste, there’s lots of choice.
Thank you so much for making our stay so good and been so obliging. We will definitely be back for future visits

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trailblazer1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for this great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were both able to complete your races - well done! Thankfully the machine has been returned and the upstairs has been painted now, so parking is not so difficult! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Out first stay in Keswick for over 20 years, and we had a fantastic long weekend. Perfect weather, great hospitality from Denise and Rod, and the room, breakfast, and everything else at Portland House was first-rate. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you Nick for this review and your great comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your long weekend with us and hopefully you won't leave it another 20 years before you come back to Keswick!
Best wishes
Denise and Roe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rod and Denise are a lovely couple who will give you not only a great breakfast, but also some insider tips on Keswick and surroundings plus lend you maps for walks. Beautiful surroundings. Great Theatre by the Lake - go see Dracula if it's still on! Really enjoyed our stay! Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was perfect, large room and bed, spacious shower and all the luxury one co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

As soon as we saw the title of this review we knew who had posted it! We really enjoyed meeting you both and we were pleased that you were so lucky with the weather during your 8 days here, you certainly got out and about and saw a lot of the area.
We hope that you will come back again one day - we have more ideas of places for you to see and if you go to the Theatre again we can give you discount vouchers to save money on seats!
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here with some friends for a couple of nights and we loved it, we didn't want to leave. Denise and Rod were great people, down to earth and very informative. The breakfast was amazing too! Definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Garrettc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for this review, we are glad you were able to make the most of your short visit to the Lake District - as you know, there is plenty more to see! We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and will maybe return and see us again one day.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were travelling to the Isle of Man and stayed for one night. We were four older bikers and a young un. We could not have been better served with both the welcome accommodation and our motorcycles parked securely. The rooms and facilities were excellent and I extend our thanks to Rod and Denise for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: This was a bikers trip, but anyone would be comfortable and happy with the accomodation and en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We were pleased that we were able to accommodate you all for a one night stay and thank you for posting this review. We enjoyed meeting you all and are pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and facilities. We will be in touch when we want some ideas for riding up in Scotland and hope that you will come back and stay longer another time and ride some of our fantastic Lake District roads!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 196 in Keswick
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 196 in Keswick
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 196 in Keswick
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 196 in Keswick
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#7 of 196 in Keswick
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland House Bed And Breakfast Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing