We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a really lovely B&B, close to the town and the Keswick Convention - rooms are spotlessly clean, great breakfasts - cooked to order, home made shortbread biscuits in your room to greet you each day. Denise & Rod couldn't be more helpful, lovely couple. Really recommend this to you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greeswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We were so pleased that you came back again this year to stay, it was great to see you both.
Thank you for posting another excellent review - we do appreciate it.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 teenage boys during a month-long touring holiday in the UK. It was by far the best accommodation of the whole trip
The accommodation was well presented and immaculately clean.
Ideal location, just a few minutes walk from Keswick town centre in a quiet location.
Denise and Rod were very welcoming with a great sense of humour.
The breakfast cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you Susie for posting this review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great compliment that you felt we were the best place that you stayed in during your month long trip to the UK!
We hope you may come back to see us again next time you are back in England.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent value for money,
Attention to detail here is faultless. Rooms set well each day with nice finishing touches like a home cooked biscuit and REAL/FRESH milk supplied for your afternoon tea and a bottle opener in your room make a HUGE difference.
This rating is well deserved, Denise and Rod bend over backwards to provide a well polished product. Any minor niggling complaint would just be rude and unjustified.
I would very happily use this B&B again.
Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs in all of the Keswick B&B's so if you are infirm ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank little_mongey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the little extras we provide. Thank you for posting this review, we hope you will come back and stay with us again next time you visit Keswick.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This B&B can't be faulted. My second stay confirms my opinion that this has all the facilities of a good 3 star hotel but at B&B prices. Very helpful and hospitable owners.

General
Conveniently located close to town centre and 3 minutes walk from bus stops for buses to Penrith and Ambleside. One ground room recently modified for disabled use. Lots of thoughtful extras e.g. large trays to store muddy fell-walking boots, fridge in hall for communal guest use e.g. fresh milk for tea/coffee or store own chilled items. Free wi-fi works well.

Booking
Straightforward online booking (tip: pay by debit card to avoid credit card surcharge)

Rooms
Spotlessly clean. Good ensuite modern shower rooms. Decor is pleasant; furnishing is ample without being cluttered. Rooms are not spacious (a function of Victorian villa design) but plenty of storage space and provided one is tidy there is no problem.

Breakfast
One of the best choices (quality and plentiful) with healthy options I've encountered. Nice to have Fairtrade tea, coffee and sugar. Packed lunches available to order.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompeyMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you Mike for posting this review and your great comments, it was good to see you again.
We appreciate you mentioning some of the extras we provide to help our guests enjoy their stay with us - we are very proud of our Visit England Four Star Silver award which is in recognition of high quality accommodation and customer service.
As our single room was already booked when you came this time, you stayed in our room 3 as single occupancy. This is the smallest of our double rooms but as you mention has plenty of storage and a lovely new shower en-suite. Our other double and Superior flexible rooms are all very spacious - we must show these to you when you next visit us!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Portland House as our base for a charity motorcycle ride. Denise and Rod are great hosts, very friendly and welcoming with a good sense of humour thrown in for good measure. The room was immaculate and the breakfast fantastic. I cannot recommend highly enough. The location is also very convenient with only a short walk to the centre of Keswick which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We enjoyed meeting you and your friends and thank you for posting this review about your stay. We are glad the Charity ride went well, despite the weather on Saturday, but were pleased to hear that you had a good ride around the Lakes before returning home on Sunday.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed two nights at the Portland House, as a group of 5 guys on motorcycles. We were made to feel very welcome as the owners, Denise and Rod are keen riders. Ideal central location in Keswick. Immaculately clean. Breakfast was special, none of your pre-cooked stuff here, the fruit salad was freshly prepared, the fried breakfast was perfectly cooked. Denise and Rod are very sociable and we very comfortable in their company. A truly excellent B&B, whether you're a biker or a walker. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PersephoneOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to do some good riding over the weekend. It is always good fun when we have fellow bikers to stay and when time allows, Rod would love to ride out as well. We had a good mix of people when you stayed, including runners, walkers and people visiting Keswick for the Convention - it shows that Keswick is popular with people from all walks of life!
Thanks for the great review - we look forward to seeing you again.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Myself, my wife and daughter stayed for 2 nights ( 11th and 12th July) and we were very pleasantly surprised with the warmth and hospitality shown by Denise and Rod. Our trip was unplannned and the B&B booking was done at the last minute and so I was unsure of what to expect initially, but once we arrived, we had a great experience and could not have expected anything more. Denise and Rod are great hosts, very friendly , making useful suggestions on places to visit etc & I wished that I could have stayed longer in Keswick. The breakfast was really nice, and no wonder they have been rewarded with the best breakfast award for 2014. Moreover, they have taken care off all the small details, which makes the place truly wonderful to stay. There were books, games outside the rooms and my daughter particularly liked the homecooked short bread kept in the room.
I would certainly recommend our friends & family to stay here when ever they visit the Lake District.
Suresh and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It was a pleasure to meet your family and we are pleased we could accommodate you for your last minute decision to visit Keswick. Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate it and hope that you may return one day and stay with us again.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 189 in Keswick
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 189 in Keswick
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 189 in Keswick
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange Country House
The Grange Country House
#22 of 189 in Keswick
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland House Bed And Breakfast Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing