We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my partner loved our stay at the portland house. We was well looked after. The room was very clean, comfy amd has the best shower i have ever had. The breakfast choice was fantastic and delicious. We would definately reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hananic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for posting this review! The shower in your room is certainly getting a lot of positive comments - our ground floor room has the largest en-suite so was able to have a full walk-in shower.
We look forward to seeing you both again.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
376
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My partner and I thought P H was great - peaceful, clean, friendly, great breakfast.. so often I've been to B& Bs and thought that with a little thought they could be massively improved, but I couldn't find fault. Especially appreciated the proper mugs for the bedroom!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Clare for posting this review. It was good to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the comments about the rooms - we have tried to provide things to make our guests stay a great experience - things we would appreciate in places we visit!
We hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I have been regular visitors to the Lake District for many years and have stayed at numerous B&B's in the area. We first stayed at the Portland in Sept 2009, just as Rod & Denise took occupancy. Since then we have never considered staying anywhere else. Rod & Denise always treat you as friends, not just guests. The rooms are spotless, the food is excellent and Rod & Denise do all they can to ensure that your stay is as memorable as they can. They are a lovely couple with excellent accommodation and justly deserve excellent ratings. We cannot recommend the Portland House highly enough. Tom & Janette, ML8

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you Tom and Janette for posting this review. You were our first guests when we took over Portland House and we always look forward to seeing you. We hope to see you again soon.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was recommended to use this B&B by a friend and I now know why. Denise made us welcome from the minute we arrived. The decor and ambiance of the place is lovely. We felt at home. Easy access to the town centre is a bonus. The breakfast probably one of the best I have had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your friends recommendation!
Thank you for your compliment about breakfast, we are very proud of our Visit England Breakfast Award and it is always nice to receive good feedback.
We hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked this B&B for my Grandad and his partner for 2 weeks. Portland house is one of only a few B&B's in Keswick with a ground floor bedroom which was exactly what I needed for my Grandad and his partner.
They both loved their stay - their room was beautiful and the hosts were fantastic! Booked up again for them just days after leaving.
A brilliant B&B... I strongly reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for posting this review for your Grandfather Courtney. We are so pleased they enjoyed their stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet them both and we did miss the morning banter when they went home! We have booked them in for the ground floor room again next year as requested, and look forward to seeing them both again.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first visit to the Lake District and our first ever stay at a B+B and we could not have been more pleased!! Portland House is beautifully decorated, lovingly maintained and perfectly located in Keswick. It was an easy walk to town and to the lake, Derwentwater. Denise and Rod are warm and gracious hosts. Denise is also an amazing cook and baker and Rod is charming and great fun and gave us terrific advice on how to see the best sites in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return!
Thank you Denise and Rod!
(PS - Our 2nd B+B stay in Edinburgh did not even come CLOSE in comparison to Portland House.)

Room Tip: We were in the beautiful triple room which had great views of the town and mountains and was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first experience of a B&B in Great Britain with us and that you hope to return one day! There is so much more for you to do and see in our lovely area and we will be happy to give you more ideas. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip despite the next B&B not being quite so good.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingham Oxon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Each time we stay,(more than 5 times over the years) Denise and Rod have added another tweak to the welcome and general atmosphere. A comfortable and stylish friendly B and B; Truly well done! John and Brenda I

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you John and Brenda for another excellent review. We do appreciate your comments about how we try to keep improving - it makes our hard work worthwhile! We always enjoy having you both to stay and look forward to the next time.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland House Bed And Breakfast Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing