We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranford House

Cranford House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranford House
Ranked #123 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We chose Cranford House because of its 'no flowery wallpaper or ornaments' policy. It turned out to be a great choice. The owners are warm & friendly, rooms are great, and breakfast was excellent. It's also close to Keswick town centre, and a great base for exploring the Lakes. We've been there twice now and will hopefully be returning again soon.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 558Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is a good value b&b with friendly owners who are flexible and provide a hearty breakfast for walkers , cyclists and travellers alike.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerzeazyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I booked the Cranford as a proper walkers place. Friendly welcome, no nonsense accommodation, good breakfasts and flexible owners. i was not disappointed in any way and would recommend Cranford to anyone that is happy with a clean, low frills place.

Room Tip: Single room is superb value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

After running here from whitehaven we couldn't have been more warmly welcomed - was a lovely room with very comfortable beds. We would have loved a bath but these are pretty hard to come by at B&Bs these days. Really accommodating of our early start and laid on an early brekkie just for us! Would certainly go back here although I might be cycling next time!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

7 of us stayed here in September 2011 during our Sea to Sea bike ride. An exceptional B&B - terrific people and great accommodation and food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I booked a one night stay here as I was stopping overnight in Keswick - a single room with a shared bathroom for £29. I chose Cranford House as they have a website and I could check availability online and email to book. I noticed later that they also advertise in waking magazines, and I think for walkers or cyclists this would be a good choice. They have loyal customers too - a chap I talked to at breakfast told me he heads up to the Lakes every year and he wouldn't stay anywhere else.

The b&b itself is a town house, about a five minute walk from the centre of Kewswick. There are streets and streets of them - many given over to being b&bs. So most rooms don't come with a view, and the rooms are also quite small due to the nature of the building. That said, the place is tastefully decorated, it's not fussy at all, and there are some fantastic photographs of Lake District scenes to have a look at if you're a bit disappointed with the view from your bedrom window!

Breakfast was fine. Carol and Kev were friendly and welcoming. There's tea and coffee in rooms of course, and there's a toiletries cupboard for people who might have forgotten something.

If I had to make some critisisms, the rooms are quite pushed for space. I think you would feel a bit 'boxed in' if you were planning to spend an evening in. I don't think there's a separate lounge area. And I was given a bathrobe to use with having a shared bathroom, which was rather old and bobbly and could probably do with being replaced.

I think overall their website gives a fair representation of Cranford House. It's good value and comfortable accommodation. I would be quite happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Cleanliness was obviously not an issue here, the website has lovely pictures but they don't live up to the reality, I'm glad I spent most of my time away at The Keswick Convention.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaGoldthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#55 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#40 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindisfarne House
Lindisfarne House
#152 of 176 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Squirrel Lodge
Squirrel Lodge
#125 of 176 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#87 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford House

Property: Cranford House
Address: 18 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cranford House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing