We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranford House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Keswick
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
25
24
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
24
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bstown centrestayed herelovely coupletwin roomfew minutes walklovely placecomfortable bedsnext morningguest housekevtidyhostswalkersbreakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while on the C2C. The twin room was well presented, although not overly large. Hosts were friendly and welcoming. Good breakfast with quality muesli and coffee.

Short walk into Keswick town centre where there is a good choice of restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We decided to try for a last minute one night stay....which is generally hard to find anywhere these days....but we also wanted to take our bikes....something else which is hard to come by. The bikes are stored in an outside shed but are all chained together and then the shed is secured. Both Carol and Kev are very friendly and made us feel very welcome and we were shown to our very spacious room...the one in the pic (room 3). The bed is two singles pushed together but to be fair we didn't even notice other than we had more room than being in a normal double. The bathroom consists of toilet, basin and shower and again is a fair size. The breakfast is plentiful with cereals,yoghurts, full english etc....and according to the hubby a 'nice filter coffee'. As for the town centre...it only took us about 5 mins. For one night this really did suit our needs. The only down side that could be a problem is there is only street parking....and with so many B&B's it can be very difficult. We were lucky as somebody pulled away as we pulled up. Would defo stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which is en-suite and has two large windows for natural light
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarfaceseaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Carol and Kev have run this b+b now for around eight years and we have been staying with them since they first started. They are a very friendly couple the b+b is great it's clean and comfortable and the choice for breakfast is plentiful from continental to kippers or a full English. It is close to town no more than a few minutes walk yet just far enough to make it quiet on a night .I would absolutely recommend this lovely b+b with it's friendly owners it's also very good value for money if you are thinking of booking don't hesitate .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed for one night as a stop over whilst cycle training for an event. The room was very clean and fresh and had everything needed for a short stay. Have to say the room was probably one of the cleanest hotel rooms i've stayed in (I even looked under and behind the bed)

+'s
- Cheap clean no fuss
- Good breakfast (you would easily pay £20 for this in a five star hote)
- Bike friendly

-'s
- Bed a bit too soft for me. One night was ok but more I think my back would be complaining.
- Maybe a little bit out of the main centre, but not walkable in 5 minutes.
- If the hotel was full im not sure how the loo and showers would work out.
- Had a little 'you felt like you were in someone else's house' feel about it

I would stay there again though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hosts / privacy - sometimes in B&Bs you feel like you're staying in someone's spare room but not here, we had an en suite and were not bothered which was lovely. At breakfast Carol would talk to guests but not at all 'in your face' just pleasant, cheery chatter

Rooms - our room wasn't huge but it was clean, tidy and had all we needed. We were only there two nights and had good weather so were out most of the day but then again that's what you do when you're in the lakes!

Location - perfect! Keswick is a great base to explore the lakes and the B&B was close to Derwent Water, easy access to everywhere but not overrun with tourists. We could walk in 5mins into Keswick town to have dinner each night which was a lovely place

Breakfast - some might say not lots of choice but then what more do you need than a full English, toast and cereal - more than enough for a B&B and it filled us up for the day

Value - staying in Keswick isn't cheap, we paid just under £70 per night which isn't brilliant but it's just what you pay there

Quiet - down a quiet street so you get a good night sleep and no disruptions

I travelled to the Lakes with my boyfriend and I would happily stay again at this B&B

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LifesBigAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews