We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #35 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Our welcome to the Lake District couldn't have been better than the welcome we received at the Allerdale House. Instantly we felt like we had known Paul and Barbara for years and that they we welcoming us back fo a visit. Everything about the Allerdale was terrific, from the accomodations to the delicious breakfasts. Of all our B&B experiences on our 5 weel holdiday to the UK and Ireland, the Allerdale was tied for the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRGVancouver_WAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Allerdale House Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Having stayed for 9 nights, we have plenty of experience to judge the Allerdale House. Paul and Barbara are delightful hosts, friendly and helpful in every way, going out of their way to assist us and make our stay special. Learning that I had a birthday during our stay, they presented me a birthday card and a cake. That's way above expectations! The house is lovely, spotlessly clean, and located in a quiet neighborhood convenient to the Lake, the town, bus station, and hiking. Paul was especially helpful and enthusiastic in giving us directions to the best hikes. Breakfasts in the pleasant dining room were delicious, cooked to perfection by Barbara and served with grace by Paul. Having stayed in many B & B's over many years, we recommend the Allerdale House and would give higher ratings if that were possible. We will be recommending a stay there to our friends and enthusiastically recommend it for anyone traveling to Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

From the moment you walk in the door you will appreciate the warm welcome and the high standard of decor and cleanliness that greets you. I stayed for a whole week in July 2012 in the single room at the top of the house. The room was small, under the eaves, but very well furnished and very cosy. The ensuite bathroom was lovely and there was a flat screen TV which I enjoyed as it was the week of the Olympics. I could not get wi-fi in my room but by sitting on the seat on the landing outside my door I could get a good signal - so that was fine by me! The breakfast was first-rate - they serve the best Cumberland sausage I have ever tasted. Paul and Barbara were very nice hosts and extremely helpful and friendly. I would happily recommend this B & B,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I usually write quite lengthy reviews, but this is a fantastic place that can be summed up simply. This is probably the best B&B we have stayed in. Paul and Barbara definately deserve their #1 status.

Rooms - Fantastic. Plenty of space and lovely bathrooms.
Breakfast - Just superb. Eggs cooked to perfection.
Location - 5 mins walk from centre of Keswick.
Hosts - Fantastic, friendly and very helpful with lots of local knowledge.

Would I stay again?............I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY_T_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had previously stayed here when Tony and Helen had it and were pleased that the baton has been well and truly picked up by Paul and Barbara. Excellent,friendly service and great advice on walks,restaurants etc. Breakfast of champions!. Only place we would stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandhelen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Wonderfully comfortable house and gracious, caring owners. They are warm, welcoming and make an excellent breakfast to get you fuled for your days activities. Highly reccomend you stay when in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked Allerdale on the back of other Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom filled with lovely toiletries. There was a great choice of fresh fruit and cooked items for breakfast and Barbara and Paul had lots of helpful information on places to go. It's only a short 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Keswick, making it an ideal base if you don't want to use your car. The best thing about Allerdale is that it is really good value for money compared to other B&Bs in the Lake District. It was our favourite B&B on our trip and we hope to be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_m_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#54 of 189 in Keswick
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#49 of 189 in Keswick
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#15 of 189 in Keswick
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £39 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allerdale House Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing