We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, delightful welcoming hosts, needs a bit more warmth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #42 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were welcomed with tea and biscuits and help with luggage, all of which was very much appreciated after a long drive. Our room was very comfortable, although the first night was not great due to a sagging bed. Amazingly, when we told Paul about this the next morning, a new bed was delivered immediately after breakfast! From then on, we had very comfortable nights. The bathroom, although only a shower room, was very adequate and well appointed. The breakfasts were excellent, with good choices. The only small complaint, which we raised with Paul, was that the heating was not turned on until early evening. As the weather was not great during our stay (in September), we tended to return early and found that the room was rather cold, although after we mentioned it to Paul he turned the heating up. We would also have liked there to have been some sort of fire, either open or gas, in the lounge, This room was definitely not inviting; we would recommend installing a fire and improving the lighting in this room. We would have liked to use the lounge between our return each afternoon and leaving for dinner if it had been more welcoming.
The off-street parking is a big plus, as is the proximity to the town centre - not having to drive each evening for dinner was very pleasant. This is certainly a B&B that we would recommend.

Room Tip: If you want or need a bath, be sure to ask for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have recently come back from a 4 night stay at the Allerdale. This is a high quality guest house run by the lovely Paul & Barbara who made us feel welcome on arrival with coffee and biscuits. Our double en suite room was exceptionally clean, very comfortable and a relaxing place to return to after a day out. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choice. Paul and Barbara were very helpful and friendly to the extent that our wet footwear was taken away and dried overnight for us ready for the next day. This Guest House was recommended to us and we would certainly recommend it to others. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokiandsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our third visit to Allerdale House in Keswick and this was for a five night stay. The establishment is run by Paul and Barbara who can only be described as excellent hosts. We were given tea and biscuits in the lounge on our arrival and asked if we wanted assistance with our luggage. Our room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice with cereals and fruit juices, with a tasty full English breakfast and toast to follow if you can manage it! Its situated only a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick and has off street parking. We really enjoyed our stay and are planning to return again in 2014. We would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent B&B. Thank you Paul and Barbara.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I am a frequent user of hotels, for business and leisure.
I have recently completed my third (leisure) stay at Allerdale House, each being of a few days, and each time in a different one of the half dozen rooms. Each stay has been so positive that for the most recent my wife and I were accompanied by friends.
This property is spotless and comfortable. The breakfast is full of choice, quickly and perfectly produced. Allerdale House is quietly placed yet a five minute level walk to the town centre and restaurants. There is private parking. Free wi fi is a bonus.
The experienced hosts Paul and Barbara are local. I have found them entirely courteous and welcoming, reasonable over all things, and a pleasure to get to know. Their level of service is just right, chatty, helpful and informative, without being oppressive.
I highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This B&B is a beautiful stone building just a few minutes walk from town. Paul and Barbara are helpful and capable hosts, and we were very comfortable with every aspect of the experience they provide. We can enthusiastically recommend the Allerdale House for anyone visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoePattK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Near enough to the centre of Keswick for a swift walk into the town, with its' own parking spaces (important in Keswick), but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Barbara and Paul greeted us at the door by name, and remembered them when we returned the following week. So - an excellent welcome. The room was very comfortable. I sat at breakfast on our first morning and could see that everything has been carefully and tastefully thought out - I just loved everything! Better than home! And when my poached eggs appeared - the best I've ever had! And consistent - I've had them three times and Barbara really has it off to perfection. This really is the best B and B we've stayed in.

Well done to Barbara and Paul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Allerdale House for 4 nights in June earlier this year to celebrate my 30th birthday. We found the owners Paul & Barbara to be friendly, welcoming & helpful- we were greeted by Paul who offered to help with our cases and then offered tea & biscuits by Barbara. The room was clean & stylish with some lovely mini aromatherapy toiletries. The same attention to detail was given to the breakfasts served each morning, cooked to perfection & served by the friendly & good natured Paul.
It turned out to be an especially romantic 30th birthday as my boyfriend of 5 years proposed to me by lake Derwent water! after I gushed the news to just about everyone who would listen including Barbara the following day, we returned to our room to find a bottle of sparkling wine on ice, a balloon and a card- we were touched by this lovely gesture- thanks again Barbara & Paul!
we would definitely recommend Allerdale house to anyone wanting to explore this beautiful part of the lake district.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Underhill Guest House
Underhill Guest House
#23 of 196 in Keswick
111 reviews
0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#75 of 196 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#27 of 196 in Keswick
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#59 of 196 in Keswick
418 reviews
0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#85 of 196 in Keswick
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £39 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allerdale House Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing