We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #46 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Paul and Barbara we so helpful and attentive. All of the small details were covered and you did not have to worry about anything. Breakfast was wonderful and we felt at home. Paul is a great resource for local hikes and walks. This was our favorite B & B on our whole two week trip through Great Britain. We would go back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

After the wife suggested a stay up in the lakes years ago.she found this lovely B and B in keswick owned by Helen and tony farqharson,everything was top notch so when they retired and Paul and Barbara took over I was a bit sceptical,silly me it's still kept to a high standard,nothing is too much trouble for them,and they always make sure everything is ok.the only downside is Paul is a Liverpool fan lol

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spideydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Everything was perfect. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Paul and Barbara and immediately offered refreshments. Our room was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Tea, coffee and biscuits were replenished each day. 'Extras' such as cotton wool balls, tissues, cotton buds and shower cap were provided. Within the lovely guest lounge additional tea/coffee sachets were available and also wine glasses and corkscrew for use by guests. Books could be borrowed from the guest lounge or swapped from a shelf upstairs.
Breakfast was a feast! In addition to any main choice, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice toast and preserves were readily available. The breakfast room was well appointed with tables well spaced apart.
Allerdale House felt like a home from home. Paul and Barbara were lovely hosts and knowledgeable about Keswick; suggesting good places to eat or things to do in the area.
Allerdale House was ideally situated only a short stroll from the main shops and the lake.
My overall impression is that Paul and Barbara go the 'extra mile' for their guests. I am so glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whakaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Booked the Allerdale as a last minute trip to the Lakes and what a delight it was. A very warm welcome from Paul & Barbara when we arrived, with the offer of tea or coffee and also help with our luggage. We stayed in room 2, double with en-suite shower room, a lovely clean and bright room. Can't fault the room at all as it had all you needed, wardrobe, drawers, dressing table & mirror, small kettle, tv and a travel type hairdryer (which worked a treat even on long hair).
The breakfast was great. Can't add anything else that other people haven't already commented on.
The location of Allerdale House is pretty good too with just a short walk to the town centre.
Can't thank Paul & Barbara enough for such an enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were welcomed with tea and biscuits and help with luggage, all of which was very much appreciated after a long drive. Our room was very comfortable, although the first night was not great due to a sagging bed. Amazingly, when we told Paul about this the next morning, a new bed was delivered immediately after breakfast! From then on, we had very comfortable nights. The bathroom, although only a shower room, was very adequate and well appointed. The breakfasts were excellent, with good choices. The only small complaint, which we raised with Paul, was that the heating was not turned on until early evening. As the weather was not great during our stay (in September), we tended to return early and found that the room was rather cold, although after we mentioned it to Paul he turned the heating up. We would also have liked there to have been some sort of fire, either open or gas, in the lounge, This room was definitely not inviting; we would recommend installing a fire and improving the lighting in this room. We would have liked to use the lounge between our return each afternoon and leaving for dinner if it had been more welcoming.
The off-street parking is a big plus, as is the proximity to the town centre - not having to drive each evening for dinner was very pleasant. This is certainly a B&B that we would recommend.

Room Tip: If you want or need a bath, be sure to ask for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have recently come back from a 4 night stay at the Allerdale. This is a high quality guest house run by the lovely Paul & Barbara who made us feel welcome on arrival with coffee and biscuits. Our double en suite room was exceptionally clean, very comfortable and a relaxing place to return to after a day out. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choice. Paul and Barbara were very helpful and friendly to the extent that our wet footwear was taken away and dried overnight for us ready for the next day. This Guest House was recommended to us and we would certainly recommend it to others. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokiandsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our third visit to Allerdale House in Keswick and this was for a five night stay. The establishment is run by Paul and Barbara who can only be described as excellent hosts. We were given tea and biscuits in the lounge on our arrival and asked if we wanted assistance with our luggage. Our room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice with cereals and fruit juices, with a tasty full English breakfast and toast to follow if you can manage it! Its situated only a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick and has off street parking. We really enjoyed our stay and are planning to return again in 2014. We would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent B&B. Thank you Paul and Barbara.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Underhill Guest House
Underhill Guest House
#24 of 189 in Keswick
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#77 of 189 in Keswick
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#58 of 189 in Keswick
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#47 of 189 in Keswick
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#29 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £39 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allerdale House Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing