We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in the Lake District”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #35 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Lake District. We were fortunate with the weather and were able to walk each day which is so easy from keswick - no need to move the car if you don't wish to!
This was our first stay in Keswick and the whole week was made perfect by the excellent accommodation and hospitality of Barbara and Paul at Allerdale House.
Experienced hosts, they were most welcoming on arrival and they made breakfast an enjoyable experience, happy to chat when time permitted - and if you wished - and full of useful information.
The room was excellent and the location just 2 minutes from the centre and cinema and the start of many walks, but still very quiet.
We fully intend to return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompeyblue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Allerdale House Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Yet again we couldn't fault allerdale house. Barbara and Paul are the perfect hosts and alwayd make you feel welcome. Breakfast as usual was great and you get a very good choice.

Would recommend to friends and family

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank canddsilsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Where do i begin? After a long 4.5hr drive up the A1 it was lovely to arrive and get such a nice welcome from Barbara. We had read the reviews and knew 300+ cant all be wrong, and that is how it turned out. Allerdale House was perfect in every way, from the welcome, the room, the food, to the 'Going the extra mile' to ensure the stay was everything we wanted. We stayed in room 4 on the top floor with good views to the right (and left at a push). On day two we went out for a walk around Derwentwater and got totally soaked but on our return Paul offered to take our wet gear and dry it out for the following day, such a nice touch.

Breakfast was a joy, proper sausage and bacon with all the bits necessary to make it how it should be.

As the title says, it was our first time here but we are already planning our return later in the year, we cannot recommend Allerdale House enough. Thank you Barbara and Paul for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Any of them in this lovely guest house will guarantee a lovely stay.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gooner66iw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Once again we returned to allerdale house and were warmly greeted by Paul and Barbara with a welcoming cup of tea. We had room 1 and with the bad weather it was nice to come back during the day to a warm room to dry off and get warm. As usual breakfast was great, I tried the smoked salmon this time. Will defiantly be back in the spring. Thanks Paul and Barbara

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank klett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Love the Lakes so we try to fit in as many trips each year as we can! Found this fantastic bed & Breakfast (Allerdale House) located on Eskin Street, just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre and Derwentwater. The owners were lovely, serving an amazing breakfast each morning. Our bedroom was spacious, well maintained and very clean. What more can you ask for!

Was delighted to see snow on the mountain tops and thoroughly enjoyed climbing those fells once again! Keswick is a delightful little town and Allerdale House is just as delightful. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveT162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We returned to Allerdale House with high hopes of a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we were certainly not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from Paul and Barbara and a nice hot pot of tea with biscuits-just what we needed at the end of our journey. Our room was very clean, warm and extremely comfortable. Each day we enjoyed fresh fruit and a fabulous cooked breakfast-courtesy of Barbara's cooking- which set us up nicely for the rest of the day. The weather was against us during our stay but Paul was always on hand with suggestions of what else we could do. We will definitely be returning to Allerdale House again this year. Thanks again, Paul and Barbara, for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic but if you want a larger room choose room 1 or room 6.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollysheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Like lots of people we have stayed in many places over the years however it is no exaggeration to say that this is one of the best guest experiences we have ever had.

Barbara and Paul are welcoming, polite and helpful without being overpowering. Their guest house is warm, clean and quiet and the breakfasts were excellent.

We stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Year and enjoyed every moment of our time there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilWalters1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#54 of 189 in Keswick
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#44 of 189 in Keswick
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#17 of 189 in Keswick
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £39 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allerdale House Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing